E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Xenon level sensor



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-11-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Xenon level sensor

Anyone got a drawing or info on how to test a xenon level sensors off the car ?

I've tried a few pins and get some resistance readings back , but no change in value when moving the arm.

part 6763735 which incidentally i cannot find on real oem
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2013, 08:52 AM   #2
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

BMW part numbers are always 11 digits, that's why you can't find it!

do you mean: http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...97&hg=31&fg=05 part 1 front, part 6 rear.

I had mine tested on the car at an indy.

Autologic machine via OBD port will show the sensor output as a mV signal, which you can then check the range by moving the sensor up or down by hand.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2013, 09:05 AM   #3
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Yea, thats the beast , i got INPA on it and my rear one was showing as out of range ( Value of 5 i think 4.8 is the limit)

I purchased a new one ,fitted it and the reading still showed the reading of 5 . I swopped the new one with my known working front one and now both have a reading of 5 and as a result have 2 errors ( front and back)
I'm looking to see if there is a way to reset this particular module .. any ideaS ?
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2013, 12:09 PM   #4
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

So the reading stays at 5 with the sensor moved to all positions?
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 03:32 PM   #5
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

I just thought i'd update this , found some information regarding my issue.. can't take a look on the car as have no time and weather is pretty bad outside.

It's an interesting read , seems a common problem and an easy mistake to make when you mess with the suspension, Hopefully it will sort my problem and help someone else out ... http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=389548
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST