E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > All-Wheel-Drive (Xi / xDrive) Talk > Transfer case fluid change



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-15-2012, 10:36 AM   #1
ozzy1
Private First Class
 
ozzy1's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 - 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MI

Posts: 108
iTrader: (1)

Transfer case fluid change

Can someone please confirm that you do not need to reset electronics if the transfer case fluid is changed?

So many different answers are out there, none confirmed (that I can find).

Thanks!

-----
07 328xi 10/06
ozzy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2012, 03:51 PM   #2
ritjeff
Private
 
ritjeff's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 LCI 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

I have been chasing that answer all week. One dealer said no, but they wouldn't even recommend changing the fluid. Another dealer said yes, that it was just a matter of resetting the fault (I wasn't talking about a fault). An indy shop had never heard of it. Then they came back and said they checked into it and it was actually necessary. A bunch of people here say not to bother with it, but others say to do it. This is very frustrating. I have a 2009 LCI 335xi, in case anyone on here can help.
ritjeff is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2012, 07:08 PM   #3
bula
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

You do not need to reset anything. Just did it (see my post) and no problems at all however if you have a convinience package I will lock car and wait to go to sleep prior to do any work on it - just as a precation.
bula is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2012, 09:57 AM   #4
kavadarci
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: canada

Posts: 564
iTrader: (0)

i did mine and no reset was required. question can not be answer properly even at the dealership.
kavadarci is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2012, 10:03 AM   #5
tomtom11
Captain
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Earth

Posts: 601
iTrader: (1)

you dont need to reset it but you can.
tomtom11 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-27-2012, 08:16 AM   #6
bula
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kavadarci View Post
i did mine and no reset was required. question can not be answer properly even at the dealership.
Maybe TC was emptied out when car was live. (?)
I always lock it and wait 10 min prior to performing any work on it.
bula is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 11:35 AM   #7
nomile
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi; 318ti
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lyons, CO

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

Reset question

I have done this on two cars, one required a reset (transfer case went into limp-mode / opened up the clutch after 2 miles of driving) and the other one did not (only 10 miles since change).
nomile is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 11:40 AM   #8
ritjeff
Private
 
ritjeff's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 LCI 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomile
I have done this on two cars, one required a reset (transfer case went into limp-mode / opened up the clutch after 2 miles of driving) and the other one did not (only 10 miles since change).
I have driven about 45 mi since changing without reset. So far, so good...
ritjeff is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 07:16 AM   #9
ozzy1
Private First Class
 
ozzy1's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 - 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MI

Posts: 108
iTrader: (1)

Thats exactly my point, I dont want to save a few bucks, do it home then have to limp to the dealer. Heard something about pre and post 09/07 builds. Pre didnt throw any errors while post did. Mine is pre so thats good but need more input.

By the way, is that 'car going to sleep and doing work after that' a myth or reality. Never really paid attention to it before.
ozzy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 07:33 AM   #10
nomile
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi; 318ti
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lyons, CO

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

The pre/post 09/07 is pure speculation at this point (I posted that) since the two cars I did happened to fall in that category.
If anyone with a post 09/07 car did this and did not have to reset, that pattern is not worth noting.
nomile is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 09:16 AM   #11
ozzy1
Private First Class
 
ozzy1's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 - 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MI

Posts: 108
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomile
The pre/post 09/07 is pure speculation at this point (I posted that) since the two cars I did happened to fall in that category.
If anyone with a post 09/07 car did this and did not have to reset, that pattern is not worth noting.
Fair enough...
ozzy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 10:19 AM   #12
ccraig13
Second Lieutenant
 
ccraig13's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E92 328xi 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ

Posts: 211
iTrader: (0)

Mine's an '07 and had the transfer case and both diffs changed last thursday, by an indy. Been driving it ever since with no issues.
__________________
2007 328xi E92 6MT Jet Black/Coral Red | NJ BMW CCA | Tracks: NJMP
ccraig13 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 10:35 AM   #13
ozzy1
Private First Class
 
ozzy1's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 - 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MI

Posts: 108
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccraig13
Mine's an '07 and had the transfer case and both diffs changed last thursday, by an indy. Been driving it ever since with no issues.
Mileage?
ozzy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 10:32 AM   #14
ozzy1
Private First Class
 
ozzy1's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 - 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MI

Posts: 108
iTrader: (1)

Ok gathering more info on this, if you did reset it what value did you reset?

Question is with the BT tool, would anyone please chime in on which parameter needs to be reset/deleted? Transfer case options in the BT tool include:

- Delete HO integrators
- Reset resistor class of gearbox
- Delete calibration

Thanks.

Last edited by ozzy1; 09-07-2012 at 10:45 AM.
ozzy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 12:30 PM   #15
AWD Addict
Chief Executive
 
AWD Addict's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi 6spd Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston

Posts: 2,473
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Mine was replaced at 50k, and needed the reset.
AWD Addict is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 09:01 PM   #16
nomile
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi; 318ti
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lyons, CO

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy1 View Post
Ok gathering more info on this, if you did reset it what value did you reset?

Question is with the BT tool, would anyone please chime in on which parameter needs to be reset/deleted? Transfer case options in the BT tool include:

- Delete HO integrators
- Reset resistor class of gearbox
- Delete calibration

Thanks.
I approached with "reset things until it works" attitude, and started with "HO integrators". Worked after that. HO sounded to me like a "base" i.e. my assumption was that the ph of the fluid is changing, and since I put new fluid in, it freaked out and would want to be reset. Don't know if that is the real reasoning behind it, but no problems since I reset it...
nomile is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2012, 12:11 PM   #17
BoostaVita
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: autobahn

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone done this on a post 10/07 build 335xi? Does it need reset?
BoostaVita is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #18
ritjeff
Private
 
ritjeff's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 LCI 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossimo
Has anyone done this on a post 10/07 build 335xi? Does it need reset?
Mine is an 09...see comments above
ritjeff is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2012, 03:15 PM   #19
BoostaVita
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: autobahn

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

Good to know. Gonna go do it soon. Thanks
BoostaVita is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 10:19 PM   #20
BoostaVita
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: autobahn

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

Didn't have to reset. Waited 15min for ECU to sleep before starting.
BoostaVita is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 08:30 PM   #21
ozzy1
Private First Class
 
ozzy1's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 - 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MI

Posts: 108
iTrader: (1)

Finally got around to do mine today. Fairly simple job (turned sort of sour for me).

Hammered out the bit from a 14 mm hex socket. Worked perfectly. Both bolts were on pretty tight. Took some effort. Old fluid was nice and dark. As we tend to say here, lifetime my arse. I have 110k on the car.

During refilling tipped the bottle spilled 300 ml or so but had enough to complete the job.

Without taking chances reset HO integrators via bt tool. Car seems smoother but it may be my imagination. Mostly the same, that's probably a good thing.
ozzy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 05:01 PM   #22
madbill683
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xit
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SE Virginia

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

ozzy1,

This is good news. I started with the project to change all fluids, have only completed the rear diff. I was worried about the TC throwing a code after I changed the fluid, since our '07 328xi wagon is the wife's DD. I called another local dealer, and they don't recommend changing fluids, and of course the SA does not know if anything has to be reset after the TC fluid is changed. The nearest dealer wants $505 labor to change the trans fluid alone, and the dealer I called today recommends not changing it, and they "suck" out the old fluid. I have all the parts, I'm dropping the pan and replacing the filter.

I plan to follow the advice of Bossimo and let the car go to sleep before I do the TC.

Bill
madbill683 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST