E90Post
 


Sparta Evolution
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Satellite Maps



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-05-2013, 12:21 PM   #1
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
44
Rep
1,671
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Satellite Maps

I just updated my 2009 CIC to the 2013 maps using the usb port. What else is needed to enable satellite maps?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2013, 01:40 PM   #2
e90ftw
Private First Class
1
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2009 328i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Change the build time your FA to #0909 through coding.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2015, 11:33 AM   #3
aryshia
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: suzuki
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Azerbaijan

iTrader: (0)

post a link

Anyone know if the iPod Touch can work with the new media cradle to get access to "PlugIn", to drive music playback. Which media cradle would work, 3GS?
__________________
We provide fast success in ccna security lab manual pdf dumps exam by using our high quality ccna pdf - pass-4sure prep resources. We offer up-to-dated a+ certification dumps with definite guarantee of network+ training success
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2015, 01:09 PM   #4
iturbo_bmw
Captain
iturbo_bmw's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
706
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i e92
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e90ftw View Post
Change the build time your FA to #0909 through coding.
oh interesting. subscribing by quoting
__________________
09 335i e92 n54 | AW on CR | AT w/ Alpina Flash | JB4 G5 ISO w/ e85 BMS flash| BMS DCI | ETS 5" FMIC | VRSF DP | TCK SA Coilovers | Vorshlag Camber Plates | M3 CAs | ARC 8 18x9 F 18x9.5R | 255/35 275/35 mich pss |
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 09:11 PM   #5
jezzy
Captain
jezzy's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
745
Posts

Drives: 06 E91 325xi Black Wagon
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada

iTrader: (12)

Rotary, did you push the options button once in the NAVI and clicked on satellite maps?
__________________
2006 BMW E91 Wagon
Black / Beige interior
18" Fast wheels / Azentis Staggered Setup
CIC Retrofit / Combox
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2015, 01:23 PM   #6
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
44
Rep
1,671
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jezzy View Post
Rotary, did you push the options button once in the NAVI and clicked on satellite maps?
yes
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2015, 01:26 PM   #7
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
44
Rep
1,671
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Just to update this thread, e90ftw is correct.

All that you need to do is change the build date to ONE of the following: #0909, #0910, or #0911 in the CAS module. Make sure you delete your actual build date.

After you do that, just push the options button once in the NAVI and click on satellite maps.

That's it, the whole process takes no more than 5 minutes.

Remember, you'll only see the satellite maps when zoomed to 1mi or more.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2015, 11:53 AM   #8
grzes
Lieutenant
Canada
9
Rep
567
Posts

Drives: 2009 bmw 335d LCI
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

I see Rotary Rasp is keeping very busy with all the updates and handy information Great job on that camera one and then I found the DIY from you about how to generate your own update code for the maps update will have to try that. But if you don't mind explaining this post, what it is all about with the satellite maps? are you suppose to see satellite pictures when you zoom in close enough?? Do you need to have the subscription active with the bmw or does it just work? I am a little confused here
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 01:07 PM   #9
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
44
Rep
1,671
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by grzes View Post
I see Rotary Rasp is keeping very busy with all the updates and handy information Great job on that camera one and then I found the DIY from you about how to generate your own update code for the maps update will have to try that. But if you don't mind explaining this post, what it is all about with the satellite maps? are you suppose to see satellite pictures when you zoom in close enough?? Do you need to have the subscription active with the bmw or does it just work? I am a little confused here
Thanks, I like to stay busy.

You will only see the satellite images when zoomed out to 1 mile or more. To be honest, it's more of a novelty. It serves little useful purpose.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 07:41 AM   #10
GreQonE
New Member
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: '2011 E92 LCI 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Polska

iTrader: (0)

Could you please explain what does the build date actually change?

Is it just as straightforward as changing the date to #0909 and the car thinks it's made in 2009?

I just want to understand the mechanics behind this
Not sure whether I will need to update my build date as the car is 2011'
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:09 AM   #11
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
44
Rep
1,671
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreQonE View Post
Could you please explain what does the build date actually change?

Is it just as straightforward as changing the date to #0909 and the car thinks it's made in 2009?

I just want to understand the mechanics behind this
Not sure whether I will need to update my build date as the car is 2011'
If your car is a MY10 or newer, you already have the satellite images option, you just need to enable it. To do that, just push the options button once in the NAVI screen and click on satellite maps.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      Today, 04:29 AM   #12
GreQonE
New Member
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: '2011 E92 LCI 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Polska

iTrader: (0)

Thank you!

I have established that I indeed have the option to enable satelite maps, however when I do, nothing changes.
I have 2011 maps, might that be the case?

Tried in nearly all "zooms" and nothing.


I'm currently waiting to upgrade my maps to 2014, as 2015 premium is not yet available.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST