E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Found a cheap cable



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-30-2012, 07:51 PM   #1
AndyR83
Major
AndyR83's Avatar
14
Rep
1,025
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

iTrader: (5)

Found a cheap cable

In case anybody is looking to buy a cable for coding, I just got this one on Newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA0XA0BF2408

It's about half the cost I've seen them listed for on other sites. Just thought I'd share, since lots of people probably come here for info on getting started (like me.)

I just bought a laptop, hoping they get here soon so I can start learning to code my car
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2012, 11:43 AM   #2
icucCoding
Banned
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: X5, ALL4S
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (3)

Good luck with your cable and everyone would be happy for you if it works.

Most of us were using the recommended cable due to reliability.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
ahmk
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: e90-2011
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o00_s00_i00

i think its the same, it works fine, incase anyone is wondering
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2012, 02:48 PM   #4
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Good luck if you're using anything without an FTDI chip.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
Yngvejos
Enlisted Member
Yngvejos's Avatar
3
Rep
34
Posts

 
Drives: E91 325i, E30 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Looks like the same cable as I have. I bought it from this seller.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-INPA-Edi...#ht_1930wt_952

I have done a lot for coding and programming with this cable. Works like a charm.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2012, 10:23 AM   #6
Wrecker335d
Wondering what to do..
Wrecker335d's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
590
Posts

 
Drives: like a cock
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quantico or Long Island

iTrader: (3)

Great find. Newegg is a very reputable website. I use them all the time for computer parts and never had a problem. Shipping is usually pretty quick as well.

Only downside about this site is they rotate the stock so you might not all ways find the same product available later on.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2012, 10:36 AM   #7
smooth1
Banned
1
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Most of these cables are copies of each other, so they should all be using the FTDI chipset. Good price, you'll have to let everyone know if it's reliable.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2012, 04:59 PM   #8
AndyR83
Major
AndyR83's Avatar
14
Rep
1,025
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

iTrader: (5)

I have the cable, but the laptop I got from Newegg at the same time was dead on arrival. Have to go through the whole RMA process and send it back for a replacement, so I'll be a bit delayed in reporting the results. I guess I can use this time to learn how to code the car in the first place, lol. Doesn't look all that difficult.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2012, 10:24 AM   #9
smooth1
Banned
1
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Definitely not that difficult. Let us know how the cable works out!
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2012, 02:31 PM   #10
nias9527
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i coupe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cerritos

iTrader: (0)

Hi I am new BMW owner here and going to order this cable
Do you guys think it will work on a 64bits Macbook air?
if not, does installing Window on my mac will work too?

thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 01:42 PM   #11
smooth1
Banned
1
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nias9527 View Post
Hi I am new BMW owner here and going to order this cable
Do you guys think it will work on a 64bits Macbook air?
if not, does installing Window on my mac will work too?

thanks
The cable will work just fine on a Mac, but INPA/EDIABAS/DIS/NCSEXPERT are for Windows only. You can setup Windows on your Mac in dual boot mode. If you're just trying to check/clear codes etc you can use BMWLogger for Mac.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 05:14 PM   #12
nias9527
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i coupe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cerritos

iTrader: (0)

Alright I will try and post the results...
thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2012, 03:16 AM   #13
Edmond357
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 330i E90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

i also purchased exactly this cable , but in germany

i bid it for 22 Euros
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2012, 04:34 AM   #14
nias9527
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i coupe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cerritos

iTrader: (0)

it work flawlessly
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST