E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > 2013 new nav updates for early CIC



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #1
N8N
Major
 
N8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

Posts: 1,443
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
2013 new nav updates for early CIC

My understanding is that my car is one of the very first equipped with CIC - 9/2008 build. I got an email this AM that Tischer was having a "free shipping" sale so I logged on and figured I would go ahead and order my nav updates (I desperately need them; my car has never been updated since new.)

When I went to make my selection, I saw the following footnote:

*CIC equipped vehicles up to 9/2009 require FSC Code + a visit to your local BMW dealership for media upload. (code will be emailed, and shipping charge will be removed)
**CIC equipped vehicles from 9/2009 and on include the USB media kit + FSC Code (code will be emailed). No trip to the local dealership is required.

This is new to me, I ASSumed that all I had to do was install the media, input the FSC code, and either let it run while on a power supply or go for a
drive so the battery didn't go dead while the update was progressing. Is the above true? If it makes any difference my car just got all updates from the dealer on Wed. AM as I had it there to have my satellite tuner and factory alarm coded in.

I really wanted to pull the trigger on this today so I didn't have to drive up to SS to pick up my updates, and I'm also a little annoyed that I didn't know this before (although it's certainly not Tischer's fault) as had I known I would have either made an appt. at Tischer to have my coding and map updates done at the same time, or else would have held off and had both done at my local dealership so I wouldn't have had to pay for two appointments.

thanks for any advice!
N8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
zivyn
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: for enjoyment
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West coast transplant

Posts: 338
iTrader: (12)

Bummer, mine is 03/2009
zivyn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2012, 02:48 AM   #3
JustinGTP
Lieutenant
 
JustinGTP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Posts: 482
iTrader: (0)

Ok so the message that Tischer posted on their website about it not working on early versions of CIC was false in my case. My car is one of the first 09s (build date of 09/2008)

I downloaded the 2013 maps, got my FSC code and uploaded via glovebox USB no problems. I now have 2013 maps. A lot of 3D was added in my city. Here are some pics:


__________________
JustinGTP is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2012, 08:24 AM   #4
N8N
Major
 
N8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

Posts: 1,443
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
yup, I just delayed having it done until now and now there's a torrent up. I went ahead and got the data and just tried it in the car and it is recognizing my thumb drive. I don't have my FSC code yet so I can't actually update but I just went ahead and ordered it since it looked like it was going to work.

PS - is there now a "night mode" for the perspective screen? sweet! (I know, little things.)

If they would make it so that I could look at the map in perspective but keep north up that would make me exceptionally happy. (I don't like having to look at both a map and compass at the same time)
N8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 08:29 PM   #5
infamousq
First Lieutenant
 
infamousq's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Toyota Camry
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kobra Headquarters

Posts: 385
iTrader: (0)

How do I get my navigation to do night mode? I can only get it in the split screen but not in the main screen.
infamousq is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2013, 01:51 AM   #6
itszEmil
New Member
 
itszEmil's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: BX, New York

Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Hey am pretty new at this I have a 2009 335i xdrive with HDD how can I update my nav plxz help me you guys.
itszEmil is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 07:37 PM   #7
bimmerdreamz
Private
 
bimmerdreamz's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston

Posts: 72
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by itszEmil View Post
Hey am pretty new at this I have a 2009 335i xdrive with HDD how can I update my nav plxz help me you guys.
Hey - follow this post. It details everything. Scroll over to page 23 for step by step. Hope it helps. good luck!
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=772078
bimmerdreamz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST