E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Virtual Machine Coding Sucess!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-22-2012, 10:02 PM   #1
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
Virtual Machine Coding Sucess!

Hey guys. Finally set up a VM and coded properly without ANY problems surprisingly. Only did digital speedo but if anyone has questions regarding the setup of a VM please let me know. Also the cable i used was 35$ shipped and works perfectly



Edit- More coding done. Mostly everything is great. Im a little disappointed I cant edit my welcome lights (NFRM) and for some reason my bulb check wont go away even though i set the checks for my license plate to nicht_aktiv. Maybe a bulb is actually burned somewhere else? How could i check through inpa... Thanks guys
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 08:25 PM   #2
jzxi
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 328xi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gunnison, CO USA

Posts: 39
iTrader: (1)

Ok I'll bite. I got it all to work on a dell with xp pro, but not on my other laptop with 64 bit win 7. I have a virtual machine on it to run TIS. What do I need to do??? TIA

cheers
jz
__________________
Sparkling graphite, Cold, Premium, Sport, 6MT, 35% tint, Eibach pro, 17" 159's with studded Gislaved winters. 18" AG 310 with Michelin PSS summer. Magnaflow cat-back and charcoal filter delete. Led angel eyes coded for DRL.
jzxi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 08:53 PM   #3
markusvt
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: vermont

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Mine is a 2009 335i

1. Need to be on Win7 higher than "home edition", (upgrade to professional is $89).
2. Download Windows VM.
3. Download Windows XP VM.

Get all that to work first.

Then, do EVERYTHING in the XP window, EVERYTHING going forward.

Then follow these directions:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=588311

I did, and got it all to work, and have coded some cool stuff so far.

Make sure when the cable is plugged in, you select it from the USM pull down in VM. Then look at the ports setting in DM, you should see it under USB AND COM1, and it needs to have the FTDI drivers.

Make sure to unzip the files to the C: drive in the XP window!

Do EVERYTHING in the XP window!
markusvt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 08:04 AM   #4
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
Would you guys prefer that I just upload my whole virtual VM with everything set up, just need to plug in the cable?
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 09:53 AM   #5
Barberra3er
New Member
 
Barberra3er's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Boston

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321 View Post
Would you guys prefer that I just upload my whole virtual VM with everything set up, just need to plug in the cable?
I was wondering why no one has done that while updating my daten. A new set of files with the latest edibas and daten 46.1 in the 3 folders like the original compressed folder the DIY referred to.

I just used oracle VirtualBox running xp corporate on my windows 7 home to avoid the upgrade cost. $35 ebay cable worked for me too. Added VO to add the alarm I just installed, activated all features, windows up, mirror fold, digital speedo, idrive disclaimer delete, door chime and seatbelt chime disable, angel eye DRLs. A little computer knowledge and the amazing people on this forum really make it work. Still working on figuring out making the welcome lights stay on for a full minute instead of 20 seconds.
__________________
2007 Barberahellrot 328i Xenon . Nav . Coded
New to E90, seasoned E46 (adenosinebambam on E46fanatics)
Barberra3er is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 11:49 AM   #6
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

You most likely are botching the welcome lights. They're not just aktiv or nicht_aktiv.
They're either nicht_aktiv or hart/soft_eins.... (spelling eludes me right now).
And for the bulb check turn off the bulb checks and the CC_*** lines as well.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 01:30 PM   #7
Barberra3er
New Member
 
Barberra3er's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Boston

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Welcome lights come on and work. I tried to edit the FRM /NFRM module with the NETTODAT.TRC to make it stay on longer, but when I do the copysgbynettodat I get an error in german. (fehler beim einlessen der nettodatenliste)
__________________
2007 Barberahellrot 328i Xenon . Nav . Coded
New to E90, seasoned E46 (adenosinebambam on E46fanatics)

Last edited by Barberra3er; 10-24-2012 at 02:18 PM.
Barberra3er is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST