E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > I'm a little confused/concerned with what I just found.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-01-2015, 04:53 PM   #1
N54Fiend
Professional idiot
2
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (1)

I'm a little confused/concerned with what I just found.

So I just returned from a shop in Central Florida not going to mention which one at the moment... And I plugged my computer into the USB to check out the software. I hit read codes and got a ton of codes. Nothing has shown up on the dash that led me to believe there were any issues.

The only thing I can think of is that when they were installing it, they had done something wrong and the car wouldn't turn over after the install. They opened everything up again, and the second time around it started right up.

Could these codes have been thrown the first time they tried? Should I just clear them and see which ones come back? Any insight would be appreciated.

EDIT: Also, can someone who has the OSX app give me a hand understanding what Burger told me? I was told for my car to set "All AFR and Duty Bias to Zero." Which settings are these within the app?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by N54Fiend; 05-01-2015 at 05:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 05:28 PM   #2
335NJ
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
93
Rep
1,733
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT E90
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NJ/Philadelphia Suburbs

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N54Fiend View Post
So I just returned from a shop in Central Florida not going to mention which one at the moment... And I plugged my computer into the USB to check out the software. I hit read codes and got a ton of codes. Nothing has shown up on the dash that led me to believe there were any issues.

The only thing I can think of is that when they were installing it, they had done something wrong and the car wouldn't turn over after the install. They opened everything up again, and the second time around it started right up.

Could these codes have been thrown the first time they tried? Should I just clear them and see which ones come back? Any insight would be appreciated.

EDIT: Also, can someone who has the OSX app give me a hand understanding what Burger told me? I was told for my car to set "All AFR and Duty Bias to Zero." Which settings are these within the app?
Check your post over on N54Tech, I've answered it there.

Are those codes still present? They're likely due to the incorrect JB4 install.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 05:30 PM   #3
N54Fiend
Professional idiot
2
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335NJ View Post
Check your post over on N54Tech, I've answered it there.

Are those codes still present? They're likely due to the incorrect JB4 install.
I havent cleared them yet because I'm waiting to hear about the DUTY BIAS. Is that the same as CPS?
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 05:43 PM   #4
335NJ
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
93
Rep
1,733
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT E90
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NJ/Philadelphia Suburbs

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N54Fiend View Post
I havent cleared them yet because I'm waiting to hear about the DUTY BIAS. Is that the same as CPS?
In the new interface it's listed as duty bias, set all of those values to 0 and click save. See the interface listed here (at the bottom) for the default settings.

http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17441
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 06:25 PM   #5
stimpy
Colonel
47
Rep
2,190
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix AZ

iTrader: (7)

How are you reading the codes? With the JB4 enabled and not using the JB4 to read codes, you're going to see a bunch of crap in there that isn't true.

If my JB4 is installed and enabled and I pull up codes with my Bavtech - there's dozens of false alarms in there. Normal per Terry...
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 06:40 PM   #6
N54Fiend
Professional idiot
2
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335NJ View Post
In the new interface it's listed as duty bias, set all of those values to 0 and click save. See the interface listed here (at the bottom) for the default settings.

http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17441
Im using the OSX software on my computer. It doesnt have DUTY BIAS. Where that normally is, it reads CPS and has values the same way as the AFR next to it does.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
How are you reading the codes? With the JB4 enabled and not using the JB4 to read codes, you're going to see a bunch of crap in there that isn't true.

If my JB4 is installed and enabled and I pull up codes with my Bavtech - there's dozens of false alarms in there. Normal per Terry...
Im using my computer with the OSX software. So far its only pulled up the same stuff the JB4 pulls up. No false alarms.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 07:05 PM   #7
ferocity02
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
678
Posts

Drives: 2007 E90 335i Pre-LCI
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (6)

They probably turned on the ignition or tried to start it while something or many things were unplugged. Just clear them, if they come back then start investigating.

Why was it in the shop?
__________________
2007 E90 335i Pre-LCI
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 07:26 PM   #8
N54Fiend
Professional idiot
2
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferocity02 View Post
They probably turned on the ignition or tried to start it while something or many things were unplugged. Just clear them, if they come back then start investigating.

Why was it in the shop?
To have the JB4 and DCI installed. I live in an apartment and have all my tools at my home in South FL. Not to mention there's no shade in apartment complex parking lot.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2015, 10:05 PM   #9
335NJ
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
93
Rep
1,733
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT E90
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NJ/Philadelphia Suburbs

iTrader: (1)

If you don't see DUTY BIAS, than you're not using the latest interface. Also, I see dmacpro saying to set the AFR to 0 as well, however I can't find anywhere that Terry recommends that?
__________________
Black Sapphire 6MT-JB4 G5 ISO-BMS DCI-Golf-Tee Mod-Hankook S1N2 Non-RFT-ER Chargepipe/TiAL BOV-E40 blend-VRSF V2's-M3 CDV

Last edited by 335NJ; 05-01-2015 at 10:13 PM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST