E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > good air...WOW!!!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-21-2007, 10:06 AM   #1
max boost
Lieutenant
 
max boost's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: east side

Posts: 408
iTrader: (1)

good air...WOW!!!

last night had some clean crisp air and man my shit loved it!
with my ....... http://www.beltronics.com/fx.html
the car trapped 111mph and that wasnt even trying....traction control on and no foot brake nothing...granny coulda done it!

i am telling u guys V2.0 clean air and DP these cars will trap 115!
max boost is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 10:18 AM   #2
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Anyone ever run the FX on the drag strip to assess its accuracy?
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 11:37 AM   #3
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
Anyone ever run the FX on the drag strip to assess its accuracy?
Yes, I took my Beltronics Vector FX1 to the drag strip when I ran 13.097 sec. @ 106.67mph. My Vector FX1 was actually fairly accurate...within 2/10ths of a sec. in the 1/4 mi. and it showed slower not faster time and trap speed.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...0&postcount=24
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 11:48 AM   #4
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sflgator View Post
Yes, I took my Beltronics Vector FX1 to the drag strip when I ran 13.097 sec. @ 106.67mph. My Vector FX1 was actually fairly accurate...within 2/10ths of a sec. in the 1/4 mi. and it showed slower not faster time and trap speed.
Beltronics claims .05 second accuracy. Can you adjust parameters to improve your accuracy? How precise is it?
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 12:33 PM   #5
max boost
Lieutenant
 
max boost's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: east side

Posts: 408
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
Anyone ever run the FX on the drag strip to assess its accuracy?
pretty dam accurate...run it MANY times @ track and its dam close...no BS
max boost is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 01:18 PM   #6
andrewflk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland

Posts: 122
iTrader: (3)

How do these (like Vector FX1) Compensate if you are not on level ground? Do you run both ways and average? I’ve heard even a couple degrees of incline/decline can make a big difference.
andrewflk is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 01:48 PM   #7
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

They don't compensate. You have to run both directions to know the times as accurate as possible, I guess.

I have the FX2 since a couple of days and I'm happy that it is that accurate, so I can verify whether my performance modifications are successful being within a close range compared to your results.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 01:55 PM   #8
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Using Google, I couldn't find a single review on either the FX or FX2. Anyone know of a review?

Last edited by zenmaster; 07-21-2007 at 01:56 PM. Reason: nm: I found some using "bel" instead of "beltronics"
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 02:08 PM   #9
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

I could not find reviews as well. I bought it based on the good feedback of serveral users on serveral forums. All say it's pretty accurate. With this thing your track can be everywhere . Ok, nearly . Paid US$ 70 for a new FX2 ( ebay ).
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 02:16 PM   #10
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

The G-Tech may be a more accurate device. However, it costs over twice as much. Car and driver article on the subject: Do Inexpensive Performance Meters Work?
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 02:25 PM   #11
M&M
Captain
 
M&M's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 Competition Pack
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Posts: 661
iTrader: (0)

Racelogic VBox is the only way to go.
M&M is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 02:29 PM   #12
hool97
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

I have the G-Tech and it works great. You have to run it at the track to really dial it in though. You have to see what pitch your car makes when starting off. You can set the incline and decline if the area is consistent in that regard. IE, down slope 5 deg. throughout the run area. You do this by running once and it will pick up the slope. This is because in reality the device would never know how you mounted it(angles) so it has to adjust on the first run.
__________________
Vette C5sc427a4 699rwhp at 11psi(Pending 15psi)
BMW 335I sedan
Mit Lancer
Lex RX300
hool97 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 02:34 PM   #13
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

I can't remember where I read it, the G-Tech and FX2 seem to be quite equal accurate. List Price of the FX2 is US$ 179.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 02:43 PM   #14
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e.n335 View Post
I can't remember where I read it, the G-Tech and FX2 seem to be quite equal accurate. List Price of the FX2 is US$ 179.
But G-Tech claims to be more accurate. Bel FX2 is $85, including shipping, on ebay.
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 03:18 PM   #15
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Then get the G-Tech
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 03:20 PM   #16
hotrod182
.
 
hotrod182's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i, 06 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 3,461
iTrader: (0)

My Gtech Pro RR ran some EXACT numbers at the track.I was very impressed. It also has great graphing software that comes with it.
hotrod182 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 03:24 PM   #17
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,564
iTrader: (1)

111mph is a great run....way to go. I hit 109 so far, hoping to hit 110+ once I get my shiftpoints down better. Oh yeah, and take a bunch of crap out of my trunk.
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 05:25 PM   #18
judec
born to be turbocharged
 
judec's Avatar
 
Drives: Not a bimmer yet
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 1,347
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to judec Send a message via Skype™ to judec
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M View Post
Racelogic VBox is the only way to go.
which one do U mean? the full setup for 10k$, or the "cheap" PerformanceBox or driftbox for only around 500$?

LOL, sorry to say, I know your intention was to help, but I'm affraid it's way off the league
judec is offline   Slovakia
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 10:16 PM   #19
hotrod182
.
 
hotrod182's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i, 06 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 3,461
iTrader: (0)

If I didn't just purchase my GTech Pro recently, I would have purchased the Racelogic Performance Box. At only $499, its only $200 more than my Gtech. Not that I have any issues with the GTech in my car, but I think swapping the unit from car to car, different tilt values, surface grade comparisons, etc..the VBox would be more consistant. For those of you who don't have a performanc meter, this seems like a great deal:

http://vboxusa.com/performancedrift/performancebox.php

Either way, these things are great for assessing performance mods, and to practice your launch techniques. You will be glad you got one.
hotrod182 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2007, 11:48 PM   #20
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

I was surprised how accurate these things are. Found this:
"Comparison of: Racelogic PerformanceBox Performance Meter Tesla Electronics Inc. G-TECH / Pro RR Performance Meter"
test report.

A couple of things anout this report:
How do we know the accuracy of the VBOXIII?

They should have mentioned that although the accuracy on the G-Tech is lower, the differences in times are consistently about the same amount. The G-Tech's precision is enough where a simple correction factor (if known) would bring it much closer to the accuracy of the PerformanceBox. However, a similar consistency with the G-Tech's trap speed calc. is not indicated.
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2007, 12:44 AM   #21
hotrod182
.
 
hotrod182's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i, 06 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 3,461
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
I was surprised how accurate these things are. Found this:
"Comparison of: Racelogic PerformanceBox Performance Meter Tesla Electronics Inc. G-TECH / Pro RR Performance Meter"
test report.

A couple of things anout this report:
How do we know the accuracy of the VBOXIII?

They should have mentioned that although the accuracy on the G-Tech is lower, the differences in times are consistently about the same amount. The G-Tech's precision is enough where a simple correction factor (if known) would bring it much closer to the accuracy of the PerformanceBox. However, a similar consistency with the G-Tech's trap speed calc. is not indicated.
Yup, these things are very close. Much closer than you could consistantly achieve with a stop watch. Try clicking off .10 second consistanty on your watch. Also, compared to the timing lights, there is some variance with the VBOX III anyways. The GTech is accurate enough, that through several runs, you can see how your car is performing. Thats why I always make 3 runs, on the same exact stretch of road. You can tell which runs are consistant, and if one is an aberration. It would have been nice to see how it compared against the Beltronics unit.
Attached Images
 
hotrod182 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2007, 03:23 AM   #22
M&M
Captain
 
M&M's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 Competition Pack
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Posts: 661
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by judec View Post
which one do U mean? the full setup for 10k$, or the "cheap" PerformanceBox or driftbox for only around 500$?
Sorry I meant PerformanceBox or Driftbox. I have both the PerformanceBox & the full blown 20hz Vbox. I put both in the car & ran it 5 times at the strip. The times & traps where VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL. I mean like 0.002 out on time & less than 0.05 mph out on trap.

But of course that is to be expected at the speeds we are testing. There won't be much difference between 5hz & 20hz for our applications.
M&M is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST