E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > brake sensor trick



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-12-2012, 08:45 AM   #1
Bslaw83
Private First Class
United_States
4
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
brake sensor trick

So, my inspection went out last month and I had not gotten around to getting it renewed yet because my brake sensor light was on. I knew the brakes weren't bad because I replaced them not too long ago. Instead of buying new ones that I knew I'd have to replace again, I simply took the old ones off, cut the sensors off, stripped the wires back, and simply wired the 2 wires that were inside together. My thought was that it would send a false positive back and trick the car into thinking that you put on new sensors. After that I simply re-installed the sensors and followed the reset procedure. It worked. Took it and got the inspection today. I know it's not much, but it saved me $40 and the eyesore of having to look at the service car light.

Thought I'd just add this in here in case anyone else was having the same issue as me.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2012, 08:55 AM   #2
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
DUI Elite's Avatar
22
Rep
1,714
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (4)

Good tip! wish I would've tried before doing mine.

I replaced my front and rear for $30
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2012, 09:00 AM   #3
BKV122
Major
BKV122's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
1,095
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [4.75]
Ive got my rear sensor zip tied behind the wheel well and my rears pads are getting close to needing to he changed. Would i need to put a new sensor in even tho the other is still fine?
__________________

Monaco Blue 330xi - Terra Interior/6-MT/Sport/Premium/Cold/CSL's/M3 Spoiler Lip/Black Kidney's
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2012, 09:23 AM   #4
Bslaw83
Private First Class
United_States
4
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKV122 View Post
Ive got my rear sensor zip tied behind the wheel well and my rears pads are getting close to needing to he changed. Would i need to put a new sensor in even tho the other is still fine?
yours should still be good, but from what i've read you'll still need to unplug them from the port and replug them to "trick" the car into thinking you've installed new ones.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2012, 03:47 PM   #5
BKV122
Major
BKV122's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
1,095
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bslaw83 View Post
yours should still be good, but from what i've read you'll still need to unplug them from the port and replug them to "trick" the car into thinking you've installed new ones.
Got ya. Was thinking that too, that id need to fool the computer that there is a new sensor installed
__________________

Monaco Blue 330xi - Terra Interior/6-MT/Sport/Premium/Cold/CSL's/M3 Spoiler Lip/Black Kidney's
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST