E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > How to test a K+DCAN cable?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-25-2015, 12:18 PM   #1
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

How to test a K+DCAN cable?

So I just got my cable and I want to make sure it's going to work for my Alpina flash and some coding.. How can I test it beforehand to make sure it's all setup right?? I installed everything I needed and I updated driver files for the cable.. Only thing I'm concerned with really is that it says it's on COM3 because COM1 is in use by something else.. I'm on a MacBook Retina with VMWARE Fusion 7 on Win7 32 bit.. Again, just want to make sure this is going to work and not mess anything up or give me any uncalled for errors..

Thanks!!
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 01:03 PM   #2
cryptomit
Lieutenant
15
Rep
589
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

COM port number can be set to 1-9, it doesn't matter as long as it is also changed in OBD.ini in C:\EDIABAS folder.

When you were installing Standard Tools 2.12 you had to select COM port, if you choose COM3 then in OBD.ini will be COM3 too, but if not, then you have to change it manually.

To test connection just turn on INPA and try to read codes or anything. Remember to set map 0 before proceed if you have JB4.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 06:57 PM   #3
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

just tried to connect it to my car but got this IGH-0009 error...?? I'm going to delete the virtual disk and try a Windows XP setup instead...
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 10:14 AM   #4
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

I've attached a screen shot...
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 01:35 PM   #5
cryptomit
Lieutenant
15
Rep
589
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

What is your car production date - month and year?

Or send me your VIN number.

There are few options why it doesnt work.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 04:42 PM   #6
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit View Post
What is your car production date - month and year?

Or send me your VIN number.

There are few options why it doesnt work.
My car is an Jan-08 production E92 335i.

Isn't that cable good for cars made until March 08??
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 04:44 PM   #7
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

This is the inside of my cable..

Thanks!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 04:49 PM   #8
cryptomit
Lieutenant
15
Rep
589
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

Cable looks fine. Drivers are installed? Do you see Serial Port in Device Manager?
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 05:21 PM   #9
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

PM'd
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 07:54 AM   #10
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

This is aggravating lol..! I feel like I have everything setup properly, and have installed BMW Standard Tools step by step, and double/triple checked everything, and still no luck... I keep getting that 0009 error when i try to access the airbag module.. Both dots are black, the LED on my cable is on, and everything seems to be configured correctly.. Guess I'll just try a different cable or something since I've tried 3 different versions of Windows and none of them worked so I imagine it's not Windows that's my issue...
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod

Last edited by BeastMode335i; 03-27-2015 at 07:59 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 09:52 AM   #11
cryptomit
Lieutenant
15
Rep
589
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

No it's not a Windows. I just received your PMs.
I would try with different cable, probably its the issue.
If you are interested I have a good quality k+dcan cable that works great with cars up to 2013, but maybe you have the option to borrow a cable from someone and check it.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2015, 06:42 PM   #12
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

Contacted seller, he said to send it back and he will send me a new one.. Thanks for your assistance..
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2015, 04:33 AM   #13
Peepyopi
Private
Peepyopi's Avatar
United Kingdom
5
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: '08 335Xi US Spec
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mildenhall

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastMode335i View Post
Contacted seller, he said to send it back and he will send me a new one.. Thanks for your assistance..
That cable needs to be put into DCAN mode. I have the same one. It's in the software bundle that was sent to you. It's initial setup is for k. If you still have the disk, it's under USB drivers and labels as D-CAN.exe
__________________
\\ MONACO BLUE E90 || ENKEI RAIJIN 18" || HANKOOK VENTUS V12 EVO2 || BMS DCI || VRSF CATLESS DP || JB4 || ER CP || TIAL BOV //
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2015, 02:38 PM   #14
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

I wonder if it could be because I'm using Windows on VMWARE that it's not working?
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2015, 04:50 PM   #15
datbimmer
Wastegate Rattle
49
Rep
767
Posts

Drives: 335i m6t nav sport
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

White PCB cable usualy doesn't work.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2015, 08:29 PM   #16
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

Yeah I keep seeing that, is it because my car is made after Jan 08 or is it because white PCB is crap..
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2015, 08:53 PM   #17
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
741
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St Pete FL

iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.30]
Cable is crap. The track record on all these bargain cables is just so spotty. One may work, the next one not. All I can say to you is I've had the one stop cable for years now, and the only time it's never worked is because of a software problem, not the cable itself. And that to me is worth the extra $50 all day long.
__________________
MHD/WedgePerformance/BQ Tuning 460whp/533wtq stock turbos, stock inlets, no meth
Appreciate 1
      05-05-2015, 04:25 AM   #18
wildcatcrazy
Captain
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
890
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Omaha, NE

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS
Cable is crap. The track record on all these bargain cables is just so spotty. One may work, the next one not. All I can say to you is I've had the one stop cable for years now, and the only time it's never worked is because of a software problem, not the cable itself. And that to me is worth the extra $50 all day long.
I have found a reputable US eBay seller, who stands behind his cables (free return of they don't work). Bought 3 so far (remote coding purposes) and no issues with any of them. Even on a 2009/2010 E90.
__________________
Joseph Jones (JJ)
'09 Alpine White 335i, M Sport
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2015, 08:14 AM   #19
BeastMode335i
Lieutenant Colonel
BeastMode335i's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 856->609->239

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
I have found a reputable US eBay seller, who stands behind his cables (free return of they don't work). Bought 3 so far (remote coding purposes) and no issues with any of them. Even on a 2009/2010 E90.
Would you mind sharing his info..?? The seller I bought from was "youlocal"
__________________
Jet Black E92 335i 6AT - BMS DCI - Kuda Mounted Galaxy Tab 4 - Shadowline Trim/Grills - Golf Tee Mod
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2015, 12:48 PM   #20
wildcatcrazy
Captain
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
890
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Omaha, NE

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
www-getwiredusa-com is the username.
__________________
Joseph Jones (JJ)
'09 Alpine White 335i, M Sport
Appreciate 1
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST