E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Anyone else having problems with Whatsapp?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-27-2016, 09:58 AM   #1
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Anyone else having problems with Whatsapp?

Wifey and I haven't been able to get Whatsapp desktop working for a couple of days now. Phone-to-phone works fine, but the desktop app in Mac or Windows won't open. Just the spinning circle. We've tried deleting and reinstalling and rescanning and all that. Still no luck. Was working fine before yesterday, but not since. Same issue at the office PCs and at home, so it's not a firewall thing.

Anyone else noticing this?
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 03:10 PM   #2
Dang3r
Schmollbraten
Dang3r's Avatar
Germany
118
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: M435i
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: EDDM

iTrader: (0)

Never owned this overrated program, so: No probs
__________________
M435i - ZX12R LE - GPZ750 Turbo

Don't like my ///M? Call 0-8-0-0-E-A-T-S-H-*-T
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 03:17 PM   #3
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
It's free, so "own" is a relative term. We use it because it's cross platform and allows Wifey to send messages from her Windows box to my iPhone.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 2
      07-27-2016, 03:37 PM   #4
shoei
Lieutenant Colonel
shoei's Avatar
1638
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: MW Vespa w/pink racing stripes
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Peeing in your garden

iTrader: (2)

Use it every day... Haven't got a chance to use the computer app, but the phone app has crashed out on me twice today... I don't think that's ever happened before...
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 03:39 PM   #5
duck fat
No Chill
duck fat's Avatar
626
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I used to be a heavy WhatsApp user. Then switched to Line and never looked back.

Line is also cross platform and mobile. Plus you get to use awesome stickers.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axius View Post
The only thing he caught last week was the clap.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lups View Post
Yeah, I get that a lot. Women always ask me how I manage to hide my penis so well.
Appreciate 1
      07-27-2016, 03:42 PM   #6
jtodd_fl
2nd Asst to Dept Undersecretary
jtodd_fl's Avatar
5186
Rep
1,083
Posts

Drives: People crazy
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 F82 M4  [4.50]
2016 F87 M2  [0.00]
2011 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by duck fat View Post
I used to be a heavy WhatsApp user. Then switched to Line and never looked back.

Line is also cross platform and mobile. Plus you get to use awesome stickers.
For some reason, I get the feeling he and his wife will LOVE the stickers...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.SugarSkulls
Let me marry your sister. Or fuck it- your brother too. I'll gay for pay if it means I'm part of that Indian oil money.
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 04:43 PM   #7
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtodd_fl View Post
For some reason, I get the feeling he and his wife will LOVE the stickers...
Nope. Don't use stickers or emojis or any of that crap. Just want something that works with any device I happen to be using. I'll check out Line.

(Which is not the same as the checkout line.)
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 1
      07-27-2016, 04:48 PM   #8
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Oddly enough as I was about to download Line, Whatsapp started working again. Weird.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 05:25 PM   #9
Aatish
Lofty
Aatish's Avatar
United_States
1857
Rep
550
Posts

Drives: MG/DB 14' 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chicago IL/Brooklyn NY

iTrader: (0)

WhatsApp has a desktop client?
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 07:34 PM   #10
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aatish View Post
WhatsApp has a desktop client?
Yes. Much easier typing on a normal keyboard.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 1
Aatish1857

      Yesterday, 10:28 AM   #11
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Down again.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:19 AM   #12
shoei
Lieutenant Colonel
shoei's Avatar
1638
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: MW Vespa w/pink racing stripes
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Peeing in your garden

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six
Down again.
Used it last night - worked plenty fine... I'm sure you've already tried deleting / reinstalling?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:42 AM   #13
tdott
Captain
74
Rep
845
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: T.Dot

iTrader: (1)

I use the web version everyday at work.
https://web.whatsapp.com

As long as your phone is still on the same wifi network as your computer it works great.

WhatsApp is a must for me for keeping in touch with family outside the US. Not everyone has international texting. Also when I travel to Europe and don't have a dataplan, I can send WhatsApp messages when I connect to Wifi. Roaming SMS usually adds up quickly when traveling aboard.

Now that I switched to T-Mobile, they much better roaming options, so it's less of an issue now. But I still prefer the web app over picking up my phone at work to check messages.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:49 AM   #14
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoei View Post
Used it last night - worked plenty fine... I'm sure you've already tried deleting / reinstalling?
Was working for me last night, too. Just not today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
I use the web version everyday at work.
https://web.whatsapp.com

As long as your phone is still on the same wifi network as your computer it works great.

WhatsApp is a must for me for keeping in touch with family outside the US. Not everyone has international texting. Also when I travel to Europe and don't have a dataplan, I can send WhatsApp messages when I connect to Wifi. Roaming SMS usually adds up quickly when traveling aboard.

Now that I switched to T-Mobile, they much better roaming options, so it's less of an issue now. But I still prefer the web app over picking up my phone at work to check messages.
No luck with the Whatsapp web interface either . Code scans fine, but then I just get the spinning thing. Whatsapp on the phone says it's logged in to the web app, but the web app never shows anything. Same when I use the desktop app.

I'll try a complete uninstall/re-install again.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:51 AM   #15
shoei
Lieutenant Colonel
shoei's Avatar
1638
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: MW Vespa w/pink racing stripes
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Peeing in your garden

iTrader: (2)

I'm going to go to my computer just for you... Please stand by...
Appreciate 1
      Yesterday, 11:58 AM   #16
1MOREMOD
2016 Track Days - 3| Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:33:30
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
2918
Rep
16,611
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

Only reason I ever use is when on foreign soil to avoid charges
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 12:16 PM   #17
shoei
Lieutenant Colonel
shoei's Avatar
1638
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: MW Vespa w/pink racing stripes
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Peeing in your garden

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Was working for me last night, too. Just not today.


No luck with the Whatsapp web interface either . Code scans fine, but then I just get the spinning thing. Whatsapp on the phone says it's logged in to the web app, but the web app never shows anything. Same when I use the desktop app.

I'll try a complete uninstall/re-install again.
Web App works just fine... For me at least... Sorry man... VPN maybe at the office?
Appreciate 1
      Yesterday, 01:29 PM   #18
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
920
Rep
5,839
Posts

Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoei View Post
Web App works just fine... For me at least... Sorry man... VPN maybe at the office?
No, it doesn't work at home either. Nor at my wife's office. We have a mix of Macs and Windows boxes, too. Different anti-virus apps, so it's not that either. Just weird. The only thing we have in common is both our phones are on the same Verizon plan, but I can't believe Verizon just decided to start blocking it. Plus at the office and at home we use wifi.

It did come back and work for a while yesterday and last night.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:31 PM   #19
shoei
Lieutenant Colonel
shoei's Avatar
1638
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: MW Vespa w/pink racing stripes
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Peeing in your garden

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoei View Post
Web App works just fine... For me at least... Sorry man... VPN maybe at the office?
No, it doesn't work at home either. Nor at my wife's office. We have a mix of Macs and Windows boxes, too. Different anti-virus apps, so it's not that either. Just weird. The only thing we have in common is both our phones are on the same Verizon plan, but I can't believe Verizon just decided to start blocking it. Plus at the office and at home we use wifi.

It did come back and work for a while yesterday and last night.
I'm also on the verizon network...

It's starting to sound like user error !!!
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:36 PM   #20
jtodd_fl
2nd Asst to Dept Undersecretary
jtodd_fl's Avatar
5186
Rep
1,083
Posts

Drives: People crazy
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 F82 M4  [4.50]
2016 F87 M2  [0.00]
2011 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoei View Post
I'm also on the verizon network...

It's starting to sound like user error !!!
Or someone hacked the accounts and is sexting with your wife posing as you
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.SugarSkulls
Let me marry your sister. Or fuck it- your brother too. I'll gay for pay if it means I'm part of that Indian oil money.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:42 PM   #21
Axius
🐙 NAMASTE 🐙
Axius's Avatar
Seychelles
2998
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 612 Scaglietti
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: 69ing Your Mum & Sister

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoei View Post
I'm also on the verizon network...

It's starting to sound like user error !!!
Here let me send a nude holding a pack of bacon to make sure it's still operating correctly.
__________________
1MOREMOD & AXIUS FO PREZ

MKSIXER CHIEF OF STUFF
BELIEVERS OF BACON, BEER, GUNZ, ASS, N' TITTIES
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:44 PM   #22
shoei
Lieutenant Colonel
shoei's Avatar
1638
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: MW Vespa w/pink racing stripes
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Peeing in your garden

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtodd_fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoei View Post
I'm also on the verizon network...

It's starting to sound like user error !!!
Or someone hacked the accounts and is sexting with your wife posing as you
He was having a normal day... No negative thoughts, no worries or concerns...

Until now...
Appreciate 1
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST