E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Flex Fuel Users/E85 Users Need Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-21-2013, 10:09 PM   #23
Wedge1967
Banned
 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,173
iTrader: (3)

You need to check the firmware on your Rev3. The flex wire ties into the channel that was used for the speed sensor if I'm not mistaken. The new flex firmware should provide a signal to the DME to keep that code from showing up and it will use that channel to display Ethanol content in the PROcede logs.
Wedge1967 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2013, 10:57 PM   #24
KaiserN54
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335I
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turbotown

Posts: 332
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedge1967 View Post
You need to check the firmware on your Rev3. The flex wire ties into the channel that was used for the speed sensor if I'm not mistaken. The new flex firmware should provide a signal to the DME to keep that code from showing up and it will use that channel to display Ethanol content in the PROcede logs.
"New" firmware? I'm running the firmware released with flex last fall. Is there something newer? Also, I do get ethanol % via debug byte 6...
KaiserN54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2013, 11:51 PM   #25
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeller View Post
Flex Fuel Users/E85 Users: What do your fuel trims/logs look like? Please read take a look:

Below are my logs since installing my Flex Fuel Kit and Procede flash from Vishnu:

1st logs are prior to me replacing my LPFP. After installing the flex fuel kit, adding in some E85 (flex fuel sensor is reading about 63% ethanol now) and going out to do some highway pulls, my car would cut out during a WOT pull. Figured the car has 54K miles on it and the LPFP is getting weak and should be replaced, as recommended by Vishnu also. Fuel trims were maxing out at points and the car would cut out/sputter when trying to do a 3rd gear pull, the exhaust would sound like a farting sound with hardly any power, then after a bit of light cruising, the car or fuel pump would then catch back up and smooth out. Also noticed that my live AFR readings would lock and not read until the car smoothed out either…

Here are the logs from then:




I since have replaced the LPFP with a new one and the car no longer cuts out when doing a 3rd-4th -5th gear pull, that’s much better. It feels pretty good actually, my concern is that my fuel trims are still not that much lower, they are still a bit higher than I would have expected them to be but still are/close to maxing out again. Temps up here are pretty cold at night, about 30 degrees outside when doing these highway pulls, so it may be really working the stock fuel system possibly too…

Both of these logs below are of the car with new LPFP installed:



And another log from tonight:



Anyone have any thoughts or comparisons on the flex fuel kit and what your current fuel trims are like etc…?

I know it may be time for an upgraded LPFP/booster pump also when one becomes available, but also curious if there is anything else that may be wrong/lacking other than the LPFP that I should address.

Thanks in advance

Jeller
If you're not running the inline booster pump, that's the problem. With even a brand new factory pump, the strongest e85 mix you can run is 50/50. You are running something much stronger than that. Hence you high fuel trims.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 12:31 AM   #26
Wedge1967
Banned
 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,173
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaiserN54 View Post
"New" firmware? I'm running the firmware released with flex last fall. Is there something newer? Also, I do get ethanol % via debug byte 6...
I have a friend that just did the Walbro inline upgrade. But he's not flashed yet and only running 30%. Good luck. LPFP upgrade is a PITA....
Wedge1967 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 01:09 AM   #27
07tundra
Major
 
Drives: TUNDRA
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Mexico

Posts: 1,101
iTrader: (9)

lpfp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedge1967 View Post
I have a friend that just did the Walbro inline upgrade. But he's not flashed yet and only running 30%. Good luck. LPFP upgrade is a PITA....
Stop scaring him!...lol
07tundra is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 06:49 AM   #28
Jeller
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 ZSP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Buffalo NY

Posts: 497
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via AIM to Jeller
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
If you're not running the inline booster pump, that's the problem. With even a brand new factory pump, the strongest e85 mix you can run is 50/50. You are running something much stronger than that. Hence you high fuel trims.
I have since upgraded the pump (thread is from 2012 when I first had issues). Been running 100% e85 since and actually have AFR's on the rich side. We have communicated since this original post and everything is running well. Thx.
Jeller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 06:56 AM   #29
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeller View Post
I have since upgraded the pump (thread is from 2012 when I first had issues). Been running 100% e85 since and actually have AFR's on the rich side. We have communicated since this original post and everything is running well. Thx.
Oh ok... Good
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 08:56 AM   #30
KaiserN54
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335I
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turbotown

Posts: 332
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
If you're not running the inline booster pump, that's the problem. With even a brand new factory pump, the strongest e85 mix you can run is 50/50. You are running something much stronger than that. Hence you high fuel trims.
I revived this thread solely wanting to know about error code CD97- (52631). Do you know anything about that? I asked here b/c Jeller had the same code last fall and I thought that maybe he had figured it out.

As for the booster pump, this contradicts what Robert@Vishnu has told me about my own flex-fuel + flash (but no booster) car. I have sent in some recent logs running 60% E85 and Robert has replied "you have plenty of fuel- you can as high as 70-30 or 80-20" before I will need a booster.(based on my logs) I know every car is different, so why is it that I can run more than 50% without a booster?
KaiserN54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 09:28 AM   #31
Wedge1967
Banned
 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,173
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07tundra View Post
Stop scaring him!...lol

My buddy also didn't get the ring on good. Took it to fill and gas started pouring out of the car. LOL

haha, you know what I'm talking about.
Wedge1967 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 09:30 AM   #32
Wedge1967
Banned
 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,173
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeller View Post
I have since upgraded the pump (thread is from 2012 when I first had issues). Been running 100% e85 since and actually have AFR's on the rich side. We have communicated since this original post and everything is running well. Thx.

Oh, nice.. Love 100% e85... Should lean it out a bit. Car will pull harder at 13.5:1.
Wedge1967 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 03:08 PM   #33
KaiserN54
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335I
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turbotown

Posts: 332
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedge1967 View Post
You need to check the firmware on your Rev3. The flex wire ties into the channel that was used for the speed sensor if I'm not mistaken. The new flex firmware should provide a signal to the DME to keep that code from showing up and it will use that channel to display Ethanol content in the PROcede logs.
Are you familiar with the CD97 error code? That the only reason I revived this thread. Shiv hasn't responded...
KaiserN54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 08:02 PM   #34
Wedge1967
Banned
 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,173
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaiserN54 View Post
Are you familiar with the CD97 error code? That the only reason I revived this thread. Shiv hasn't responded...
Well, not really, but after doing some searching this is what I found.

CD97 message (torque requirement AFS active front steering, B9) - Sounds like you have an issue with your steering and more than likely has nothing to do with PROcede. Unfortunately for you, if you have an issue with your AFS rack, you're looking at over 2Gs to replace unless you go salvaged and then your looking around $500.

Wedge1967 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 08:02 PM   #35
07tundra
Major
 
Drives: TUNDRA
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Mexico

Posts: 1,101
iTrader: (9)

pump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedge1967 View Post
Oh, nice.. Love 100% e85... Should lean it out a bit. Car will pull harder at 13.5:1.
Mine didnt leak but I ran into other stuff!

Yeah Yeah I quoted the wrong one!...lol
07tundra is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 09:27 PM   #36
Jeller
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 ZSP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Buffalo NY

Posts: 497
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via AIM to Jeller
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaiserN54 View Post
Are you familiar with the CD97 error code? That the only reason I revived this thread. Shiv hasn't responded...
I have not done anything about the code as I don't have active steering, so I assumed this was an issue with the procede/flexfuel or possibly flash. I have not had any issues otherwise. It's just there when I have the user software running on the laptop that's all.

My friend that is a tech told me not to worry about it since I don't have active steering.

Jeller
Jeller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 10:54 PM   #37
KaiserN54
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335I
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turbotown

Posts: 332
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeller View Post
I have not done anything about the code as I don't have active steering, so I assumed this was an issue with the procede/flexfuel or possibly flash. I have not had any issues otherwise. It's just there when I have the user software running on the laptop that's all.

My friend that is a tech told me not to worry about it since I don't have active steering.

Jeller
Same here. I don't have AFS, so its weird to have this code.
KaiserN54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2013, 10:56 PM   #38
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

+1
Haven't ever seem it myself. Doesn't seem like anything to worry about though.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST