E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Anyone know how to connect VMware to the internet?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-23-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
N0OS3
Colonel
 
N0OS3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Posts: 2,218
iTrader: (5)

Anyone know how to connect VMware to the internet?

I need to do this in order to install the framework in order for NCSdummy to work. Part of the installation sequence is it needs to connect to the internet in order to complete the update...

Screenshots available upon request.
__________________
WTB: 3 Stage Intake Manifold and components - PM me your asking price.
N0OS3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 12:11 PM   #2
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Play with network settings in VM properties. Bridged works most of the time.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 12:23 PM   #3
N0OS3
Colonel
 
N0OS3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Posts: 2,218
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Play with network settings in VM properties. Bridged works most of the time.
i'm trying that right now. I have it set to VMnet8 (NAT) and in my Windows 7 network connections, i bridged that... i got an error saying (not exact quote) 'you may not be able to bridge VMnet8 (NAT) with N0OS3 (wireless internet connection). they may be incompatible.

The bridged connection says internet though and it's sending and receiving packets so it may just work... i'm doing the testing right now...
__________________
WTB: 3 Stage Intake Manifold and components - PM me your asking price.
N0OS3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 12:28 PM   #4
N0OS3
Colonel
 
N0OS3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Posts: 2,218
iTrader: (5)

As you can see from the attachment, it still won't connect... is there something in the network setting i need to do?

If anyone wants to use team viewer to mess around with it, let me know... we'll get it set up
Attached Images
 
__________________
WTB: 3 Stage Intake Manifold and components - PM me your asking price.
N0OS3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 12:58 PM   #5
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

If .net is all you need google for "standalone" installer and then just transfer it over through shared folders.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N0OS3 View Post
i'm trying that right now. I have it set to VMnet8 (NAT) and in my Windows 7 network connections, i bridged that... i got an error saying (not exact quote) 'you may not be able to bridge VMnet8 (NAT) with N0OS3 (wireless internet connection). they may be incompatible.

The bridged connection says internet though and it's sending and receiving packets so it may just work... i'm doing the testing right now...
Wait what, you're bridging connections in host?? Don't do that. Leave host connections alone.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 01:25 PM   #7
N0OS3
Colonel
 
N0OS3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Posts: 2,218
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Wait what, you're bridging connections in host?? Don't do that. Leave host connections alone.
okay... so i undid that, but still doesn't want to connect using VMnet8 or VMnet0 (default bridge connection)
__________________
WTB: 3 Stage Intake Manifold and components - PM me your asking price.
N0OS3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 03:28 PM   #8
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 272
iTrader: (0)

New VMs are setup to connect to the Internet by default so unless you messed something up during the VM creation or after then it might be a firewall issue.
Disable the host Windows firewall for a bit and see if you can connect.
I assume you tried to open IE in the guest and open a website? If that works then there is some other issue somewhere else.
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 04:20 PM   #9
N0OS3
Colonel
 
N0OS3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Posts: 2,218
iTrader: (5)

nvm all this... had cn555ic send me a link to a full working configuration. Everything looks good to go now.
__________________
WTB: 3 Stage Intake Manifold and components - PM me your asking price.
N0OS3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST