E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > What kind of ECU chip do I have?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-13-2012, 11:51 PM   #1
dreweezy
Private
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 83
iTrader: (2)

What kind of ECU chip do I have?

I bought a preowned 2007 335i e92 coupe recently. It's fantastic. But in the glove box, there's a USB cord that looks permanently attached running from the glove box, to inside the fuse box and maybe leading into the ECU/DME box.

Is there any way to find out which ECU chip I'm running, like a menu screen I could activate from inside the car?

I've already tried: plugging it in to my MacBook pro and nothing happened, there's no way I could contact the previous owner, and I would prefer not to go through the hassle to open the ECU/DME.

Please help!
dreweezy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2012, 11:56 PM   #2
gzim335
Lieutenant
 
gzim335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 e90n54-08 zx10r-lci328ix
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: staten island ny

Posts: 581
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007/1 e90 335i  [1.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreweezy
I bought a preowned 2007 335i e92 coupe recently. It's fantastic. But in the glove box, there's a USB cord that looks permanently attached running from the glove box, to inside the fuse box and maybe leading into the ECU/DME box.

Is there any way to find out which ECU chip I'm running, like a menu screen I could activate from inside the car?

I've already tried: plugging it in to my MacBook pro and nothing happened, there's no way I could contact the previous owner, and I would prefer not to go through the hassle to open the ECU/DME.

Please help!
look deeper the previos owner probably forgot his phone charger in there
__________________
2007/1 e90 335i jet black

jb4 g5 iso/race flash--stet cai/scoops--cpe dp's corsa race--cpe ic--aa cp/bov--meth--kw v2/stoptech bbk--m3 bits,m3 fsb,wavetrack lsd--lci conversion
gzim335 is online now   Montenegro
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 12:00 AM   #3
techwhiz
Lieutenant Colonel
 
techwhiz's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

Posts: 1,652
iTrader: (3)

What's this got to do with ECU/DME???
techwhiz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 12:04 AM   #4
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by techwhiz View Post
What's this got to do with ECU/DME???
People running piggies will usually route the USB cable through the glove box to hook it up to a laptop.

OP, just take the 10 minutes to open the DME compartment. Ohh, and it's not a "chip." I know don't know the last time i've seen an EPROM or EEPROM ecu.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 12:20 AM   #5
benzy89
Banned
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreweezy View Post
Is there any way to find out which ECU chip I'm running, like a menu screen I could activate from inside the car?
You're most likely running one of the piggy-backs. You can try the steering wheel controls, but the only way to confirm which specific tune (JB4 with G4 or G5 Board OR Procede) is to open up the DME.

You're in CA, so if you try the regional thread I'm sure one of the more experienced piggy-back users wouldn't have a problem helping you open everything up to confirm.
benzy89 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 12:55 AM   #6
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yonkers NY

Posts: 3,362
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW  [3.50]


just follow the instructions to get into the ecu box. Then see if there is a tuner connected already.
idrift4wd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 01:12 AM   #7
dreweezy
Private
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 83
iTrader: (2)

Alright, I guess I'll have to go about this the hard way. Thanks for the help guys!
dreweezy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 09:24 AM   #8
Pete Schweaty
Lieutenant
 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 595
iTrader: (0)

Try pushing down on the down arrow and minus buttons on the steering wheel at the same time (while the car is running). If your gauges move, you have a JB4. If not, you need to open up the DME box to look.
Pete Schweaty is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 10:28 AM   #9
JamesM3M5
Some dude
 
Drives: E28 M5, E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern VA

Posts: 1,751
iTrader: (0)

To check for JB4: Push the volume down and arrow down buttons on the steering wheel at the same time with the engine running or not to enter the command mode. The tachometer and speedometer needles will move to 1000RPM and 10MPH to indicate you're in command mode.

To check for Procede: Push the cruise control stalk up or down with the engine running to see what map the engine is running. Pull toward you with the engine off but ignition on to enter command mode.

If neither of these work, the JB or Procede may have been removed but the cable left in place. You will need to open the ECU box to find out.

And they're not "chips" anymore, it's more commonly referred as a "tune", whether it's a piggyback or a flash.
__________________
RRT Racing
E92 335i/6MT Dinan Stage 3: intercooler, oil cooler, intake, flash, exhaust, LW dual-mass flywheel.
Vishnu PWM methanol custom trunk mount, Diffsonline 3-clutch Salisbury custom diff, Ohlins Road and Track coilovers, Vorshlag camber plates, much more...
E28 M5 w/ buncha stuff, R171 SLK350
JamesM3M5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 11:02 AM   #10
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 17,566
iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Getting to the actual ECU compartment should not be scary.

There are about 8 8MM bolts to remove the cowl and HVAC Filter. Then 2 tabs on the ECU cover to remove it.

Then you can visually see what is going on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesM3M5 View Post
To check for JB4: Push the volume down and arrow down buttons on the steering wheel at the same time with the engine running or not to enter the command mode. The tachometer and speedometer needles will move to 1000RPM and 10MPH to indicate you're in command mode.

To check for Procede: Push the cruise control stalk up or down with the engine running to see what map the engine is running. Pull toward you with the engine off but ignition on to enter command mode.

If neither of these work, the JB or Procede may have been removed but the cable left in place. You will need to open the ECU box to find out.

And they're not "chips" anymore, it's more commonly referred as a "tune", whether it's a piggyback or a flash.
Good tips
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 11:30 AM   #11
Beemw335
Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

Posts: 2,016
iTrader: (2)

Easiest way to tell is what he said^^
For jb4: push volume and channel control down at same time to see if gauges move.
For procede push criise control up or down to see if gauges move.

For jb3: if you really dont want to access the ecu....go on youtube to learn how to switch maps with the gas pedal...you should "feel" the extra power.

Imo: open the ecu, its easy.
Beemw335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 11:36 AM   #12
TurboSid
Colonel
 
TurboSid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M4 MW/SO DCT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida

Posts: 2,199
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
dont get your hopes up.

On my old 335i i took the tune out but didn't bother wasting time to take the guts of the ecu box out just to yank out the USB cable.
__________________


2015 MW/SO M4 M-DCT [CURRENT]
2011 AW/CR 335is DCT FBO [SOLD]
2008 AW/CR 335i 6MT FBO [SOLD]
TurboSid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 12:57 PM   #13
Beemw335
Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

Posts: 2,016
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboSid
dont get your hopes up.

On my old 335i i took the tune out but didn't bother wasting time to take the guts of the ecu box out just to yank out the USB cable.
Ohh i feel bad for the new owner.
Gets his hopes up for a free tune but all he gets is an usb cable lol
Beemw335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 01:21 PM   #14
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboSid View Post
dont get your hopes up.

On my old 335i i took the tune out but didn't bother wasting time to take the guts of the ecu box out just to yank out the USB cable.
This is what I was thinking also.

now the OP has to assume the original owner didn't/did abuse the car with the tune, if it really had/has one.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 08:35 PM   #15
dreweezy
Private
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 83
iTrader: (2)

Alright, by JamesM3M5's methods, I don't have JB4 or Procede.. I'm starting to think that the previous owner took out the tuner and left the cable like TurboSid said, damn. Looks like I'll have to open the DME up to find out for sure
dreweezy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 09:49 PM   #16
sickem
Freude am fahren
 
sickem's Avatar
 
Drives: in the fast lane
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

Posts: 1,946
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreweezy View Post
Alright, by JamesM3M5's methods, I don't have JB4 or Procede.. I'm starting to think that the previous owner took out the tuner and left the cable like TurboSid said, damn. Looks like I'll have to open the DME up to find out for sure
Too bad, was hoping you'd get a free tune out of it! Well, now you need to buy one to see what you're missing.
__________________
Cobb E40 PROtune by Jake@PTF/RR catless DPs/aFe DCI/ETS 5" FMIC/ER CP/Forge DVs/Alpina B3 TCU flash/BMW Perf. Exhaust./BMW Performance Style 313s/M-Tech Rear
sickem is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST