E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > OBD Port Relocation



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-06-2012, 08:45 AM   #1
sn:afu
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0

 
Drives: 335i M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North West


Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

OBD Port Relocation

With the current spate of thefts ongoing at the moment, figured I would try and relocate my OBD port to somewhere else (I'd leave it in my house if I could!)

Has anyone done this and has anyone had any issues with code readings due to the cable being extended as I'm not sure if it would be affected by resistance?

Thanks very much
__________________
335i M Sport Coupe - coming soon

JDM ネツアイ
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 09:16 AM   #2
doughboy
Major General
United Kingdom
82

 
doughboy's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK


Posts: 6,375
iTrader: (2)

No it'll be fine, CAN bus works with extensions up to 45 metres.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 09:21 AM   #3
sn:afu
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0

 
Drives: 335i M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North West


Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

Maybe I can leave it in my house then
__________________
335i M Sport Coupe - coming soon

JDM ネツアイ
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
doughboy
Major General
United Kingdom
82

 
doughboy's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK


Posts: 6,375
iTrader: (2)

As long as you don't drive too far
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 12:31 PM   #5
macck
Second Lieutenant
2

 
macck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 msport
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: n.ireland


Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Mine is in the house lol. What i done was got a six pin male and female connecter cut the loom and reterminate. So if car needs any coding done just plug the obd port back in . Job done they will just have to get my keys.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 12:45 PM   #6
Tipper
Private First Class
3

 
Tipper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK


Posts: 122
iTrader: (0)

What thefts?

Are they using the OBD port somehow?
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 12:54 PM   #7
macck
Second Lieutenant
2

 
macck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 msport
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: n.ireland


Posts: 274
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tipper View Post
What thefts?

Are they using the OBD port somehow?
Yeah plug in a code reader into obd port programme new key and drive your car away.There was a video posted a few weeks back showing a 1M going in three minutes.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 05:56 PM   #8
Sensible_
Lieutenant
11

 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London


Posts: 521
iTrader: (1)

It would be best to remove the odb head, then replace it with a unique middle adapter piece which only your head would fit. (I've probably explained that poorly but hopefully you get it)

Or BMW could release frequent CAS software updates which patch the security holes.

I'm sorry but vehicle computers are so advanced now the software should be more readily available to update, albeit secure.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2012, 03:15 AM   #9
doughboy
Major General
United Kingdom
82

 
doughboy's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK


Posts: 6,375
iTrader: (2)

I suggested rewiring your OBD socket, then make an extension which reverses your changes if you get my drift.

So you have to have YOUR extension to make it work.

BUT I can't figure out how to get the pins out of the factory OBD socket, you need some kind of removal tool I think.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2012, 03:39 AM   #10
magic77
Colonel
United Kingdom
37

 
magic77's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey


Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (0)

something I've done is go and buy a new oBD plug and install that when you remvoe the live one. Get a exntenion cable of ebay 3m 5m etc and plug together and hide deep in the dash. Then run the other end somehwere where you know it is and it can be locked or tucked away.

Then it still looks like its there when they have a feel for it but things want work. Hopefully leave the car alone at that point.

I've had my ECU read now few times and use obd dongle for telematics never had a problem with extentions. IF you want some hints where to move it to send me pm
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2012, 06:24 AM   #11
wheelie good
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK


Posts: 274
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sn:afu View Post
Maybe I can leave it in my house then
Better still do what I did.

Used the 45m extension cable on my 335i and ran it down to a M3 thats four houses down from mine

All fair in luv and war
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST