E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > LCI Rear Lights Retrofit Problem!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-14-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
singh21
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: luton

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

LCI Rear Lights Retrofit Problem!

I have tried fitting the 4 rear LCI lights with the harnesses but nothing came on..no lights at all on any of them. Im sure they should work but flicker which coding fixes, but i dont even have that

What could be the problem? I have a 2007 e93.

I know alot of people had done this and i hope someone has come across this!
singh21 is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 06:22 PM   #2
Hotcoupe
Major General
 
Hotcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 6,098
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by singh21 View Post
I have tried fitting the 4 rear LCI lights with the harnesses but nothing came on..no lights at all on any of them. Im sure they should work but flicker which coding fixes, but i dont even have that

What could be the problem? I have a 2007 e93.

I know alot of people had done this and i hope someone has come across this!
I'm not sure whether I'm reading your post correctly,but in case I haven't,it's only the two outer lights,the ones with the indicators that need harnesses,the wiring for the boot lights is the same for pre LCI - LCI.

Do you not get any audible/visual warnings when you turn the LCI lights on?
__________________
=================================


Never argue with an idiot on the internet. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Hotcoupe is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 06:37 PM   #3
singh21
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: luton

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

Yes your right about the harness and I get the light error symbol but that's it and the gong..
singh21 is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 08:08 AM   #4
bmwak
Major
 
bmwak's Avatar
 
Drives: 325D M-Sport Coupe (E92 LCI)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London

Posts: 1,068
iTrader: (3)

Your post doesn't make it clear whether you have coded them or not.

From what you describe it seems as though you need the coding done to remove the error checking on the rear lights. As they are LED's power draw is much lower than normal bulbs. This is in turn is causing your warning gong and its killing the power to these lights as a safety feature, making you think they are not working. Coding should fix that - although if memory serves me right I think you also need the latest FRM3 module, which is your car probably won't have if its of 2007MY.
bmwak is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 09:01 AM   #5
singh21
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: luton

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwak View Post
Your post doesn't make it clear whether you have coded them or not.

From what you describe it seems as though you need the coding done to remove the error checking on the rear lights. As they are LED's power draw is much lower than normal bulbs. This is in turn is causing your warning gong and its killing the power to these lights as a safety feature, making you think they are not working. Coding should fix that - although if memory serves me right I think you also need the latest FRM3 module, which is your car probably won't have if its of 2007MY.
Sorry for my post being unclear. I have no coding.

I thought they should have at least have some light but what your saying does make sense.

Can the FRM2 not be coded or will i definatly need the FRM3 module. How much would this cost to supply and fit if you know?

I just wanted to confirm as the garage would charge me for coding and it still not work..
singh21 is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 11:17 AM   #6
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,418
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by singh21 View Post
Sorry for my post being unclear. I have no coding.

I thought they should have at least have some light but what your saying does make sense.

Can the FRM2 not be coded or will i definatly need the FRM3 module. How much would this cost to supply and fit if you know?

I just wanted to confirm as the garage would charge me for coding and it still not work..
Few things:
-Your lights should be on even without coding but you should get few errors.
If they are not, check your fuses / wires again
-You do not need FRM3 for these to work. FRM1, 2 3 all can be coded.

HTHs.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 11:39 AM   #7
singh21
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: luton

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

I will go and check the fuses and wires again tomorrow...

Thanks!
singh21 is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 12:23 PM   #8
Hotcoupe
Major General
 
Hotcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 6,098
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Few things:
-Your lights should be on even without coding but you should get few errors.
+1. The lights will work regardless of coding.

The coding disables the bulb check,which, without disabling, will continue to check the bulbs, and as the car is incapable of recognising the LEDs,the alarms,both visual and audible,will continue to occur. (7 commas - win!)
__________________
=================================


Never argue with an idiot on the internet. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Hotcoupe is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 06:09 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,418
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcoupe View Post

The coding disables the bulb check,which, without disabling, will continue to check the bulbs, and as the car is incapable of recognising the LEDs,the alarms,both visual and audible,will continue to occur.
Excellent explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcoupe View Post
(7 commas - win!)
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 03:34 PM   #10
NJ 1161
Major
 
NJ 1161's Avatar
 
Drives: 335D M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 1,057
iTrader: (0)

Hi Pav. Like I said the other day, you should definitely get something when you plug them in ( eg work but flicker/ flash double speed).

When you say you have the cables are these def the conversion cables for retro fit? I'm just thinking if the cable wrong or faulty they would do nothing. I think all retro fit cables for e9x would be the same however.

If for some reason the cables are wrong you would get nothing as the connectors wouldn't be pinned properly.

It won't be fuses as your original lights work.

As Sam said the inners are still bulbs so should work. Could you plug the outers into someone else's e90? If they still don't work afraid they is ' knackered'.
__________________
NJ 1161 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST