E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Fuel pump error after LPFP Install



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-03-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Fuel pump error after LPFP Install

So I installed the Vishnu LPFP a few weeks ago in preparation of my FBO, procede v3, and full e85.

Only mod installed right now is DCI and LPFP.

Ever since I installed the pump I get a fuel pump error on my I drive. I haven't got any check engine lights or anything yet. Just the control message on my I drive. Anybody know how to get rid of it?

It's odd because it goes away after everytime I shut my car off. As soon as I start it I don't have the error till I drive for about 10 sec.

TwinE92AW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 12:01 PM   #2
blisstik
Major
 
blisstik's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

Posts: 1,302
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Maybe one of the lines get linked from time to time.
__________________
blisstik is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 12:04 PM   #3
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blisstik View Post
Maybe one of the lines get linked from time to time.
The car seems to run fine. Granted I don't take it to redline a lot but.
TwinE92AW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 12:26 PM   #4
PR3CI5N
need4speed
 
PR3CI5N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast

Posts: 1,159
iTrader: (15)

Why would you upgrade your LPFP when you're not even running a tune or E-85?
__________________
N54
PR3CI5N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 12:29 PM   #5
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PR3CI5N View Post
Why would you upgrade your LPFP when you're not even running a tune or E-85?
Because I'll be running a rev 3 and full e85 soon. I wanted to have my supporting mods in place first
TwinE92AW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 12:31 PM   #6
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 272
iTrader: (0)

I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 12:55 PM   #7
jyeah
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 182
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
That's not entirely correct. I have the LPFP from Vishnu also, but never saw any codes.

I think you should check to make sure your install was done correctly.
jyeah is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 02:50 PM   #8
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
I thought about that. The thing is. The whole bucket assembly, all the connections, vishnu pump etc. were in a single turbo car. We took everything out as a whole and dropped it in this car.

The other car was flashed etc. So thats what gave me the idea.
TwinE92AW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 02:59 PM   #9
Dmacc
Colonel
 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 2,618
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinE92AW
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
I thought about that. The thing is. The whole bucket assembly, all the connections, vishnu pump etc. were in a single turbo car. We took everything out as a whole and dropped it in this car.

The other car was flashed etc. So thats what gave me the idea.
The flash! It is possible you'll get that code with the fuel pump in. I get it every now and then when my car is running stock with the lpfp. The flexfuel flash, for Vishnu at least, has those codes disabled so they don't pop up.
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Dmacc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 03:02 PM   #10
JMARS
Not Baned
 
Drives: Single-T WTCC e90
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Posts: 1,162
iTrader: (5)

Nope it should work just as is. Maybe there are slight differences on 07 cars verses +09 cars...
JMARS is offline   Brazil
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #11
JMARS
Not Baned
 
Drives: Single-T WTCC e90
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Posts: 1,162
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmacc View Post
The flash! It is possible you'll get that code with the fuel pump in. I get it every now and then when my car is running stock with the lpfp. The flexfuel flash, for Vishnu at least, has those codes disabled so they don't pop up.
There you go :-)

Thanks for the chime in Dmacc!
JMARS is offline   Brazil
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 03:08 PM   #12
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

Posts: 297
iTrader: (1)

Funny you posted this, I am getting the same exact thing happening.

No DME codes and car runs great. Inpa shows 6293 Electronic fuel pump motor: current too high.

It is not coded out with the Vishnu software I am running.
__________________
..
chirp-1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 03:10 PM   #13
Dmacc
Colonel
 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 2,618
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chirp-1
Funny you posted this, I am getting the same exact thing happening.

No DME codes and car runs great. Inpa shows 6293 Electronic fuel pump motor: current too high.

It is not coded out with the Vishnu software I am running.
I had this code too a while ago, overtime it went away, but I believe it has to do with the extra current being drawn from the new pump in there.
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Dmacc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 03:21 PM   #14
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

Posts: 297
iTrader: (1)

I am trying to find out the wert values in EKP. Maybe the limits can be changed to get rid of the code.
__________________
..

Last edited by chirp-1; 10-03-2013 at 06:13 PM.
chirp-1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 03:59 PM   #15
R.G.
Lieutenant
 
R.G.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: In my sub conscious

Posts: 579
iTrader: (7)

Ok. I had this exact same problem. You need to reset the ECU. Couldn't do it with Cobb as all parameters aren't reset. I disconnected one of my battery terminals for a good 3 hours and it went away.
__________________
Cobb*FSR E40 Pro tune*Dinan IC*Dinan CAI*Dinan Strut Tower*Dinan camber plates*Dinan control arm bushings*MS Catless*ER Chargepipe*Tial BOV*Custom dual 2.5" exhaust w/Vibrant race mid cats & resonaters*Vishnu Walbro 455 Inline kit*BMS OCC*Alpina Trans flash*Misc coding*RB PCV*Megan racing toe arms*M3 subframe bushings*Carbon vented hood*Carbon trunk*Carbon grills*DD rear bumper*Race valances*Vorsteiner carbon front lip*M3 Steering wheel w/DCT paddles*M3 Guages*M3 Side Skirts*Carbon side splitters*Volk RE30s
R.G. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 04:05 PM   #16
3000GT MR
Captain
 
3000GT MR's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

Posts: 897
iTrader: (1)

You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
__________________
335i 2009 665RWHP
Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+
.
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP
Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
3000GT MR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 04:05 PM   #17
3000GT MR
Captain
 
3000GT MR's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

Posts: 897
iTrader: (1)

You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
__________________
335i 2009 665RWHP
Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+
.
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP
Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
3000GT MR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 06:14 PM   #18
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

Posts: 297
iTrader: (1)

Had my battery unhooked for over 6 hrs already. Did not fix the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.G. View Post
Ok. I had this exact same problem. You need to reset the ECU. Couldn't do it with Cobb as all parameters aren't reset. I disconnected one of my battery terminals for a good 3 hours and it went away.
__________________
..
chirp-1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 06:15 PM   #19
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

Posts: 297
iTrader: (1)

I don't think raising the fuel scaler will fix this issue. This is an issue caused by the amount of current being drawn out of the specified limits the car looks for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
__________________
..
chirp-1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 06:17 PM   #20
R.G.
Lieutenant
 
R.G.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: In my sub conscious

Posts: 579
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chirp-1
Had my battery unhooked for over 6 hrs already. Did not fix the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.G. View Post
Ok. I had this exact same problem. You need to reset the ECU. Couldn't do it with Cobb as all parameters aren't reset. I disconnected one of my battery terminals for a good 3 hours and it went away.
Try what 3000 suggested and also try re flashing your tune. Let us know if still no luck after that.
__________________
Cobb*FSR E40 Pro tune*Dinan IC*Dinan CAI*Dinan Strut Tower*Dinan camber plates*Dinan control arm bushings*MS Catless*ER Chargepipe*Tial BOV*Custom dual 2.5" exhaust w/Vibrant race mid cats & resonaters*Vishnu Walbro 455 Inline kit*BMS OCC*Alpina Trans flash*Misc coding*RB PCV*Megan racing toe arms*M3 subframe bushings*Carbon vented hood*Carbon trunk*Carbon grills*DD rear bumper*Race valances*Vorsteiner carbon front lip*M3 Steering wheel w/DCT paddles*M3 Guages*M3 Side Skirts*Carbon side splitters*Volk RE30s
R.G. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2013, 09:07 PM   #21
3000GT MR
Captain
 
3000GT MR's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

Posts: 897
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chirp-1
I don't think raising the fuel scaler will fix this issue. This is an issue caused by the amount of current being drawn out of the specified limits the car looks for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
Worked for me.
__________________
335i 2009 665RWHP
Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+
.
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP
Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
3000GT MR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST