E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Turbo boost on B/C computer?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-18-2012, 07:25 AM   #1
knight-rider
Private
 
knight-rider's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i // Black // MT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Lightbulb Turbo boost on B/C computer?

Okay so i was going through the threads and reading about coding blah blah... and i came up with an idea...

Since there are aftermarket tuners and monitors like COBB which can monitor the boost through the OBD... isn't it possible to code the B/C computer (average speed, l/km, distance to empty) to display the boost instead?

Wouldn't that be something you would want instead of the usual?!

Anyways wanna hear what you guys think
__________________
BMW 335i // Black // MT with Short Gear Shifter
knight-rider is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,255
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I will answer your question since no one will bother as its not going to happen. No Amount of coding will get it to work as there is no option for it. Get a boost gauge.
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 11:57 AM   #3
taranonline
Lieutenant
 
taranonline's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

Posts: 503
iTrader: (0)

or go for torque android.
__________________
2010 320D AW M-Sport - KW V2 - 19" M359
taranonline is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 12:13 PM   #4
alexwhittemore
Major
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,483
iTrader: (0)

There IS a tune box that via a relatively hackey means can play middleman with your gauges and display other info. They're all electronically driven, so it's possible. But a boost gauge is likely out, since it'd require a pressure transducer on your turbo that I'm pretty sure doesn't exist stock. And anyway, you definitely can't *code* it in to the BC.
__________________
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 01:03 PM   #5
techwhiz
Lieutenant Colonel
 
techwhiz's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (2)

Boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by taranonline View Post
or go for torque android.
+1 for Torque and a BT OBDII dongle.
techwhiz is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 08:46 PM   #6
knight-rider
Private
 
knight-rider's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i // Black // MT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I will answer your question since no one will bother as its not going to happen. No Amount of coding will get it to work as there is no option for it. Get a boost gauge.
yea i guess i'll get the air vent gauge, thanks for the fast reply lol
__________________
BMW 335i // Black // MT with Short Gear Shifter
knight-rider is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 08:47 PM   #7
knight-rider
Private
 
knight-rider's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i // Black // MT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
There IS a tune box that via a relatively hackey means can play middleman with your gauges and display other info. They're all electronically driven, so it's possible. But a boost gauge is likely out, since it'd require a pressure transducer on your turbo that I'm pretty sure doesn't exist stock. And anyway, you definitely can't *code* it in to the BC.
its called tune box?
__________________
BMW 335i // Black // MT with Short Gear Shifter
knight-rider is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 11:09 AM   #8
hjs1971
Private
 
Drives: 2008 335xi coupe
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)

I would love it but prob not gonna happen.
hjs1971 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST