E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > What should be my first audio upgrade?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-23-2012, 05:42 PM   #45
AWBimmer
Brigadier General
AWBimmer's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,987
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D Pre-LCI
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (4)

How do you know you have the CCC nave just out of interest?
__________________
BMW E92 335D | The Custom Cars
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2012, 07:35 PM   #46
ram335i
Enlisted Member
ram335i's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: Autovogue 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham / Cumbria, UK

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWBimmer View Post
How do you know you have the CCC nave just out of interest?
The CCC is the early nav I believe, and my car is a 56 plate

Don't suppose you know about this nav thing Sam? News to me
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 04:31 AM   #47
AWBimmer
Brigadier General
AWBimmer's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,987
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D Pre-LCI
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (4)

You have the BASE Stereo therefore you did the right thing by acquiring the JL Cleansweep (or any processory for that matter).. Regardless of it being CCC or CIC, its down to which speaker option you have I believe so you are right with what you have.. I'm pretty sure of it
__________________
BMW E92 335D | The Custom Cars
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 04:37 AM   #48
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
mistryn's Avatar
35
Rep
1,997
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

iTrader: (7)

Correct me if I am wrong there are 2 types CCC and CIC sat nav. I think the CCC was fitted up until the LCI and thereafter the newer version of CIC was fitted
CCC - clunky looking where screen is split into 2 sections
CIC - widescreen with hard drive built in

Mine has the CCC as mine is pre LCI and I have base stereo - 2 speakers/2 underseat subs no tweeters. I had to code my HU to HiFI and has worked fine with a JL XD 400/4 amp

You can either go down the route of keeping the cleansweep and not coding your HU. I am pretty sure you will need to code your HU to HIfi and not use the cleansweep but use an amp that accepts differential inputs i.e. JL XD range

Or code to Hifi and use also the cleansweep (not needed imo)
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 07:01 AM   #49
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,607
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn View Post
Correct me if I am wrong there are 2 types CCC and CIC sat nav. I think the CCC was fitted up until the LCI and thereafter the newer version of CIC was fitted
CCC - clunky looking where screen is split into 2 sections
CIC - widescreen with hard drive built in

Mine has the CCC as mine is pre LCI and I have base stereo - 2 speakers/2 underseat subs no tweeters. I had to code my HU to HiFI and has worked fine with a JL XD 400/4 amp

You can either go down the route of keeping the cleansweep and not coding your HU. I am pretty sure you will need to code your HU to HIfi and not use the cleansweep but use an amp that accepts differential inputs i.e. JL XD range
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn View Post
Or code to Hifi and use also the cleansweep (not needed imo)
If you get your HU coded to hi-fi, clean sweep will do nothing except that convert it to RCA bullets.

What amp do you have?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 07:41 AM   #50
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

I'm seriously considering the Gladen (or similar) upgrade, would the addition of the AUDISON-BIT-TEN-D be much of an improvemet or is there a better option for the money. It'll be fitted to a 320d LCI with Business Nav & standard audio

Cheers & Merry Christmas to everyone
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:14 AM   #51
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,607
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
I'm seriously considering the Gladen (or similar) upgrade, would the addition of the AUDISON-BIT-TEN-D be much of an improvemet or is there a better option for the money. It'll be fitted to a 320d LCI with Business Nav & standard audio

Cheers & Merry Christmas to everyone
You may wish to consider mosconi amp with built in DSP and that should be good enough.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:16 AM   #52
AWBimmer
Brigadier General
AWBimmer's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,987
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D Pre-LCI
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (4)

Gladen seems to be getting more and more popular now which seems good as they seem very good spec wise..
__________________
BMW E92 335D | The Custom Cars
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:25 AM   #53
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Cheers makkan00, that looks a much better bet & simpler install, not that I'm going to be doing it
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:05 PM   #54
ram335i
Enlisted Member
ram335i's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: Autovogue 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham / Cumbria, UK

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
You have the BASE Stereo therefore you did the right thing by acquiring the JL Cleansweep (or any processory for that matter).. Regardless of it being CCC or CIC,
This is what I originally had thought, until I saw that post about anyone having a professional head-unit not needing one... Glad I hadn't wasted my money!

Quote:
What amp do you have?
I'm using an Alpine PDX-V9, 4 channels at 100W each and 5th channel mono 500W.
This should be enough to power my Focals nicely enough.
Planning on splitting the 5th channel for my SWS-8s.
(Got a separate mono amp for the boot sub, but this will be installed later)

Can't wait to get this install done, and finally have an acceptable system
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 07:15 AM   #55
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

What sort of price does the Gladen One 120.4 DSP run at? - I've seen the smaller 60.4 DSP for around 300 but can't for the life of me find any prices on the bigger one. I am assuming it's the 120.4 DSP that I'll need
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 09:02 AM   #56
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,607
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
What sort of price does the Gladen One 120.4 DSP run at? - I've seen the smaller 60.4 DSP for around 300 but can't for the life of me find any prices on the bigger one. I am assuming it's the 120.4 DSP that I'll need
Here is Mosconi 120.4 DSP.

You may wish to contact Mr. Singh for Gladen 3 ways sound system and mosconi 120.4 DSP. He is UK distributor of Gladen sound system.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 11:57 AM   #57
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks makkan00, Mr Singh is passing my contact details to the local dealer in the NW so I should have a better idea in the next week or so, I was just trying to get a feel of what sort of power I'm likely to need (120.4 or 60.4 etc) & getting a rough idea on price.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 05:52 PM   #58
badgerbrock72
Private First Class
badgerbrock72's Avatar
2
Rep
136
Posts

 
Drives: 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham

iTrader: (0)

I may well be interested in the gladen GB if it goes ahead. I currently have the pro Nav setup, assume id need this coding for hi fi?

Mr Singh I'm not too far from you and fairly often (once or twice a month) down mk way, would it be possible to have a listen to a gladen setup?

Cheers

Garry.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 10:43 AM   #59
Russ G
Private
United Kingdom
0
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330d M Sport
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Worcestershire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Singh View Post
Still expanding list of dealers, we are in talks with few stores in that area should have someone in the new year fingers x for your area!
Ok great thanks, let me know when you do as very interested.
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 11:54 AM   #60
imygaf
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
202
Posts

 
Drives: e92 325i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (1)

Is the group buy going ahead? Mr Singh, if it doesnt, what price could you do for a one off?
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 12:09 PM   #61
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by imygaf View Post
Is the group buy going ahead? Mr Singh, if it doesnt, what price could you do for a one off?
You're a long way from Milton Keynes?
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 02:53 PM   #62
imygaf
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
202
Posts

 
Drives: e92 325i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
You're a long way from Milton Keynes?
Yeah i know, lol.
From what i gather mr singh is UK distributor with very limited number of dealers in England. So probably none in Scotland.

If only there was some way of delivering the items from him to me!
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 04:03 AM   #63
imygaf
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
202
Posts

 
Drives: e92 325i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (1)

Ok guys, after speaking to the dealer that mr singh put me in touch with ive decided to go with the gladen package. Just want to check a couple of things first.

1. one of the dealers previous customers who had the kit installed mentioned that all the bmw warning tones like low fuel were amplified and very loud. Is this normal and is there any fix? One point to note is that this install did not use the harness at the back of the hu. The speaker wires at the sill were tapped into.

2. i have the professional hu but base speakers (no tweeters). Do i need to have it coded to hifi. And is this a must or just for sound improvement?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 05:09 AM   #64
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

My install will be going ahead sometime in the next 10 days & I'd also be interested in the answer to the first question.

2. Not essential & there's been loads of discussion as to whether it's necessary, I think much depends on the year & spec of the car. For the small extra cost involved I'll accept it as the price of guaranteeing the amp is receiving the best possible signal.

What spec have you gone for?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 05:29 AM   #65
imygaf
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
202
Posts

 
Drives: e92 325i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (1)

Ive gone for the underseat subs and front components plus rs 100c4 amp.

What hu did you have and any idea how much i should pay for hifi coding?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 06:15 AM   #66
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,635
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by imygaf View Post
Ive gone for the underseat subs and front components plus rs 100c4 amp.

What hu did you have and any idea how much i should pay for hifi coding?
I have a 2010 LCI with Business Nav which I assume has the Professional HU, the install will use the same Gladen 3 way component speakers with Gladen 120.4 amp and a few other bits.

As a complete guess, if BMW do the coding probably about 120+ as they often charge a minimum of an hours labour, from an independant maybe about half that
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST