E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Error Codes: P30FE & P3100



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-15-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

Error Codes: P30FE & P3100

Took the car out for a run today and got the following errors codes. One the COBB gives me a description on and the other it doesnt.

The codes are as follows

P3100 : COBB doesnt say anything for it besides the code
P30FE : Boost Control, boost pressure too high error wastegate 1-clamped

What do these mean?

As always, thanks for the feedback.

P.S. The car is completely bone stock right now, no tune, no anything except just IC.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 06:36 PM   #2
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

Come on e90!! Help me
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 06:54 PM   #3
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
No one is helping you is because your not helping yourself...A simple google search yielded

3100 boost-pressure control, deactivation
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 07:04 PM   #4
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

Actually I did and obviously that didn't give me details but hey thanks for the smart ass comments.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 07:07 PM   #5
WickedB
Second Lieutenant
WickedB's Avatar
2
Rep
275
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i Convertible
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit, MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motastic View Post
Come on e90!! Help me
P3100 is simply limp mode. Forget that one it will go away after a restart..

P30FE sounds like your overboosting / boosting higher than requested target

Maybe stuck closed wastegate? did you check all of the vaccum lines?
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 07:09 PM   #6
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

That could be a good point. I might have to look at the vacuum lines
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 08:30 PM   #7
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

Has anyone else experienced this though. No vacuum lines messed up though :/
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 01:54 PM   #8
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

..... anyone.

all i did was take off intake and cp to stock and i experienced this

I am going to dealership for turbo issues tomo and dont want them to brush it off saying it was something else because of my mistake
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 09:14 PM   #9
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

So just test me luck tomo
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 09:19 PM   #10
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
vasillalov's Avatar
Bulgaria
84
Rep
4,196
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Overboosting error. Update your COBB unit and download the latest maps if you have not done so.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine | StopTech
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 09:38 PM   #11
scflaw
Lieutenant
7
Rep
504
Posts

 
Drives: E93 3'r
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: HKG

iTrader: (1)

its not the cobb, i had the same issue. Did you ever have your HPFP replaced? Dealer helped me do this to get rid of thsoe codes

Update ECU I8A0S
Replace HPFP
Replace Injectors
They said they did something with the turbo's but it wasn't replacing the wastegate, so im guessing they adjusted it.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 10:57 PM   #12
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

Well when I have the Cobb installed I kept etfong
Fuel pump plausibility error but not when I have it off. Now I get this error.

The Cobb is uninstalled currently. I have the car going in for a recheck tomo because I had turbos replaced recently but still have a really bad clunking noise like its waste gate.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 02:18 AM   #13
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
92
Rep
7,331
Posts

 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

is always good to always write mods on the car, which tune and maps used , octane etc.
Also searching for codes here will give you straight away an answer on what they mean and possible solutions.
if you get overboost on stock tune could be a sticky wastegate. Turbo replacement.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 05:35 AM   #14
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

That is my mistake.

I was running stett CAI with Cp and Synapse BOV stage one aggressive but reverted back to stock and started getting that.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 07:09 AM   #15
ken1137
Brigadier General
ken1137's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
3,697
Posts

 
Drives: a slow 2009 e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2009 e90 335i  [3.20]
You may have a boost leak somewhere. FMIC to charge pipe is my guess. Last time I experienced this code was when my coupling/elbow blew a hole (it cracked).
__________________

BMWCCA member
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 09:27 AM   #16
Motastic
Major
Motastic's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335!
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Arlington, TX

iTrader: (4)

hmm interesting, that could be it since I still have the IC in.

I dropped it off this morning at the dealership, lets pray it all goes well
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2014, 01:29 PM   #17
teknic90
Private First Class
teknic90's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
194
Posts

 
Drives: 08 e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motastic View Post
hmm interesting, that could be it since I still have the IC in.

I dropped it off this morning at the dealership, lets pray it all goes well
I'm getting the same codes. Did you ever figure out what it was?
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2014, 04:23 PM   #18
BuraQ
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
BuraQ's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,208
Posts


 
Drives: 11" E92 335is
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [3.03]
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknic90 View Post
I'm getting the same codes. Did you ever figure out what it was?
What gear did it happen in
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2014, 04:25 PM   #19
dbworld4k
Gearhead
Canada
8
Rep
621
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i + E39 M5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: [X] Chicago [ ] Toronto

iTrader: (0)

I had the exact same issues, with or without Cobb OTS maps. I had a custom tune and turned out my waste gate actuators were wayyyy too stiff. Thankfully there able to work with the software to make them within spec again and I've not seen these codes since!
__________________

'09 335i Alpine White + Coral Red || '02 ///M5 Imola Red + Imola Red
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2014, 05:57 PM   #20
teknic90
Private First Class
teknic90's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
194
Posts

 
Drives: 08 e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuraQ View Post
What gear did it happen in
It was in 3rd. But this has happened to me when I was running Map5 and then Map0 (stock).
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2014, 06:07 PM   #21
winn3r
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 335i x-drive
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by teknic90 View Post
It was in 3rd. But this has happened to me when I was running Map5 and then Map0 (stock).
either vacuum lines or turbos. had this problem resolved recently turbos were replaced, actuators, and vacuum lines . turbos are covered under warranty, but the actuators and vacuum lines will run you $1,200(this is the tax included total with labor from BMW).
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST