E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Guys ~ what is the problem?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-14-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Renus
Lieutenant
Renus's Avatar
5
Rep
526
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (1)

Guys ~ what is the problem?

airflow sensor failure? throttle dirty? air leaking? No code showed on dashboard but will send to check tomorrow afternoon




Last edited by Renus; 09-15-2012 at 01:19 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 06:02 PM   #2
Doctor///M
Colonel
Doctor///M's Avatar
295
Rep
2,928
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2015 M3  [4.94]
2010 MINI Cooper S  [0.00]
so.... you're throttling and nothing happens is what you're saying? The more information you can provide, the better. Your radio doesn't help either to isolate the engine noise, if any.
__________________
2015 BMW M3 /l\ Austin Yellow /i\ 6MT /l\ Exec Pkg /i\ HK Audio /l\ 437M
My Ultimate ED + PCD Experience
CCA Member

Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 06:55 PM   #3
flexinator
Lieutenant
flexinator's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
505
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi coupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Is this guy serious?
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 06:58 PM   #4
Joe-
Lieutenant
8
Rep
520
Posts

Drives: 07 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Greenwich CT

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by S3RI35 View Post
so.... you're throttling and nothing happens is what you're saying? The more information you can provide, the better. Your radio doesn't help either to isolate the engine noise, if any.

My Guess is the car is idle and it's jumping RPM's probably dirty air flow.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 08:47 PM   #5
n54door
Captain
n54door's Avatar
30
Rep
806
Posts

Drives: 09' 135i 6AT FBO - MHD Tuned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DFW

iTrader: (5)

Its the music. The music is the problem.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 08:49 PM   #6
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
379
Rep
20,886
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (33)

Hmm how about a little more information.

Is the car stock?
Is there a tune?
Did you remove the tune if so?
What was recently done to the car?
Can you reset adaptations?
Can you check codes?
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 08:51 PM   #7
ritjeff
Private
ritjeff's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD

iTrader: (0)

Yep. It's an audio issue
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 08:55 PM   #8
Rotorocious
Major
Rotorocious's Avatar
38
Rep
1,460
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida

iTrader: (3)

dat mah jam dawg!!!
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 09:33 PM   #9
E90Company
Major General
E90Company's Avatar
No_Country
75
Rep
6,136
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by flexinator View Post
Is this guy serious?
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 04:16 AM   #10
Renus
Lieutenant
Renus's Avatar
5
Rep
526
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@topgearsolutions View Post
Hmm how about a little more information.

Is the car stock? No, with downpipe and V5
Is there a tune? V5 but running in valet mode
Did you remove the tune if so? No
What was recently done to the car? Water tank , HFPF, plugs and coils, all new
Can you reset adaptations? Do u mean reinstall firmware and map for V5?
Can you check codes?
no code and engine light
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 09:02 AM   #11
Gugs
Banned
United_States
16
Rep
459
Posts

Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

iTrader: (1)

Your music selection is terrible for 1.

2. Looks like you just need to reset adaptations and you'll be fine.
Use a bav tool or piggyback
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 11:17 AM   #12
335ksig
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 335
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

+1 music
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 12:06 PM   #13
Renus
Lieutenant
Renus's Avatar
5
Rep
526
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (1)

Went to garage today, checked and cleaned the throttle, sensor, airflow meter, all related pipes (no leaking), they come into two conclusions : -

1. checking through machine and found that the voltage will drop from 13.x to 12.x if air-con + headlight is on, is that normal?

2. maybe the injector problem since no enough time to check, but garage has given a fluid and asking me to add it on when filling fuel tonight, to see whether this problem could be solved without really need to move out those 6 injectors for cleaing

3. any other reason like airflow sensor dead? camshaft and cam sensors dead? since garage couldn't found any error code through machine, they can only check it from this part to other part without any clue.

Need your comment ^^~
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Renus; 09-15-2012 at 01:25 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 12:32 PM   #14
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
379
Rep
20,886
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (33)

What device specifically is the shop using to check codes with? Not all shops have the necessary hardware to check for codes on this vehicle.

If your car is having problems with driving and throttle it should be throwing atleast 1 code.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 01:13 PM   #15
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,297
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
INPA is your friend. Get that shit working As its a very useful tool. CAn diagnose almost everything
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      09-20-2012, 04:56 PM   #16
Renus
Lieutenant
Renus's Avatar
5
Rep
526
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@topgearsolutions View Post
What device specifically is the shop using to check codes with? Not all shops have the necessary hardware to check for codes on this vehicle.

If your car is having problems with driving and throttle it should be throwing atleast 1 code.


Checked with 2 different brands of tool, but no code triggered, it is a mist! We just can guess either dynamo (new battery has changed), airflow sensor or water in fuel tank, still can't figure out what is the problem here.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST