E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Ecu coding



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-10-2012, 05:38 AM   #1
Nickyc25
Private
0
Rep
88
Posts

 
Drives: E90 320d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Ecu coding

My ecu has failed on my 320d 2005 e90 I got ecu cas unit + key from another 320d 2005 fitted all parts car won't start took it to indecent BMW for coding they say it can't be coded to my car because already coded to the other car is this true
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 07:09 AM   #2
Subzero2003
Captain
9
Rep
665
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

My knowledge isn't great on things ECU - but replacing an ECU is not as simply as buying another and fitting it. I imagine it is hugely complicated and there are many other modules which are coded to this ECU. IIRC, replacing and coding a new ECU is extremely expensive, time consuming and complicated, with the added risk of damaging other parts of the system in the process.

Not being funny, but did you do any kind of research or talk to anyone "in the know" before undertaking this?
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 07:17 AM   #3
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Why did you replace the CAS unit too?

ECUs do fail from time to time and they're sure to be replaced with just a new ECU, some coding maybe.

Why mess with locks / keys / CAS?
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 07:27 AM   #4
Nickyc25
Private
0
Rep
88
Posts

 
Drives: E90 320d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

I spoke to a BMW breakers who said the immobiliser went through the key cas unit + ecu so by replacing all 3 of a 320d which were all coded together would work but it hasnt
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 07:35 AM   #5
Subzero2003
Captain
9
Rep
665
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

But the key, CAS unit and ECU aren't the only things that need coding. Everything on the car is coded to your old ECU etc. So now you have a number of components that are coded to your old ECU, but a ECU from a different car.

What a mess!
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 09:12 AM   #6
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Breakers are good with gas axes and crushers, but I wouldn't trust them with much else
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 09:49 AM   #7
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,555
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Start from scratch.
Get somebody with bmw equipment.
They need to write your car's VIN to ecu and then code it.
Same goes for CAS and later adding keys.
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 09-10-2012 at 02:13 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 10:19 AM   #8
Nickyc25
Private
0
Rep
88
Posts

 
Drives: E90 320d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Car has Ben put back to origanal key + cas unit just ecu changed now waiting to hear from the garage
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST