E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Fuel pump error after LPFP Install



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-03-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Fuel pump error after LPFP Install

So I installed the Vishnu LPFP a few weeks ago in preparation of my FBO, procede v3, and full e85.

Only mod installed right now is DCI and LPFP.

Ever since I installed the pump I get a fuel pump error on my I drive. I haven't got any check engine lights or anything yet. Just the control message on my I drive. Anybody know how to get rid of it?

It's odd because it goes away after everytime I shut my car off. As soon as I start it I don't have the error till I drive for about 10 sec.

Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 12:01 PM   #2
blisstik
Major
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
21
Rep
1,335
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Maybe one of the lines get linked from time to time.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 12:04 PM   #3
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blisstik View Post
Maybe one of the lines get linked from time to time.
The car seems to run fine. Granted I don't take it to redline a lot but.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 12:26 PM   #4
PR3CI5N
need4speed
PR3CI5N's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
1,235
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast

iTrader: (15)

Why would you upgrade your LPFP when you're not even running a tune or E-85?
__________________
N54
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 12:29 PM   #5
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PR3CI5N View Post
Why would you upgrade your LPFP when you're not even running a tune or E-85?
Because I'll be running a rev 3 and full e85 soon. I wanted to have my supporting mods in place first
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 12:31 PM   #6
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
pinky_and_me's Avatar
5
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (0)

I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 12:55 PM   #7
jyeah
Private First Class
2
Rep
196
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
That's not entirely correct. I have the LPFP from Vishnu also, but never saw any codes.

I think you should check to make sure your install was done correctly.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 02:50 PM   #8
TwinE92AW
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

 
Drives: 07 AW e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
I thought about that. The thing is. The whole bucket assembly, all the connections, vishnu pump etc. were in a single turbo car. We took everything out as a whole and dropped it in this car.

The other car was flashed etc. So thats what gave me the idea.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 02:59 PM   #9
Dmacc
Colonel
57
Rep
2,652
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinE92AW
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
I think you need a flash to disable the code or a piggy to clean it up so you don't see it. I believe the code is expected due to the increased fuel flow or voltage draw or both.
I thought about that. The thing is. The whole bucket assembly, all the connections, vishnu pump etc. were in a single turbo car. We took everything out as a whole and dropped it in this car.

The other car was flashed etc. So thats what gave me the idea.
The flash! It is possible you'll get that code with the fuel pump in. I get it every now and then when my car is running stock with the lpfp. The flexfuel flash, for Vishnu at least, has those codes disabled so they don't pop up.
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 03:02 PM   #10
JMARS
Not Baned
Brazil
21
Rep
1,287
Posts

 
Drives: Single-T WTCC e90
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (5)

Nope it should work just as is. Maybe there are slight differences on 07 cars verses +09 cars...
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #11
JMARS
Not Baned
Brazil
21
Rep
1,287
Posts

 
Drives: Single-T WTCC e90
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmacc View Post
The flash! It is possible you'll get that code with the fuel pump in. I get it every now and then when my car is running stock with the lpfp. The flexfuel flash, for Vishnu at least, has those codes disabled so they don't pop up.
There you go :-)

Thanks for the chime in Dmacc!
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 03:08 PM   #12
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
297
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

iTrader: (1)

Funny you posted this, I am getting the same exact thing happening.

No DME codes and car runs great. Inpa shows 6293 Electronic fuel pump motor: current too high.

It is not coded out with the Vishnu software I am running.
__________________
..
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 03:10 PM   #13
Dmacc
Colonel
57
Rep
2,652
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chirp-1
Funny you posted this, I am getting the same exact thing happening.

No DME codes and car runs great. Inpa shows 6293 Electronic fuel pump motor: current too high.

It is not coded out with the Vishnu software I am running.
I had this code too a while ago, overtime it went away, but I believe it has to do with the extra current being drawn from the new pump in there.
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 03:21 PM   #14
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
297
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

iTrader: (1)

I am trying to find out the wert values in EKP. Maybe the limits can be changed to get rid of the code.
__________________
..

Last edited by chirp-1; 10-03-2013 at 06:13 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 03:59 PM   #15
R.G.
Lieutenant
R.G.'s Avatar
6
Rep
588
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: In my sub conscious

iTrader: (9)

Ok. I had this exact same problem. You need to reset the ECU. Couldn't do it with Cobb as all parameters aren't reset. I disconnected one of my battery terminals for a good 3 hours and it went away.
__________________
Cobb*FSR E40 Pro tune*Dinan IC*Dinan CAI*Dinan Strut Tower*Dinan camber plates*Dinan control arm bushings*MS Catless*ER Chargepipe*Tial BOV*Custom dual 2.5" exhaust w/Vibrant race mid cats & resonaters*Vishnu Walbro 455 Inline kit*BMS OCC*Alpina Trans flash*Misc coding*RB PCV*Megan racing toe arms*M3 subframe bushings*Carbon vented hood*Carbon trunk*Carbon grills*DD rear bumper*Race valances*Vorsteiner carbon front lip*M3 Steering wheel w/DCT paddles*M3 Guages*M3 Side Skirts*Carbon side splitters*Volk RE30s
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 04:05 PM   #16
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,028
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (1)

You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: In the works. Having a little Deja Vu
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+ RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 04:05 PM   #17
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,028
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (1)

You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: In the works. Having a little Deja Vu
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+ RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 06:14 PM   #18
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
297
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

iTrader: (1)

Had my battery unhooked for over 6 hrs already. Did not fix the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.G. View Post
Ok. I had this exact same problem. You need to reset the ECU. Couldn't do it with Cobb as all parameters aren't reset. I disconnected one of my battery terminals for a good 3 hours and it went away.
__________________
..
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 06:15 PM   #19
chirp-1
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
297
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 911 SC
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ABQ, NM

iTrader: (1)

I don't think raising the fuel scaler will fix this issue. This is an issue caused by the amount of current being drawn out of the specified limits the car looks for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
__________________
..
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 06:17 PM   #20
R.G.
Lieutenant
R.G.'s Avatar
6
Rep
588
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: In my sub conscious

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chirp-1
Had my battery unhooked for over 6 hrs already. Did not fix the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.G. View Post
Ok. I had this exact same problem. You need to reset the ECU. Couldn't do it with Cobb as all parameters aren't reset. I disconnected one of my battery terminals for a good 3 hours and it went away.
Try what 3000 suggested and also try re flashing your tune. Let us know if still no luck after that.
__________________
Cobb*FSR E40 Pro tune*Dinan IC*Dinan CAI*Dinan Strut Tower*Dinan camber plates*Dinan control arm bushings*MS Catless*ER Chargepipe*Tial BOV*Custom dual 2.5" exhaust w/Vibrant race mid cats & resonaters*Vishnu Walbro 455 Inline kit*BMS OCC*Alpina Trans flash*Misc coding*RB PCV*Megan racing toe arms*M3 subframe bushings*Carbon vented hood*Carbon trunk*Carbon grills*DD rear bumper*Race valances*Vorsteiner carbon front lip*M3 Steering wheel w/DCT paddles*M3 Guages*M3 Side Skirts*Carbon side splitters*Volk RE30s
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 09:07 PM   #21
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,028
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chirp-1
I don't think raising the fuel scaler will fix this issue. This is an issue caused by the amount of current being drawn out of the specified limits the car looks for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
You just need to increase your fuel scaler (try 1.15-1.20) if you have a OFT or cobb. It's just seeing higher than normal current. No big deal. Ignore it if you can't move the scaler
Worked for me.
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: In the works. Having a little Deja Vu
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+ RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST