E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Watchdog This Week It Looks Like It Is About Bmw



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-13-2012, 08:12 AM   #199
Subzero2003
Captain
10
Rep
665
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jester77 View Post
Perhaps there was a software / hardware change in '07 (with LCI?) that opened this particular flaw - I find it hard to believe but maybe.
There was no LCI in 07!

E92/E93 LCI was September 2010 onwards
E90/E91 LCI was September 2008 onwards

This is the thing with large companies. You never know if their decisions are made based on cost or truth. Is it really true that pre 07 cars are not susceptible to this sort of attack or if it is just them estimating that 07 onwards (5 years old or younger) cars are most at risk of being stolen and therefore conveniently saving them the money of having to update 2005 and 2006 cars.

Lest we forget - this is the same company who just a few weeks ago refused to acknowledge there was a problem on ANY car!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 08:21 AM   #200
Cyprio
Captain
Cyprio's Avatar
United Kingdom
12
Rep
919
Posts

Drives: 2014 Audi S4 B/Edition
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colchester. UK

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zltm089 View Post
I would avoid Stephen James in South London...I phoned one of their salesman ages ago...he was rude...FCUK them!..


Back on topic, I hope that the fix is ready within the 8 weeks timescale!...anyone called the number?...do we need to call so that we "register" for this fix or what?
Yes, you need to ring them and get it registered.

Off topic but talking of Watchdog did you guy's see the car dealer - 'Cervat' the square headed nutty turkish bloke and his big nosed cronies! What a bunch of nonse cases they were!

Who the fcuk in their right mind would buy a car from that lot - I just don't get it!

Rant over.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 08:29 AM   #201
Gra
Private
Gra's Avatar
United Kingdom
1
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: E90 335d M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Just called to get mine registered. Was only on hold for 5 mins on the 0800 number so it looks like they're a bit quieter at the moment... Was told that I'd get a call from my local dealer to book it in for the free update anytime between now and 8 weeks time.

I'd say it's likely to be 8 weeks time from what I've read elsewhere.

It didn't stop me from going out and spending £80+ on a Disclok this morning though. Just in case....

The guy in Halfords told me they'd been selling quite a few today (unsurprisingly) and I got the 2nd to last one....
__________________
'57' plate E90 335d M Sport
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 08:59 AM   #202
dar2008
Major
United Kingdom
21
Rep
1,027
Posts

Drives: e93 M3 Convertible!
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bromley, UK

iTrader: (0)

Just called, only waited 2minutes. Basically they asked my name, reg number and the name of my local dealership. They're collating lists to pass on to the dealerships who'll be in touch in about 8weeks time. I was advised it's a software update that will taken anything from 1hour to 1.5hours.
__________________
It's arrived, e93 M3 Convertible: M-DCT, JzB / extended BB, and most of the options.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 09:41 AM   #203
Statler
Major Pain in the Arse
Statler's Avatar
United Kingdom
4
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: E92 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (0)

4 minute wait, details taken.
Mine is "one that is highlighted" for an update. They'll be in touch in the next 8 weeks...
Bet the 'advisors' are fed up reading that spiel off their cards!

So, if my car is still in the car park tonight it's time to start moving stuff and buying that bit round bit of steel...

I did a test on the internal sensors at the weekend and got to the front seat headrest before the alarm went off. I could have easily removed the dash without it 'seeing' me... Just how crap is that alarm sounder...!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 09:43 AM   #204
mob17
Brigadier General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
136
Rep
4,686
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (4)

Same as dar2008, just registered.

I also asked them if i relocate my OBD port, will i invalidate my warranty. Apparantly YES!! This is so messed up
__________________
E92 335D
Turbo Dynamics Hybrid Turbos, Wagner Intercooler, DPF Delete Pipe with Sports Cat, Ecotune custom map ~ 422bhp & 618ft.lbs
Öhlins R&T
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 09:51 AM   #205
Barlows
Sparkling Graphite
Barlows's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
175
Posts

Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Merseyside

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I've just called and registered mine as above.

They told me they will "change the locking system free of charge"
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 09:54 AM   #206
Gra
Private
Gra's Avatar
United Kingdom
1
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: E90 335d M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Statler View Post
Bet the 'advisors' are fed up reading that spiel off their cards!
I bet they are too! The chap I spoke to was really upbeat and chirpy when I spoke to him, I was quite surprised! I suspect I was probably the hundredth person he'd spoken to about it today. Give it another week and I suspect they'll be getting fed up though!

I told my boss he needed to get his registered and he wasn't too fussed. His loss then! I'm taking no chances!
__________________
'57' plate E90 335d M Sport
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 09:59 AM   #207
tazg101
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Newcastle

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
Same as dar2008, just registered.

I also asked them if i relocate my OBD port, will i invalidate my warranty. Apparantly YES!! This is so messed up

I've done this and will move it back once it goes in for update. Took 5 minutes and one cable tie which can be snipped.

Put the screws in the boot for when I put it back.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:00 AM   #208
tazg101
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Newcastle

iTrader: (1)

I can't find any info on this, but what is the insurance companies perspective on this? If your car gets nicked and you have both keys. Are you covered?
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:07 AM   #209
Hotcoupe
Major General
Hotcoupe's Avatar
United Kingdom
73
Rep
6,110
Posts

Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
I also asked them if i relocate my OBD port, will i invalidate my warranty. Apparantly YES!! This is so messed up
They can't invalidate the 'whole' car warranty just for moving the OBD port,that's utter bollocks!

Move your port,and then put it back when/if a software security upgrade becomes available,and you get the call from your dealer to take the car in.
__________________
=================================


Never argue with an idiot on the internet. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:09 AM   #210
fulcrum
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
5
Rep
437
Posts

Drives: E92 330 M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazg101 View Post
I've done this and will move it back once it goes in for update. Took 5 minutes and one cable tie which can be snipped.

Put the screws in the boot for when I put it back.
I have it writing from them that simply moving it (rather than splicing) will not!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:14 AM   #211
V8RM
Private
V8RM's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: F31 330D Alpine White
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Here, there & everywhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazg101 View Post
I've done this and will move it back once it goes in for update. Took 5 minutes and one cable tie which can be snipped.

Put the screws in the boot for when I put it back.
Noob question, do you need to buy a cable extender to relocate?, or is that only required when you REALLY want to relocate it? Registered today then went and ordered another OBD as a dummy.

Cheers!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:14 AM   #212
IanS100
Brigadier General
IanS100's Avatar
England
41
Rep
3,106
Posts

Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

I doubt they could invalidate your warranty even if you splice into it provided it's capable of performing the same function without fault - if this causes a problem however youd definitely be on your own!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:17 AM   #213
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
222
Rep
8,617
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8RM View Post
Noob question, do you need to buy a cable extender to relocate?, or is that only required when you REALLY want to relocate it? Registered today then went and ordered another OBD as a dummy.

Cheers!

Read this and I hope it helps.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:24 AM   #214
J44KPR
Private
2
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

just seen Pistonheads have covered the story

http://www.pistonheads.com/news/defa...?storyId=26357
__________________
Wanted; Gloss Black Interior Trim - Gearstick/centre piece & door inserts
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:31 AM   #215
J44KPR
Private
2
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

just seen Pistonheads have covered the story

http://www.pistonheads.com/news/defa...?storyId=26357
__________________
Wanted; Gloss Black Interior Trim - Gearstick/centre piece & door inserts
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:52 AM   #216
tazg101
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Newcastle

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8RM View Post
Noob question, do you need to buy a cable extender to relocate?, or is that only required when you REALLY want to relocate it? Registered today then went and ordered another OBD as a dummy.

Cheers!
No, the port comes loose when you take out the two screws. Did this and tied the port to another cable quite far towards the engine. No way to get to it unless you remove the panels under the steering wheel. Short term solution but it'll do.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 11:20 AM   #217
q_jonblaze
Captain
14
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: e93
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: muahahhahahhahahaha

iTrader: (3)

re: the earlier models.....they may have a point when saying that you cars are not affected as the earlier car (pre march 2007) can with k-line interface and all the other ones from then on moved on the a Dcan type of interface.

if im wrong i know someone'll correct me...i just picked up the information when we first started looking into coding cars and realsied earlier models could use a 15 quid cable and the later models had to fork out 12o dollars for a d-can cable
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #218
davyk31
Brigadier General
90
Rep
4,633
Posts

Drives: Audi SQ5 & Golf GTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (0)

What info do you need when you phone the number, is it just reg or VIN required? Want to be sure I have all info if I have been on hold for a while.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 11:28 AM   #219
Cyprio
Captain
Cyprio's Avatar
United Kingdom
12
Rep
919
Posts

Drives: 2014 Audi S4 B/Edition
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colchester. UK

iTrader: (2)

Reg number is all you need.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 11:28 AM   #220
Hotcoupe
Major General
Hotcoupe's Avatar
United Kingdom
73
Rep
6,110
Posts

Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by davyk31 View Post
What info do you need when you phone the number, is it just reg or VIN required? Want to be sure I have all info if I have been on hold for a while.
Just reg no,as long as it's not a private plate
__________________
=================================


Never argue with an idiot on the internet. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST