E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Flash 335IS DCT software onto 335I, questions.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-07-2017, 12:03 AM   #1
MJ80.
Captain
MJ80.'s Avatar
78
Rep
852
Posts

Drives: E92 335i DCT Individual
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.

iTrader: (0)

Flash 335IS DCT software onto 335I, questions.

Hi all.

Small backstory - I have a 2009 N54 powered 335I DCT. The launch control has never worked, not once regardless of how many times or different protocols i have followed to activate it. Had the car checked out by mechanic and no software issues that would prevent the LC from working that he can find. Since looking into this ive discovered a few others guys online who also have 2009 N54 powered 335s whos LC does not and has not ever worked. One of those guys has had success in flashing the 335is software to his DCT and he now has LC. So im looking to do the same, he reported better shifts too.

My question is how do i go about flashing the 335is DCT software onto my DCT ? and when i re flash my MHD will that interfere with the new TCU software at all ? Any other issues that this could present by flashing the IS software onto the I ?

Cheers.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 02:56 AM   #2
iCstyle
Private
14
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Search for WinKFP Alpina TCU flash, it's the same process. Use as ZB/ZUSB 8606074 in TCU GS40. Just take your time to read through everything and to set it up, it's not so easy. And no, it doesn't interfere with MHD as you're just flashing TCU, and MHD just flashes ECU.

EDIT: I'm referring to this thread: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=873746

Last edited by iCstyle; 02-07-2017 at 04:01 AM.
Appreciate 2
      02-07-2017, 04:19 AM   #3
Aus335iguy
Private First Class
12
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iCstyle View Post
Search for WinKFP Alpina TCU flash, it's the same process. Use as ZB/ZUSB 8606074 in TCU GS40. Just take your time to read through everything and to set it up, it's not so easy. And no, it doesn't interfere with MHD as you're just flashing TCU, and MHD just flashes ECU.

EDIT: I'm referring to this thread: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=873746
So the alpina flash works for DCT?.. I thought it was only for autos ? Or is this just same process different file ?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 04:30 AM   #4
iCstyle
Private
14
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Just same process, but different file. Process is actually always the same for flashing with WinKFP.
Appreciate 1
      02-07-2017, 06:09 AM   #5
fatjoez
student
fatjoez's Avatar
No_Country
96
Rep
887
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bermuda Triangle

iTrader: (0)

FYI there are a few flash numbers you can use.

7603537 = N54 / 6speed (Alpina B3) - 2009
7601494 = Z4 Sport
7615835 = N54 - 2010

Most people prefer the older 2009 flash (7603537)

Refer also to:
http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22180
and
http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=310
and
http://www.***********.com/showthrea...Y-using-WinKFP
Appreciate 1
      02-07-2017, 06:10 AM   #6
MJ80.
Captain
MJ80.'s Avatar
78
Rep
852
Posts

Drives: E92 335i DCT Individual
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iCstyle View Post
Search for WinKFP Alpina TCU flash, it's the same process. Use as ZB/ZUSB 8606074 in TCU GS40. Just take your time to read through everything and to set it up, it's not so easy. And no, it doesn't interfere with MHD as you're just flashing TCU, and MHD just flashes ECU.

EDIT: I'm referring to this thread: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=873746
I think thats beyond me hey. Can it be done with those ridic expensive autologic style diagnostics equipment that mechanics have ? Or laptop the only way ? I had my mechanic reflash the stock software again via that machine, im not sure if it has access to the 335IS files though, especially being in Australia.

Also thinking about flashing the 135 flash because the LC is lower at 3500rpm as opposed to 5000.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 06:25 AM   #7
fatjoez
student
fatjoez's Avatar
No_Country
96
Rep
887
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bermuda Triangle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ80. View Post
I think thats beyond me hey. Can it be done with those ridic expensive autologic style diagnostics equipment that mechanics have ? Or laptop the only way ? I had my mechanic reflash the stock software again via that machine, im not sure if it has access to the 335IS files though, especially being in Australia.

Also thinking about flashing the 135 flash because the LC is lower at 3500rpm as opposed to 5000.
laptop flash bro. Just read the DIY threads there are so many DIY's on this no point dragging this thread out too much.

It's pretty easy if you have the cable. If not then take the DIY to your mechanic or a bmw enthusiast and ask them to do it
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 06:41 AM   #8
Aus335iguy
Private First Class
12
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatjoez View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ80. View Post
I think thats beyond me hey. Can it be done with those ridic expensive autologic style diagnostics equipment that mechanics have ? Or laptop the only way ? I had my mechanic reflash the stock software again via that machine, im not sure if it has access to the 335IS files though, especially being in Australia.

Also thinking about flashing the 135 flash because the LC is lower at 3500rpm as opposed to 5000.
laptop flash bro. Just read the DIY threads there are so many DIY's on this no point dragging this thread out too much.

It's pretty easy if you have the cable. If not then take the DIY to your mechanic or a bmw enthusiast and ask them to do it
So we need the alpina flash and the 135 flash? There has to be an easy way...?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 07:14 AM   #9
MJ80.
Captain
MJ80.'s Avatar
78
Rep
852
Posts

Drives: E92 335i DCT Individual
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.

iTrader: (0)

Nah man they are saying the process is the same but just choose the 135is or 335is file.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 09:15 AM   #10
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
270
Rep
1,489
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aus335iguy View Post
So we need the alpina flash and the 135 flash? There has to be an easy way...?
Let me help you straighten this out. First, pay absolutely no attention to anything anyone says about the Alpina flashes. It's software for the Steptronic and doesn't apply to a DCT, never has, never will. The flash PROCESS is the same whether flashing the DCT or Steptronic, same steps, same process.

You can do this three ways, either set up BMW Standard Tools 2.12 on a laptop so you have WinKFP and source a DCAN cable and do it yourself or have it done remotely, like Joe@Topgearsolutions will do or find a guy local to you that has coding capability.

If you make it that far I'd try one of these two software versions, ZB#8606074, which is the latest version of the 335is DCT software or ZB#8606072, which is the 135is version that gives you the 3500 rpm launch point. I currently run this is my 335is and it works as advertised.

Here's a link of the actual flash process that I put up on a different forum. If it won't let me post it just PM and I'll get it to you that way. Hope this clears up a few things for you. http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showpo...9&postcount=25
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 2
      02-07-2017, 10:48 AM   #11
iCstyle
Private
14
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
If you make it that far I'd try one of these two software versions, ZB#8606074, which is the latest version of the 335is DCT software or ZB#8606072, which is the 135is version that gives you the 3500 rpm launch point. I currently run this is my 335is and it works as advertised.
Is the shifting between 8606074 and 8606072 exactly the same? Currently I'm using 8606074, but I also want 3500 rpm LC. I really don't want to give up the nice fast shifting with the punch in the back, so that's why I'm asking.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 01:34 PM   #12
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
270
Rep
1,489
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCstyle
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
If you make it that far I'd try one of these two software versions, ZB#8606074, which is the latest version of the 335is DCT software or ZB#8606072, which is the 135is version that gives you the 3500 rpm launch point. I currently run this is my 335is and it works as advertised.
Is the shifting between 8606074 and 8606072 exactly the same? Currently I'm using 8606074, but I also want 3500 rpm LC. I really don't want to give up the nice fast shifting with the punch in the back, so that's why I'm asking.
I see that you have a BQ tune as well. It will shift exactly the same as the 335is flash, at least mine does.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 1
      02-07-2017, 03:17 PM   #13
iCstyle
Private
14
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
I see that you have a BQ tune as well. It will shift exactly the same as the 335is flash, at least mine does.
Thanks! So I'll flash the *72 tomorrow and see if I feel a difference.

Exactly, just in the process of tuning my car by BQ. How many revisions did you need? I'm on the 3rd right now.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 03:56 PM   #14
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
270
Rep
1,489
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCstyle
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
I see that you have a BQ tune as well. It will shift exactly the same as the 335is flash, at least mine does.
Thanks! So I'll flash the *72 tomorrow and see if I feel a difference.

Exactly, just in the process of tuning my car by BQ. How many revisions did you need? I'm on the 3rd right now.
There's really no way to put a number on it for me. I've been using Dimitri since day one and I've done quite a bit of beta work for him. Anytime I've added something or he wants to try something a little different it results in a new map and subsequent testing and revisions. I have the luxury of being able to log 3rd-5th gear, use a Vbox, and record the DA so I get and can provide more feedback than most users. But I would guess that if your car is well sorted before tuning started that 5-10 revisions would have it perfectly dialed in.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 1
      02-07-2017, 05:02 PM   #15
V.I.335is
Enlisted Member
V.I.335is's Avatar
6
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iCstyle View Post
Exactly, just in the process of tuning my car by BQ. How many revisions did you need? I'm on the 3rd right now.

BQ tuning here also... On my 7th revision right now..
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 09:03 PM   #16
Aus335iguy
Private First Class
12
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by V.I.335is View Post
BQ tuning here also... On my 7th revision right now..
I take it that if you were to be able to have the car on a dyno it might be done in a day ???
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 09:22 PM   #17
V.I.335is
Enlisted Member
V.I.335is's Avatar
6
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2012 335is
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aus335iguy View Post
I take it that if you were to be able to have the car on a dyno it might be done in a day ???
its possible..
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2017, 05:51 PM   #18
fatjoez
student
fatjoez's Avatar
No_Country
96
Rep
887
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bermuda Triangle

iTrader: (0)

LMB335IS what is the latest / best flash you know of for the 335i (6 speed ZF steptronic transmission)?
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2017, 07:35 PM   #19
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
270
Rep
1,489
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatjoez
LMB335IS what is the latest / best flash you know of for the 335i (6 speed ZF steptronic transmission)?
Sorry man, I haven't paid any attention to the Alpina flash since I bought my 335is 4 years ago. I'd flash it for someone if they knew the ZB# they wanted but that's as far as I went. There's been some pretty good discussions online in various forums so if you search "best Alpina flash" you should get some pretty good info.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 1
      02-10-2017, 04:59 AM   #20
Aus335iguy
Private First Class
12
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

I thought I'd have a crack the flash is at 79%. I'll let you know how I get on...edit
Flash completed to 100% but It had errors and also have several codes now that I can't clear...
Says p not available or smg in the dash...
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2017, 05:57 AM   #21
Aus335iguy
Private First Class
12
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Well my cars bricked. Anyone know a Bm tech on the north side of SYDNEY?
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2017, 07:01 AM   #22
MJ80.
Captain
MJ80.'s Avatar
78
Rep
852
Posts

Drives: E92 335i DCT Individual
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.

iTrader: (0)

No good about the bricking...

Curious if anyone has any clues about if it would be possible to replicate the shift severity settings on the m3 in the 335s... same box after all? Surley its possible via mhd or somthing?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST