E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > new d two weeks ago... now JBD



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-01-2011, 02:52 PM   #1
torque
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

new d two weeks ago... now JBD

So I just got my new 2011 335d sport about two weeks ago and I have loved every minute of it. I've got about 750 miles on her and later this week I am getting the windows tinted.

So I just got my JBD tune today and am about to install it. The only thing: I don't have a PC (MacBook Pro here) so I can't read the codes or change the settings.

I don't really want to change the settings but I am excited to see how much different the car is with the new oomph.



BTW OT: I got a ride in my friends 458 this weekend. Amazing... and got to drive a Phantom coupe. My buddy loves my diesel though... he's also got an M5 and two 993 turbos.
torque is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 03:06 PM   #2
Ron1n
Speed Demon
 
Ron1n's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858

Posts: 3,248
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
There's nothing you're going to do to change the settings with the OBDII, most likely. That's for viewing/clearing codes. Get a netbook so that you can, though. You'll appreciate it.
__________________
Ron1n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 03:25 PM   #3
BMW1983
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Texas

Posts: 154
iTrader: (0)

Run Windows on your mac like I do when needed for this.....no big deal....use Boot Camp to do it...
BMW1983 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 04:13 PM   #4
torque
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Just installed the JBD and started it up and Reduced Engine Power.


I don't have a PC but I'm trying to get a friend over here who has one so I can see what the fuck is going on. This pretty much sucks... not gonna lie. If it doesn't work and then I uninstall it and it is still throwing codes I am really gonna be pissed because of how excited I was earlier today.

I will keep you posted...

any help/information would be appreciated.
torque is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 04:52 PM   #5
Ron1n
Speed Demon
 
Ron1n's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858

Posts: 3,248
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
It's not gonna throw codes when you uninstall it. What's the setting showing on the JBD now (approximately how far is it from all the way to the right)?
__________________
Ron1n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 05:53 PM   #6
rakimb17
Dude
 
Drives: Prius, 87 GN on E-85 and 335d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NorCal/ SnorCal

Posts: 93
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW1983 View Post
Run Windows on your mac like I do when needed for this.....no big deal....use Boot Camp to do it...
x2
rakimb17 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 05:55 PM   #7
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Shouldn't cause your car to go into lump mode at the default setting. Unscrew the cover on the jbd and make sure it is set at a little over half way.
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 06:12 PM   #8
torque
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

So I went back outside and just removed the module and it is now sitting on my living room table. The meter inside reads just past the half way mark (about 60%). As I started the car back up everything was fine except for the SES light but no codes on the dash or iDrive.

I emailed Burger a few questions and there responses were incredibly prompt. So kudos to Burger Tuning. I didn't get a chance to snap a picture as to if everything was installed correctly but I am mechanically inclined and it is basically a plug&play so I think it's just a communication error.

Hoping to get this Boot Camp but it'll take me a minute since I am not a huge computer nerd and just surf the net and basic shit... so bare with me folks.
torque is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 06:46 PM   #9
Ron1n
Speed Demon
 
Ron1n's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858

Posts: 3,248
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by torque View Post
So I went back outside and just removed the module and it is now sitting on my living room table. The meter inside reads just past the half way mark (about 60%). As I started the car back up everything was fine except for the SES light but no codes on the dash or iDrive.

I emailed Burger a few questions and there responses were incredibly prompt. So kudos to Burger Tuning. I didn't get a chance to snap a picture as to if everything was installed correctly but I am mechanically inclined and it is basically a plug&play so I think it's just a communication error.

Hoping to get this Boot Camp but it'll take me a minute since I am not a huge computer nerd and just surf the net and basic shit... so bare with me folks.
Yeah, Terry is awesome, and very prompt...always willing to help.

You might want to consider just putting more miles on your car for now (get it past the break-in period) before tossing the JBD back on.
__________________
Ron1n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 06:48 PM   #10
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Did you make sure to lock the car and let the ecu go to sleep before installing? If not it will cause codes.

Since you car went into limp mode and ses light you will need to clear codes with bt cable. Even if light is not on car stores codes in memory until cleared.
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 06:54 PM   #11
Ron1n
Speed Demon
 
Ron1n's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858

Posts: 3,248
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cssnms View Post
Did you make sure to lock the car and let the ecu go to sleep before installing? If not it will cause codes.

Since you car went into limp mode and ses light you will need to clear codes with bt cable. Even if light is not on car stores codes in memory until cleared.
Given the amount of time it takes to install, the car should have been asleep already. I only do that, btw, when I'm setting up to clear codes, not swap out the tune (with 3 tunes to play with, it happens more often than you think). :P
__________________
Ron1n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2011, 11:17 PM   #12
Kaylin032
Private
 
Kaylin032's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 M3 and 335d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas TX

Posts: 99
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
No probs

I got a 2011 335d a couple months ago, and put a JBD on it after about 4,000 miles. I maxed out the setting and and the car drives like a monster and fortunately I haven't experienced any error codes.

I hope you get it working. The 335d isn't bad as-is, but it's hard to describe the white-knuckle fun/terror you get at 2,000 rpm to your friends with an "i" instead of a "d" on the badges of their cars. They need to feel it so they can be jealous.

I just wish the suspension was firmer. I hit the bumpstops on speed bumps that my M3 would laugh at.

KP
Kaylin032 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 05:41 PM   #13
torque
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

So I ended up just clearing the P0193 code that caused the SES light to be on after I uninstalled the module.

cssnms: I locked her and had both keys inside my apartment about 100ft. away for well over 10 minutes. I just wish I had this chip to enjoy today since my right ear is completed stopped up and it has been hell at work all day.

Terry and I emailed back and forth yesterday and I ended up just taking it off for now.
I spoke with two friends of mine who are BMW mechanics and they are just going to help me out when I take it in next.

Thanks for all the help and I will get this figured out sooner rather than later... I still have to tint her and get a permanent tag for ***s sake.
torque is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 07:18 PM   #14
duramax
Private
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

I am kind of like you, I got my D a month and a half ago and the JBD w/CAN tool is on its way. I have 2,100 miles on now and had the windows tinted the first week. I love the car. Can someone explain or point me in the right direction: My understanding is the CAN tool can only tell you if you have a fault code store in the ECU and can clear it, without the need for a PC/laptop. I don't understand what the PC is being used for?? Is there an application on the PC that reads the codes? Is this a different tool than the CAN Tool used to do this?

Thanks in advance
duramax is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 07:35 PM   #15
Ron1n
Speed Demon
 
Ron1n's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858

Posts: 3,248
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by duramax View Post
I am kind of like you, I got my D a month and a half ago and the JBD w/CAN tool is on its way. I have 2,100 miles on now and had the windows tinted the first week. I love the car. Can someone explain or point me in the right direction: My understanding is the CAN tool can only tell you if you have a fault code store in the ECU and can clear it, without the need for a PC/laptop. I don't understand what the PC is being used for?? Is there an application on the PC that reads the codes? Is this a different tool than the CAN Tool used to do this?

Thanks in advance
Yup...it's the BT software itself. It provides a lot more information for you.

To get an idea, check out my YT video:

__________________
Ron1n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 08:04 PM   #16
duramax
Private
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

Very cool. So a couple more dumb questions. Where do you get the BT Software from and is the CAN tool Cable the one you are using or is that something different?
duramax is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 10:03 PM   #17
M-igs-3
New Member
 
Drives: 2014 328i xDrive Sportline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Shore, MA

Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by torque View Post
So I went back outside and just removed the module and it is now sitting on my living room table. The meter inside reads just past the half way mark (about 60%). As I started the car back up everything was fine except for the SES light but no codes on the dash or iDrive.

I emailed Burger a few questions and there responses were incredibly prompt. So kudos to Burger Tuning. I didn't get a chance to snap a picture as to if everything was installed correctly but I am mechanically inclined and it is basically a plug&play so I think it's just a communication error.

Hoping to get this Boot Camp but it'll take me a minute since I am not a huge computer nerd and just surf the net and basic shit... so bare with me folks.
I'm curious to see how this turns out for you... hopefully it turns out well! .. just ordered my JBD and CAN tool tonight as well!
__________________
2008 M3 MR w/BB interior - SOLD
2011 335d Titanium Silver w/Black Dakota- SOLD
2012 535i xDrive - SOLD
2013 335i M Sport- SOLD
2014 328i xDrive Sportline, BS w/CR interior
M-igs-3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-03-2011, 11:29 AM   #18
EYE4SPEED
Ex-Quattro Driver
 
EYE4SPEED's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335d M-Sport LCI
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Coast... of Michigan

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (22)

My friend only gets the SES light when he floors the car off the line. Otherwise from a roll, no problems. Setting is around 75%.
__________________
EYE4SPEED is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-03-2011, 04:16 PM   #19
duramax
Private
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

I got the JBD in the mail today (they didn't send me the CAN tool). I contacted them and they responded within 10 minutes and are working it out, some sort of order mix up. I installed it, the only thing I was worried about was the not breaking the white insert. I got it out no problems. The last driver side allen bolt was easy getting out, not so easy getting back in. Took her for a drive and I am pretty impressed. Didn't have much time to have fun because of work, but it gets up and goes, no codes on default.
duramax is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-03-2011, 04:40 PM   #20
duramax
Private
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

I would like to add Burger shipped the CAN tool an hour after emailing them. Good work.
duramax is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2011, 09:14 PM   #21
szhark
New Member
 
Drives: 335D
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

'11 335d.. 5300 miles.. JBD @ 75%.. anything higher throws limp mode.. Car is unreal to drive... start lower and inch up..
szhark is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2011, 10:21 PM   #22
duramax
Private
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

got the CAN tool today. I assume the ignition on to clear/read codes, engine off?
duramax is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST