E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Profesional Radio Features



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-16-2013, 04:37 PM   #1
V15H
New Member
V15H's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Profesional Radio Features

Hi all,

I have a 2005 E90 320d which came with the Professional radio, the car is fitted with a CD changer in the boot and an aux port in the arm rest. The radio pixels fade as the temperature warms up, so I decided to purchase a second hand unit and swap it over. If the radio needed coding for the CD changer to work my plan was to swap the front displays over as I cannot code the radio myself. Today I recieved a Proffesional radio taken from a 2010 E92.

I fitted the radio this evening and noticed there was the option to change the volume of the gong and PDC, when I clicked on the icon to change the volume of these features the volume of the music increased dramatically. Does this mean the option of changing the volume of the gong and PDC is not available on my car?

Also I pressed the menu button and there was a computer symbol which displayed the temp, mpg etc. Should this be there on the original radio?? I never really played with it as the pixels disappeared so I couldn't see anything. The telephone symbol was there with --, does this mean if I fit a mic it will work?

The sound seems to be better from this radio to, is this just me or did BMW change something?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by V15H; 05-16-2013 at 04:57 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 08:15 PM   #2
Terryk
Private First Class
Terryk's Avatar
United Kingdom
2
Rep
191
Posts

Drives: E90 Montego Blue N46B20
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

yes, from menu button of professional radio you have the option to see on r/cd display the board computer details such as temp, consumption etc..(same infos you see in your small display in the instrument cluster)

i am not the expert who could respond at all your questions but i have read that the HU of the lci models were improved than the old ones (better sound quality and extra features).

hopefully a mate will reply to all your questions.
enjoy your new r/cd!
__________________
E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 03:18 AM   #3
V15H
New Member
V15H's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Used it this morning and the volume of the PDC and Gongs did change, although my car has no gongs!!
If it is a case that BMW did improve the radio on lci models I will need to get it coded to get the CD changer to work. Anybody recommend somewhere where this can be done in the Yorkshire area??
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2013, 06:50 AM   #4
V15H
New Member
V15H's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Ok today I had a chance to compare the sound of the radios and it seems the new one is better so, I'm going to keep the whole unit.
Can someone tell me what the -- means under telephone when menu is pressed? What do I need to do to get my phone to work, I don't have Bluetooth, mic etc.
Also can anybody recommend somewhere up north (Yorkshire) I can get the radio coded in order to get the CD changer to work?

Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2013, 09:07 AM   #5
AlanQS
Colonel
AlanQS's Avatar
Scotland
61
Rep
2,587
Posts

Drives: 430i m-sport Gran Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I suspect that -- means not available/not fitted.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2013, 09:51 AM   #6
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
325
Rep
8,805
Posts

Drives: F10 Sold
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by V15H
Ok today I had a chance to compare the sound of the radios and it seems the new one is better so, I'm going to keep the whole unit.
Can someone tell me what the -- means under telephone when menu is pressed? What do I need to do to get my phone to work, I don't have Bluetooth, mic etc.
Also can anybody recommend somewhere up north (Yorkshire) I can get the radio coded in order to get the CD changer to work?

Thank you.
I have said this multiple times on multiple threads that sound on lci headunits are way better. Both upper and lower end is better.

Have you had telephone before?
Or are you trying to use the phone in your current hu as its already in the menu.
Post a photo of the top label of your lci hu to get more specific response.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2013, 05:26 PM   #7
lemans 330d
Colonel
lemans 330d's Avatar
United Kingdom
47
Rep
2,375
Posts

Drives: 330d M sport
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Secret Location U.k

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by V15H
Ok today I had a chance to compare the sound of the radios and it seems the new one is better so, I'm going to keep the whole unit.
Can someone tell me what the -- means under telephone when menu is pressed? What do I need to do to get my phone to work, I don't have Bluetooth, mic etc.
Also can anybody recommend somewhere up north (Yorkshire) I can get the radio coded in order to get the CD changer to work?

Thank you.
Where in Yorkshire are you
__________________
330d M Sport / Lemans Blue / Sunroof / Logic 7 / Heated Leather Seats / Performance Diffuser / Performance Sideskirts / M3 Lip Spoiler / Privacy Glass / 313 Alloys / Bluetooth / cic nav/ Xenon Headlights / Auto Lights & Wipers / Front & Rear Park Control / Full Lci Conversion
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2013, 04:24 AM   #8
V15H
New Member
V15H's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I have not had a phone before, I would like to know what is involved for me to use it, as the lci hu has the option in the menu. I will post a picture of the label when I return home.
I'm in South Yorkshire, but I will travel a reasonable distance.
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2013, 04:43 AM   #9
ChazzyD
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lincoln

iTrader: (0)

Did you need the head unit coded after you installed it? I have a problem with my Professional unit. Had a guy fit a parrot bluetooth for me and now the radio is playing up. Took all the kit out but still a problem. When I start the car the radio is totally dead. If you up plug it and plug it back in a couple of times it comes back on fully with no problems. Switch the car off and leave it for a few minutes and dead again. Someone mentioned it might be the coding of the car or the BUS or such. Any thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2013, 01:22 PM   #10
V15H
New Member
V15H's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320d
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I have not had the radio coded. I plugged it in and it works, I just need it coding to enable the CD changer to work.
See picture below of the new stereo, what needs to be done to allow the telephone to work?

Appreciate 0
      05-19-2013, 02:20 PM   #11
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
325
Rep
8,805
Posts

Drives: F10 Sold
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

If you had the telephone before, then you need coding.

If you never had the telephone, then you will need to add module, BT antenna, cables / wires / Mic and coding.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST