E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Late to the JB4 game



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-25-2012, 07:05 AM   #1
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Late to the JB4 game

I am a current JB3 user and my car just got its turbos replaced by the new service bulletin and since I took out my tune I figured I would upgrade it. Just had a few questions though with the upgrade:


-When it says I can change maps on the fly, does this mean while stopped, driving or if the car is started?
-What is CANbus based integrated boost control system?
-My current setup is BMS Dual Cones and thinking about downpipes, so map 1 or 2? Maybe 5?
-I found some info on the autotuning menu (map 5) what exactly is it?

Sorry if these are posted some where but I couldn't find them.

Thanks!
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
Bobbybmw22
JB4, BMS intake
 
Drives: White BMW 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Millstone

Posts: 231
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i Pal View Post
I am a current JB3 user and my car just got its turbos replaced by the new service bulletin and since I took out my tune I figured I would upgrade it. Just had a few questions though with the upgrade:


-When it says I can change maps on the fly, does this mean while stopped, driving or if the car is started?
-What is CANbus based integrated boost control system?
-My current setup is BMS Dual Cones and thinking about downpipes, so map 1 or 2? Maybe 5?
-I found some info on the autotuning menu (map 5) what exactly is it?

Sorry if these are posted some where but I couldn't find them.
The turbos were warrantied from BMW? Can i do that?
Thanks!
The turbos were warrantied from BMW? Can i do that?
Bobbybmw22 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:33 AM   #3
StevenY.
///M
 
StevenY.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 10' SG e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,670
iTrader: (1)

You can change maps while the car is on and you're driving and if you get cat less downpipes with your dci and you can run map 2. Map 5 is auto tuning and the system will tune to settings that work for your specific conditions ie: mods, fuel. Also forgot to say, map 0 is stock tune, map 1 is meant for most people with stock or with a dci and also I think you can run map 2 with dci and octane 93 only but you need to run a log and send them to Terry to see if it is running okay.
__________________
10' Space Grey e92 335i
StevenY. is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:44 AM   #4
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobbybmw22 View Post
The turbos were warrantied from BMW? Can i do that?

Yup, read here:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=729833
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:46 AM   #5
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenY. View Post
You can change maps while the car is on and you're driving and if you get cat less downpipes with your dci and you can run map 2. Map 5 is auto tuning and the system will tune to settings that work for your specific conditions ie: mods, fuel. Also forgot to say, map 0 is stock tune, map 1 is meant for most people with stock or with a dci and also I think you can run map 2 with dci and octane 93 only but you need to run a log and send them to Terry to see if it is running okay.

Awesome, thanks for the response I am excited to get my JB4 upgrade back, just hope when they upgrade it, it is the current G5. And sounds like I should have bought the cable with it as well, to run a log.
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:49 AM   #6
StevenY.
///M
 
StevenY.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 10' SG e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,670
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i Pal
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenY. View Post
You can change maps while the car is on and you're driving and if you get cat less downpipes with your dci and you can run map 2. Map 5 is auto tuning and the system will tune to settings that work for your specific conditions ie: mods, fuel. Also forgot to say, map 0 is stock tune, map 1 is meant for most people with stock or with a dci and also I think you can run map 2 with dci and octane 93 only but you need to run a log and send them to Terry to see if it is running okay.

Awesome, thanks for the response I am excited to get my JB4 upgrade back, just hope when they upgrade it, it is the current G5. And sounds like I should have bought the cable with it as well, to run a log.
Yeah, getting the USB is probably a good idea. Sorry I couldn't answer your other questions, I don't want to mislead you so I only answered what I could.
__________________
10' Space Grey e92 335i
StevenY. is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:51 AM   #7
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

One other question too, I see how to get into the menu (up channel and down volume) and how to navigate. But how do you lock it in? I read that excel sheet over from the N54 site, but nothing was clear on how to lock in the feature I wanted.
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:57 AM   #8
StevenY.
///M
 
StevenY.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 10' SG e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,670
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i Pal
One other question too, I see how to get into the menu (up channel and down volume) and how to navigate. But how do you lock it in? I read that excel sheet over from the N54 site, but nothing was clear on how to lock in the feature I wanted.
Maybe this will help.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDjD4OcDIGU&feature=youtube_gdata_player
__________________
10' Space Grey e92 335i
StevenY. is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 07:59 AM   #9
WilliamS
GoofBall
 
Drives: 2008 E92 N54 Xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 820
iTrader: (1)

Once your in the menus, the volume up and down will go through the menus 1-7 using the speedo, the track up and down will be your selection on the tach. So for example if your looking at the chart. So when your in the menus, volume up to 40 miles per hour, then track up to 6000 rpms will disable TPMS. Then you use the volume down button until the gauges kick back to normal. Easy as pie. You can do it will cruising although probably not the safest time.
WilliamS is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 08:16 AM   #10
e92oholic
Banned
 
Drives: 2013 MINI JCW GP
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Buffalo NY

Posts: 854
iTrader: (6)

I have a jb4 box only that im selling. i believe you can just swap it out and use your old harness.

And you would want to use map 5. With all the new updates map 5 is awesome.

Last edited by e92oholic; 10-25-2012 at 08:30 AM.
e92oholic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 11:55 AM   #11
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenY. View Post
Maybe this will help.
Thanks again, now I can't wait to get it!
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 11:56 AM   #12
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e60oholic View Post
I have a jb4 box only that im selling. i believe you can just swap it out and use your old harness.

And you would want to use map 5. With all the new updates map 5 is awesome.
I looked on the burger tuning site and you have to do some wiring harness modification, thats why I sent mine in for them to do it. Well worth the extra $25.

And thanks will definitely have to look into Map 5.
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 11:58 AM   #13
Exzackt
Second Lieutenant
 
Exzackt's Avatar
 
Drives: n54 e92 335i/e39 540i6
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SF Bay

Posts: 256
iTrader: (2)

You should also look into using the new jb4 G5 board using ISO boost. AMAZING
__________________
2007 BSM 335i ZSP/ZPP l JB4 G5 ISO l E85 l BMS FLASH l METH l DCI l DPs l Twin BOVs l
Scoops l 18" Forgestar F14sl Koni Yellows l Swift Spec-R l GForce Rivals/Slicks l Quaife LSD
Exzackt is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 12:05 PM   #14
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exzackt View Post
You should also look into using the new jb4 G5 board using ISO boost. AMAZING
Well I asked Terry if I was in fact getting the G5 board and now you have peeked my interest, what is ISO boost?
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 02:45 PM   #15
StevenY.
///M
 
StevenY.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 10' SG e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,670
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i Pal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exzackt View Post
You should also look into using the new jb4 G5 board using ISO boost. AMAZING
Well I asked Terry if I was in fact getting the G5 board and now you have peeked my interest, what is ISO boost?
Yeah, I'd like to know too. From the brief impressions I've read it supposedly makes the boost more smooth?
__________________
10' Space Grey e92 335i
StevenY. is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 08:25 PM   #16
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Bagelfast's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 1,537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenY. View Post
Yeah, I'd like to know too. From the brief impressions I've read it supposedly makes the boost more smooth?

Its isolated boost control... compared to integrated of the Normal JB4 G4

Per Mike
"it removes all boost control from the DME allowing the JB4 to run the show completely. Which allows it to provide stronger, smoother, and more consistent boost control"

Also has no boost ceiling.. As compared to the G4 board, 15ohm is capped if i remember at 17. And larger fueling resistors if i remember correctly.

G5 iso also has a completely new revised lagfix, which gets rid of wasgate rattle better, reduces lag.
Basically works as a function of 0 ( wastegate fully open) 100(wasgate fully closed. And then the settings in betwee, Default is 80 on the G5 iso.
Bagelfast is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 12:27 PM   #17
335i Pal
Second Lieutenant
 
335i Pal's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 284
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1LUMI View Post

Also has no boost ceiling.. As compared to the G4 board, 15ohm is capped if i remember at 17. And larger fueling resistors if i remember correctly.

G5 iso also has a completely new revised lagfix, which gets rid of wasgate rattle better, reduces lag.
Basically works as a function of 0 ( wastegate fully open) 100(wasgate fully closed. And then the settings in betwee, Default is 80 on the G5 iso.
So I think I understand now, but does the G5 board have all the above even if its not isolated?
__________________
335i E90 | BMS DCI | Black Matte Grill | JB4 | Logic 7 | Sport | Premium | Cold |
335i Pal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 02:05 PM   #18
AndyR83
Major
 
AndyR83's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

Posts: 1,025
iTrader: (5)

Is the product with the G5 board still named JB4? I got mine maybe two months ago, were they using it then?
AndyR83 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 03:00 PM   #19
E90_boostjunky
Lieutenant Colonel
 
E90_boostjunky's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335I E90 SGM
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA, IL

Posts: 1,621
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
Is the product with the G5 board still named JB4? I got mine maybe two months ago, were they using it then?
also wondering..? if i buy a new Jb4 say today will it already have G5 board programmed in it?
E90_boostjunky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 05:38 PM   #20
StevenY.
///M
 
StevenY.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 10' SG e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,670
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90_boostjunky
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
Is the product with the G5 board still named JB4? I got mine maybe two months ago, were they using it then?
also wondering..? if i buy a new Jb4 say today will it already have G5 board programmed in it?
I believe the g5 board is an extra $120, please correct me if I am mistaken.
__________________
10' Space Grey e92 335i
StevenY. is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 07:31 PM   #21
Exzackt
Second Lieutenant
 
Exzackt's Avatar
 
Drives: n54 e92 335i/e39 540i6
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SF Bay

Posts: 256
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90_boostjunky View Post
also wondering..? if i buy a new Jb4 say today will it already have G5 board programmed in it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
Is the product with the G5 board still named JB4? I got mine maybe two months ago, were they using it then?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i Pal View Post
So I think I understand now, but does the G5 board have all the above even if its not isolated?
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenY. View Post
Yeah, I'd like to know too. From the brief impressions I've read it supposedly makes the boost more smooth?
Ask Mike@n54tuning.com for more info how to order. I love the isolated boost and urge people to get it. Well worth the price.

"ISO is a new JB4 G5 board feature that BMS has been developing for the last couple of months. Lots of info on their forum along with the test software. In a nut shell, it removes all boost control from the DME allowing the JB4 to run the show completely. Which allows it to provide stronger, smoother, and more consistent boost control. It was originally designed for large single and twin turbo cars but it's been working so well with stock turbos I think it won't be long before ISO completely replaces the existing integrated control system in new G5 firmwares."

Also important to note that the isolated firmware is free.
__________________
2007 BSM 335i ZSP/ZPP l JB4 G5 ISO l E85 l BMS FLASH l METH l DCI l DPs l Twin BOVs l
Scoops l 18" Forgestar F14sl Koni Yellows l Swift Spec-R l GForce Rivals/Slicks l Quaife LSD

Last edited by Exzackt; 10-27-2012 at 11:46 AM.
Exzackt is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 08:31 AM   #22
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Bagelfast's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 1,537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i Pal View Post
So I think I understand now, but does the G5 board have all the above even if its not isolated?
The G5 will have everything of the above, except the new lagfix and of course the isolated boost which is the big part.
Also the G5 iso or not, you can get the Speed limiter defeat for 10 bucks. 2 wires that connect to the harness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
Is the product with the G5 board still named JB4? I got mine maybe two months ago, were they using it then?
Yea, still the Jb4, they are selling all JB4's currently with the G5 when bought new, i think 2 months ago, they were shipping G4 with 15ohm new..
Contact Terry or go on the other site to find out exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90_boostjunky View Post
also wondering..? if i buy a new Jb4 say today will it already have G5 board programmed in it?
If you buy new today, you will get the G5 board, not the G4 board anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenY. View Post
I believe the g5 board is an extra $120, please correct me if I am mistaken.
150$ to get the G5 board alone and 10 bucks for speed limiter defeat wires add on.

If bought new the JB4 now comes with the G5.
Bagelfast is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST