E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > JBD install and check engine light came up?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-09-2012, 09:03 PM   #1
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

JBD install and check engine light came up?

I install the JBD on thursday set up at 80%, i have been driving the car normal for the first 5-10min after morning start. Today i was coming back to my house and i step on the car a couple times and then the check engine light came on, i step on it but it does not feel as fast anymore, car drives normal but it feels stock. Did it go to safe mode? If i buy the tool scan from burgertuning and i delete the codes will the power come back?
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 06:15 AM   #2
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
 
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

Posts: 2,532
iTrader: (0)

Thats one reason I have RENNtech although JBD is very good for the price I did not want this nightmare, get it scanned it probably is in SAfe mode, eventually the car will catch up with the program
__________________
RENNtech Flash/WAGNER IC
VMR710 19"/Execuhitch Hitch/Koni FSD
Soft Ride Bike Rack
Amsoil Cetane Boost Diesel Fuel Additive
Amsoil Diesel Fuel Additive Concentrate
Puerto Rican 335d is online now   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 09:47 AM   #3
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

I know what u saying but with the ecu flash when you have a recall and they have to reflash the ecu at the dealer, you will lose the tune
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 09:59 AM   #4
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
 
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

Posts: 2,532
iTrader: (0)

very true amigo it already has happened, so we are both SOL jajajajajaj
__________________
RENNtech Flash/WAGNER IC
VMR710 19"/Execuhitch Hitch/Koni FSD
Soft Ride Bike Rack
Amsoil Cetane Boost Diesel Fuel Additive
Amsoil Diesel Fuel Additive Concentrate
Puerto Rican 335d is online now   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
FormerRotor
Major
 
FormerRotor's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d, M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoans4 View Post
I install the JBD on thursday set up at 80%, i have been driving the car normal for the first 5-10min after morning start. Today i was coming back to my house and i step on the car a couple times and then the check engine light came on, i step on it but it does not feel as fast anymore, car drives normal but it feels stock. Did it go to safe mode? If i buy the tool scan from burgertuning and i delete the codes will the power come back?
If it will give you a little half-engine warning symbol if it is in limp mode. I would definitely invest in a BMW-friendly OBD tool. So that you can clear codes when/if needed.
__________________

My Picture Threads (Oldest to Newest): 1 2 3
Join BMW CCA! (Use my link and I get credit )
FormerRotor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 10:25 AM   #6
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoans4 View Post
I install the JBD on thursday set up at 80%, i have been driving the car normal for the first 5-10min after morning start. Today i was coming back to my house and i step on the car a couple times and then the check engine light came on, i step on it but it does not feel as fast anymore, car drives normal but it feels stock. Did it go to safe mode? If i buy the tool scan from burgertuning and i delete the codes will the power come back?
Did the half engine light come on your dash/nav screen? It is possible your car went into limp mode. If you shut it off and resart it shoudl go away although the SES light might remain on. Connect your BT cable view/erase the codes and the light will go off.
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 11:44 AM   #7
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
 
NRG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

Posts: 1,659
iTrader: (5)

Get the CANtool from BMS. The cheapest weapon against CELs and limps caused by JBD.
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
NRG is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 12:19 PM   #8
335dFan
Jumping Jack Flash
 
335dFan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oregon (near Portland)

Posts: 1,055
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Scan Tool

Has anyone used the Scan Gauge 2 tool that you can get for about $150 at AutoZone? From what I can tell it should work fine, but wondered if anyone had any experience with it on the BMW? Jack
__________________
Mods-Etc: Quaife LSD w/VAC finned diff cover, M3 Rear SF Bushings, M3 sways & OEM Susp Front/Rear Cmpnt Kits ('cept strut brace), GC Caster/Camber Plates, AC Schnitzer M3 Sport Springs, JRZ RS1 dampers, JBD 100%, Goodrich SS brake lines, non-stggrd APEX ARC-8 18" wheels with Nitto Motivo tires (winter OEM 17" wheels and Blizzak LM-25).
335dFan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 12:33 PM   #9
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cssnms View Post
Did the half engine light come on your dash/nav screen? It is possible your car went into limp mode. If you shut it off and resart it shoudl go away although the SES light might remain on. Connect your BT cable view/erase the codes and the light will go off.
The check engine light came on the Dash and is part of the Family now, it wont go away
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 01:20 PM   #10
FormerRotor
Major
 
FormerRotor's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d, M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldMan335dOwner View Post
Has anyone used the Scan Gauge 2 tool that you can get for about $150 at AutoZone? From what I can tell it should work fine, but wondered if anyone had any experience with it on the BMW? Jack
Hi, Jack,

I would suspect that this would work for the basics, but you would not be able to view the BMW-specific codes or any shadow codes. I have a pretty decent Actron guage which does not view the shadow codes either (although it is good to use for the clear-language display on standard codes and various mapping functions.

The bottom of the barrel BMS guage is not exactly a User Interface marvel,but it does the trick for viewing and clearing the shadow codes which can have an affect on BMWs views of your warranty. If you want something nicer or more intuitive, I believe that many recommend bavtechnic (sp?).

Hope this helps!
__________________

My Picture Threads (Oldest to Newest): 1 2 3
Join BMW CCA! (Use my link and I get credit )
FormerRotor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 02:31 PM   #11
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoans4 View Post
The check engine light came on the Dash and is part of the Family now, it wont go away
Did you get the BT cable with your jbd? Erase the code causing the light and it will go away - it's likey the code related to fuel pressure.
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 04:39 PM   #12
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

I didn't get the code reader, i was looking on line and saw the one on Bavarian Autosport, i know is more money $179 but is it worthy to get it or just go with the JBD one
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 04:58 PM   #13
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoans4 View Post
I didn't get the code reader, i was looking on line and saw the one on Bavarian Autosport, i know is more money $179 but is it worthy to get it or just go with the JBD one
That appears to be a generic code reader which will spit out generic fault codes - not BMW codes and not much unlike what you can buy at your local auto parts store. I also do not see where it would have the capability to read/delete "shadow" codes.

Personally, I would stick with a Baverian Technic OBDII cable or alternatively go with the CAN tool/reader if all you want to do do is read/delete tune related codes. The BT cable provides a lot more functionality such as data logging things like AFR's, intake temps, EGT etc...

http://burgertuning.com/CAN_reader_tool_for_BMW.html
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 06:00 PM   #14
dzlmoose
First Lieutenant
 
dzlmoose's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 378
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Did anyone notice the JBD is out of stock?
dzlmoose is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #15
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzlmoose View Post
Did anyone notice the JBD is out of stock?
Not here... http://www.n54tuning.com/index.php?_...Id=60&notice=1
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 01:10 PM   #16
PSEE
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BMW, MA

Posts: 251
iTrader: (0)

caveat emptor!


PSEE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 03:30 PM   #17
FormerRotor
Major
 
FormerRotor's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d, M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PSEE View Post
caveat emptor!


Lol, in this case I have to agree with you as most folks if doing research would've purchased a Scantool capable of clearing codes concurrently with the purchase of the JBD. However, I believe that you were implying a different connotation. I'm rusty on my Latin, how do you say "make sure that you rule out installation of an installed product as the cause for error before blaming the product itself?"

Oleum Aduro.
__________________

My Picture Threads (Oldest to Newest): 1 2 3
Join BMW CCA! (Use my link and I get credit )
FormerRotor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 03:54 PM   #18
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

I clear the codes with the JBD instal, are u suppose to take it out when u are deleting the codes? I also notice it still feels like stock, do i have to wait for a little before the ECU get used to the jbd
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 04:03 PM   #19
cssnms
Brigadier General
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

Posts: 3,182
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoans4 View Post
I clear the codes with the JBD instal, are u suppose to take it out when u are deleting the codes? I also notice it still feels like stock, do i have to wait for a little before the ECU get used to the jbd
No you do not need to remove the JBD to delete codes. I would however check to make sure your JBD connection to the rail pressure sensor is tight. Better yet, you might want to unclip and reclip it to make sure you have a good connection.
cssnms is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 04:09 PM   #20
FormerRotor
Major
 
FormerRotor's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d, M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoans4 View Post
I clear the codes with the JBD instal, are u suppose to take it out when u are deleting the codes? I also notice it still feels like stock, do i have to wait for a little before the ECU get used to the jbd
You don't have to. What is the JBD set to? Depending on your setting, I would say you'll feel the biggest difference from 0-40 and from 80-on.

I did a comparo with another member today and we found that the side-by-side difference b/n JBD (90%) and stock is noticeable but nothing dramatic from 30-80. We ran a few times from 30/40 to 100/110 using stock shift points and (while there was a difference) the difference was fairly nominal (maybe a car length or two?). My suspicion is that a 0 to 100 run would be somewhat more noticeable, but tough to arrange safely on an off-track comparison.
__________________

My Picture Threads (Oldest to Newest): 1 2 3
Join BMW CCA! (Use my link and I get credit )
FormerRotor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 05:50 PM   #21
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cssnms View Post
No you do not need to remove the JBD to delete codes. I would however check to make sure your JBD connection to the rail pressure sensor is tight. Better yet, you might want to unclip and reclip it to make sure you have a good connection.
Ill do that when i get home
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2012, 05:53 PM   #22
Antoans4
Private
 
Antoans4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5Diesel
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FormerRotor View Post
You don't have to. What is the JBD set to? Depending on your setting, I would say you'll feel the biggest difference from 0-40 and from 80-on.

I did a comparo with another member today and we found that the side-by-side difference b/n JBD (90%) and stock is noticeable but nothing dramatic from 30-80. We ran a few times from 30/40 to 100/110 using stock shift points and (while there was a difference) the difference was fairly nominal (maybe a car length or two?). My suspicion is that a 0 to 100 run would be somewhat more noticeable, but tough to arrange safely on an off-track comparison.
I have it set up @ 80%, the only reason why i did not bought the tool scan was because i bought it use from a guy that his lease was going to expire
Antoans4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST