E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding ideas



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-10-2015, 09:29 PM   #1
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Coding ideas

Hello guys,

Last weekend I took a stab at coding my car for the first time, and did:

- Digital Speedometer
- Disabled digital corrector for real speed
- Instant MPG
- Enabled corrector for real analog speed
- Enabled windows/roof closing with FOB
- Enabled headlight sensitivity sensor selection in BC dash menu

I wanted to code new features, but wouldn't know how and what. Why don't you guys go crazy and name a few I could/should do, please?

The ones I thought first were:

- Right mirror down during reverse (don't know if it works on my car, don't know how to do)
- Blinking brake lights (Brake Force Display, don't know how to do)
- Double blinking warning lights (don't know how to do)

What else?
If anyone knows how to do the above, can you please assist me with the appropriate line I should change?

Thanks a bunch!
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2015, 09:32 PM   #2
f3adm
Private
f3adm's Avatar
United Kingdom
5
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: E91 LCI Alpine White Msport
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North West UK

iTrader: (0)

I wouldn't mind doing the brake force display myself, looks interesting!
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2015, 12:20 AM   #3
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
86
Rep
4,992
Posts

Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

Do you know what FRM you have? If it's FRM1 (FRMFA) the double blink hazards are enabled with nettodat coding.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2015, 06:48 PM   #4
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
Do you know what FRM you have? If it's FRM1 (FRMFA) the double blink hazards are enabled with nettodat coding.
I'm not sure... How can I find out?

I have only used NCS Expert, how would I use nettodat?

Thanks for shedding a light! Not only does this look complicated, but the fear of messing with the car make me not go in too deep with fiddling with the tools...
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2015, 04:33 AM   #5
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
86
Rep
4,992
Posts

Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

When you code, do you select FRM or NFRM? What does the last line on the NCSexpert window say when coding? It should list the daten file it's using. If it starts with FRMFA then you have the original FRM1.

Nettodat coding is still done with NCSexpert.

To enable double blink hazards on FRMFA:
1) Read FRM with NCSexpert. NETTODAT.TRC pops up in a window with a bunch of numbers, you can close it.
2) Find NETTODAT.TRC in your work folder you use for normal coding. Open it in Notepad or whatever text editor you use to code
3) Look for the line that begins with 00340500. It should be something like 00340500,0010,95,........
4) Change the 95 to 97
5) Save the file as NETTODAT.MAN to the same folder
6) Go back to NCSexpert, click basic functions, select coapiCodeSgByNettoDATA.
7) Type NETTODAT.MAN in the box that pops up and click OK. It should then code FRM and you will have double hazards.

This might get reset if you code something on the FRM in the future, so in the future do your normal coding first, then you have to go back and do this procedure again afterwards to re-enable the double blink.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 1
      02-12-2015, 08:42 AM   #6
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
When you code, do you select FRM or NFRM? What does the last line on the NCSexpert window say when coding? It should list the daten file it's using. If it starts with FRMFA then you have the original FRM1.

Nettodat coding is still done with NCSexpert.

To enable double blink hazards on FRMFA:
1) Read FRM with NCSexpert. NETTODAT.TRC pops up in a window with a bunch of numbers, you can close it.
2) Find NETTODAT.TRC in your work folder you use for normal coding. Open it in Notepad or whatever text editor you use to code
3) Look for the line that begins with 00340500. It should be something like 00340500,0010,95,........
4) Change the 95 to 97
5) Save the file as NETTODAT.MAN to the same folder
6) Go back to NCSexpert, click basic functions, select coapiCodeSgByNettoDATA.
7) Type NETTODAT.MAN in the box that pops up and click OK. It should then code FRM and you will have double hazards.

This might get reset if you code something on the FRM in the future, so in the future do your normal coding first, then you have to go back and do this procedure again afterwards to re-enable the double blink.
Oh, I understand what you mean by nettodat now... I Thought it was a software lol. It's just a file instead of the FSW_PSW (or something). Got it, thanks a lot!!!!!

I'll check if I have the one you said and the data file (never really got a chance to see them) when I get the cable back in the car.

Any chance I can see it through the files I had already pulled in my work folder?
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2015, 05:19 PM   #7
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Bump for ideas
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2015, 06:05 PM   #8
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
When you code, do you select FRM or NFRM? What does the last line on the NCSexpert window say when coding? It should list the daten file it's using. If it starts with FRMFA then you have the original FRM1.

Nettodat coding is still done with NCSexpert.

To enable double blink hazards on FRMFA:
1) Read FRM with NCSexpert. NETTODAT.TRC pops up in a window with a bunch of numbers, you can close it.
2) Find NETTODAT.TRC in your work folder you use for normal coding. Open it in Notepad or whatever text editor you use to code
3) Look for the line that begins with 00340500. It should be something like 00340500,0010,95,........
4) Change the 95 to 97
5) Save the file as NETTODAT.MAN to the same folder
6) Go back to NCSexpert, click basic functions, select coapiCodeSgByNettoDATA.
7) Type NETTODAT.MAN in the box that pops up and click OK. It should then code FRM and you will have double hazards.

This might get reset if you code something on the FRM in the future, so in the future do your normal coding first, then you have to go back and do this procedure again afterwards to re-enable the double blink.
This worked like a charm!!!!!!

THANKS SO MUCH! You're a genius
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2015, 07:48 PM   #9
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

I wasn't successful, however, in coding the fog light to work as brake light (and, because of that, I think I was not successful in coding the blinking brake light as well)... Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2015, 09:00 PM   #10
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
86
Rep
4,992
Posts

Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

You want the rear fogs to come on with the normal brake lights? They come on with heavy braking by default.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 1
      02-14-2015, 09:07 PM   #11
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
You want the rear fogs to come on with the normal brake lights? They come on with heavy braking by default.
Oh they do? Didn't know that... I wanted them to come on with regular braking, though unsure it would be nice.
What I had in mind was to set them to come on while braking, and then warning blinker come on during heavy braking.

Does that make sense?

I tried to code for warning bfd (wert_03), but NCS expert gave error when coding everytime.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2015, 10:52 AM   #12
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

So now the car blinks 6 times on one-touch and has double hazard blinks (euro). I was also able to change the cruise control display from mph to km/h.
I also did the mod to HVAC so that whenever I press the auto button the ac does not turn on automatically.

Tried setting mirror to tilt in reverse, didn't work (no memory mirror).
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2015, 01:37 PM   #13
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Is it possible to code and deactivate the anti-trap window feature?
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2015, 02:01 PM   #14
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
878
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Omaha, NE

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by valter
Is it possible to code and deactivate the anti-trap window feature?
Are you referring to the window stopping when you open the door? If so, there is a setting in FRM similar to STOP_MAUT something. Set to not active.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2015, 02:11 PM   #15
Douche
Banned
327
Rep
1,985
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
Are you referring to the window stopping when you open the door? If so, there is a setting in FRM similar to STOP_MAUT something. Set to not active.
No, I meant the anti-pinch feature.

The one you mentioned I tried, but didn't like. It doesn't work well: when your windows are rolling up, you open the door and it doesn't stop going up. But if you close the door before it reaches up all the way, it starts descending all the way. Very weird. So I went back to stock.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST