E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Cobb stock tune!? PLEASE HELP!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-26-2012, 08:55 PM   #1
asado111
Second Lieutenant
9

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TX


Posts: 284
iTrader: (0)

Cobb stock tune!? PLEASE HELP!

Hey guys,

Sorry if this is not the proper place but need some serious help...

So, my Cobb tune for my stock 335i file went away.... Can I use somebody elses stock file? My ECU code is IJE0S... Is it possible that someone might have it and upload it? I put mine on the computer and my harddrive failed a few hours later..and i don't have it on the device anymore either.. Am I f*cked? Somebody help please!
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2012, 11:07 PM   #2
N55
Major
United_States
14

 
Drives: 2012 335IS E92
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh


Posts: 1,221
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Talk about bad karma... Good luck with finding a file.
__________________
2008 335xi E90 Alpine White - Sold - 8/19/10 > 2011 335xi E90 Jet Black - Sold - 6/27/12 > 2012 335IS E92 Crimson Red - Current

Appreciate 0
      10-26-2012, 11:17 PM   #3
EB9512
Private First Class
2

 
Drives: 2008 335i SDN Sport Pkg
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan


Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Is your cobb broken? Why is the stock file not there anymore? What happens when you uninstall tune?
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2012, 12:04 AM   #4
asado111
Second Lieutenant
9

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TX


Posts: 284
iTrader: (0)

I removed all files from Cobb, (stupid move) was organizing them by names, so I said i'll put them on the unit in few minutes.. And BAM, hard drive failure.. Anybody can help please . I don't want to uninstall tune, cause IDK if that will bring back the original stock, I don't think it will though. Don't want to take a risk.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2012, 07:30 AM   #5
EB9512
Private First Class
2

 
Drives: 2008 335i SDN Sport Pkg
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan


Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

You removed all the OTS maps. I would be willing to bet you did not remove your stock settings, probably just the generic BMW stock map. I would call COBB and see if they can help you confirm.....

I was under the impression you could not loose your stock program without damage or loss to the AP.

If it is the worse case scenario then I bet for $100.00 bucks you could pay a techie to recover it from the bad hard drive. I lost a hard drive two years ago on my MacBook and with it a full day of root canal ce lecture power points. I had a local techie save it for me...plus most my other files.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2012, 01:13 PM   #6
Kayani_1
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
24

 
Kayani_1's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW E92/E60
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston


Posts: 1,587
iTrader: (1)

If I was you I would call Cobb tune or go over to one of the Cobb shops in Texas to take care of this issue........Good luck.
__________________
nick named "BAD 3"
Cobb tune, RennArt catback non resonated exhaust, M-sport steering (racing alcantara & retrofit M3 paddle shifters.), Alpina B3 transmission flash, AFE powered sealed CAI, LED angels, E93 M3 Front Swaybar, 235/35/19x9 front & 275/30/19x9.5 rear. When in doubt...flat out
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2012, 10:35 PM   #7
EB9512
Private First Class
2

 
Drives: 2008 335i SDN Sport Pkg
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan


Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Let us know what you find out....
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 06:32 AM   #8
EB9512
Private First Class
2

 
Drives: 2008 335i SDN Sport Pkg
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan


Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Wondering what you found out about your stock map and AP?
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 06:50 AM   #9
JStang
N54 ADDICT
45

 
JStang's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL


Posts: 2,989
iTrader: (6)

This was a big concern of mine before purchasing my AP. I was told that it is stored as a "shadow" on the AP and if anything were to happen, Cobb has the stock map for all ROM's.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 07:00 AM   #10
enrita
Major General
Sweden
91

 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden


Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (0)

the stock file is stored in the cobb, you just cant see it. if you uninstall it it will be put back into the DME.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 08:12 AM   #11
MikeS300
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2010 335i xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Blacklick, OH


Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

If you email me at Michael.Shrallow@gmail.com I have the same ECU as you and have a zip file of my backed up ECU. You can try it at your own risk if you like.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 08:34 AM   #12
MDORPHN
Colonel
41

 
Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wash, DC


Posts: 2,533
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
the stock file is stored in the cobb, you just cant see it. if you uninstall it it will be put back into the DME.
This.

Neil
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 08:35 AM   #13
335twins
Lieutenant
6

 
335twins's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i, 2012 x3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: AZ


Posts: 488
iTrader: (1)

how do you know your hard drive is dead? did you try connecting it to another pc as a slave and see if there is data on it?
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2012, 07:58 PM   #14
ErvGotti
Major
14

 
Drives: 2008 135i 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bury St Edmunds UK


Posts: 1,168
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 135i  [3.00]
What Enrita said. The AP never erases the stock file of the car it is married to. You might have the stock file gone on the AP manager, but one call to COBB instead of creating a panic thread would have told you this.
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2012, 09:16 AM   #15
bigtigga01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charleston, SC


Posts: 189
iTrader: (6)

The stock file is hidden under default cobb settings so you can't select unless you go into the setting on the cobb and change to show hidden files. Your file should still be on the cobb ap unit.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2012, 12:38 PM   #16
EB9512
Private First Class
2

 
Drives: 2008 335i SDN Sport Pkg
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan


Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Update?
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2012, 09:15 PM   #17
neilvosko
Major
United_States
19

 
neilvosko's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92 FBO
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: miami


Posts: 1,429
iTrader: (16)

???
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2012, 07:55 PM   #18
EB9512
Private First Class
2

 
Drives: 2008 335i SDN Sport Pkg
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan


Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

So are you squared away?
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2012, 08:01 PM   #19
Hisam135i
Major
United_States
17

 
Hisam135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Irvine, CA


Posts: 1,161
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EB9512
So are you squared away?
Most likely people only post when there is something wrong lol
__________________
2008 Monaco Blue 335i | Terracotta | Premium | Auto | Comfort Access | Matte-black Grills | Carbon Fiber Splitters | 20% Tint | 1- point E9x Picture Game | Staggered 19' VMR V701 | Legal Disclaimer: My posts on this website cannot be held against me in any issues, such as warranty claims. |
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 02:29 PM   #20
str8shot
Second Lieutenant
8

 
Drives: N54 Montego Blue 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisco


Posts: 247
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
the stock file is stored in the cobb, you just cant see it. if you uninstall it it will be put back into the DME.
This is only true if you haven't upgraded the firmware on the AP since you installed it on the car.

You can still pull the stock rom off the ECU.

Plug the AP into the car.
Go to the AccessPORT -> About screen
Select "export user rom"

That should be your stock rom file.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST