Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > tire pressure monitor



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-25-2005, 08:04 AM   #1
karl26
Private
3
Rep
57
Posts

 
Drives: 206
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london

iTrader: (0)

tire pressure monitor

Hi,

Do you know if it is possible to still have the pressure control (I am speaking about the system which control the pressure of the tyres) with non-bmw wheels ?

if yes , how ?


thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2005, 09:07 AM   #2
Jason
Administrator
Jason's Avatar
United_States
6712
Rep
16,676
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Karl, the tire pressure monitor system doesn't "control" the tire pressures (i.e. it can't inflate or deflate your tires for you). All it does is tell you when there's been a change in tire pressure so you'll know if you're losing air in your tire(s).

As far as using the tire pressure monitor system with non-OEM BMW wheels, it will work fine with aftermarket wheels/tires.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2005, 10:32 AM   #3
karl26
Private
3
Rep
57
Posts

 
Drives: 206
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london

iTrader: (0)

ok thanks jwocky,

But how the tire pressure monitor works ?? is it something that check the height of the car ? I thought the pressure monitor system was somewhere in the wheels ....


thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2005, 10:36 AM   #4
Jason
Administrator
Jason's Avatar
United_States
6712
Rep
16,676
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Nope, there's no physical pressure sensor in the wheels, the system on the E90 monitors tire pressure simply by monitoring if there are any differences in the the rolling diameter of the tires.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2005, 03:26 PM   #5
karl26
Private
3
Rep
57
Posts

 
Drives: 206
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london

iTrader: (0)

quote from Hartge web site " All HARTGE wheel sets can be equipped with Tyre Pressure Control (TPC) ". So according to what has been just said before Hartge said something which is true for any kind of wheels .........because the tyre pressure control is not in the wheel !
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2005, 12:14 AM   #6
bzzbenz
First Lieutenant
bzzbenz's Avatar
4
Rep
368
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bzzbenz
Just a side question.... Will anything happen if these sensors are not used with aftermarket wheels? Will a light come on, or text message with malfunction?
__________________
| 2006 325i | Jet Black | Black ette | 6spd manual| Nav | Xenon | Burl | Chrome Tips | 545 sport wheels | Blacklines|
|DOB 6/2/05|Delivered 7/14/05 |
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2005, 07:17 AM   #7
YYdoodle
Captain
44
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 fanatic
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bzzbenz
Just a side question.... Will anything happen if these sensors are not used with aftermarket wheels? Will a light come on, or text message with malfunction?
you don't have a choice to use the sensors or not with any wheels (OEM or aftermarket). As said above the sensors aren't actual physical monitors you put into each wheel, the car's DSC system monitors the rolling diameter of whatever wheels/tires you put on the car.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2006, 11:29 PM   #8
pokerface
Lieutenant Colonel
pokerface's Avatar
Canada
27
Rep
1,703
Posts

 
Drives: B8 A4 2.0T
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

interesting and pertinent info! thank you!
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2006, 07:21 AM   #9
bavarian19
General
bavarian19's Avatar
United_States
233
Rep
18,815
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

iTrader: (23)

As many have said, there are no monitors in the wheels themselves. You 'zero' the system when you initialize it, and any drastic pressure loss and it will let you know.

Unfortunately, it does not tell you what tire, so you might want to consider getting a tire pressure gauge and keep it in the car...
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2006, 08:17 AM   #10
KL2DC
Moderator
KL2DC's Avatar
United_States
196
Rep
17,753
Posts

 
Drives: E90 328i, E85 Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DC Metro

iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2011 E90 328i  [0.00]
2006 E85 Z4 3.0i  [0.00]
Send a message via MSN to KL2DC
To add and to reiterate, the flat tire monitor in our e90s senses flat tire/low or no air pressure through the differences in rotational speed/diameter at each end. This si facilitated through the DSC/DTC system. Recall, one of the ways DSC senses slip (and others) by constantly measuring the rotational speeds at each end. Its a simple, elegant and low tech way to address the issue of having a FTM for our RFT. Again, there is absolutely no hardware on the wheels/tires required...
__________________

Official DC Metro Registry - Current, New & Prospective Area Members Roll Call!
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 01:04 AM   #11
kingofthedemo
Major
kingofthedemo's Avatar
46
Rep
1,035
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Hey guys, I guess I will resurrect this old thread. my tire pressure sensor came on and I realized that I had a flat tire due to a cracked wheel. I replaced the tire and wheel and the sensor's indication light subsided. That was a few weeks ago, now the sensor is back on. I have checked all of the tires, and they have equal pressure, and don't seem to be leaking any ideas on what could be going on here?
__________________
MY PROGRESS LINK: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=766852


''Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know.''Ernest Hemingway
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 10:16 AM   #12
ny330xi
Private First Class
1
Rep
159
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330xi
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: upstate

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofthedemo View Post
Hey guys, I guess I will resurrect this old thread. my tire pressure sensor came on and I realized that I had a flat tire due to a cracked wheel. I replaced the tire and wheel and the sensor's indication light subsided. That was a few weeks ago, now the sensor is back on. I have checked all of the tires, and they have equal pressure, and don't seem to be leaking any ideas on what could be going on here?
I assume you reset the system...car on, in park?
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 02:31 PM   #13
kingofthedemo
Major
kingofthedemo's Avatar
46
Rep
1,035
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ny330xi View Post
I assume you reset the system...car on, in park?

No I didn't think that I needed to because, the light completely went off as soon as they replaced my wheel and tire, and didn't come back on until weeks later, so I at first was afraid I must have another cracked wheel, but so far the tires are holding pressure.
__________________
MY PROGRESS LINK: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=766852


''Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know.''Ernest Hemingway
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 11:05 AM   #14
Brian@bavarianx
Banned
United_States
77
Rep
2,268
Posts

 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brea, CA

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to Brian@bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofthedemo View Post
No I didn't think that I needed to because, the light completely went off as soon as they replaced my wheel and tire, and didn't come back on until weeks later, so I at first was afraid I must have another cracked wheel, but so far the tires are holding pressure.
First make sure that the pressure is set to the recommended on the cars placard. If that isn't it then the batteries may be going dead.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 12:16 PM   #15
white_light
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e92
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: new jersey

iTrader: (0)

tirerack has some TPMS
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2013, 09:45 AM   #16
Gary@TireRack
Moderator
Gary@TireRack's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,467
Posts

 
Drives: Formerly 1995 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Bend, IN, Tire Rack HQ

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by white_light View Post
tirerack has some TPMS
We do, thank you for mentioning this.

Check out the TPMS sticky for more info .

For future reference, it is preferable to start a new thread rather than bringing very old threads back from the dead.
__________________
Gary
Tire and Wheel Forum Moderator. Tire Rack Sales Rep
Gary@Tirerack.com
http://www.tirerack.com/a.jsp?a=AH8&url=index.jsp

Please refer to 'Gary' as your previous contact when you order online.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST