E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Helix p-dsp



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-19-2012, 05:42 PM   #1
JohanW
New Member
 
Drives: E91 2006
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Helix p-dsp

Hi

I have E91 with audio system HiFi(Option 676) and plan to buy a Helix p-dsp.
The manual for the p-dsp specifies a 3v input sensitivity and nothing about balanced inputs.
Would the p-dsp be compatible with the 5v balanced output from the OEM HU?
JohanW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-20-2012, 01:05 PM   #2
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

http://www.helixhifi.com/contact/

Go to the above link and send them an email with as much info as you can. They will get back to you.

Also let me know if you want to add an external master volume and/or sub volume. Audiotec Fischer have been delaying their official external control for a while now, but with the schematics, pots and the right plug you can make one yourself.

Nice choice. I love the user interface on this unit. Its also very small
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-20-2012, 05:57 PM   #3
JohanW
New Member
 
Drives: E91 2006
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
http://www.helixhifi.com/contact/

Go to the above link and send them an email with as much info as you can. They will get back to you.

Also let me know if you want to add an external master volume and/or sub volume. Audiotec Fischer have been delaying their official external control for a while now, but with the schematics, pots and the right plug you can make one yourself.

Nice choice. I love the user interface on this unit. Its also very small
Thank you for the help. I will send a mail to Audiotec Fischer.
Are you running from the HU to the RCA inputs of the DSP?
Is the external master volume only useful if you use the digital input?

One thing I miss with the P-DSP is the option to select between different presets via a remote controller. It would be nice to switch between digital (phone) and analog (HU) from an external controller.
JohanW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2012, 08:52 AM   #4
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohanW View Post
Thank you for the help. I will send a mail to Audiotec Fischer.
Are you running from the HU to the RCA inputs of the DSP?
Is the external master volume only useful if you use the digital input?

One thing I miss with the P-DSP is the option to select between different presets via a remote controller. It would be nice to switch between digital (phone) and analog (HU) from an external controller.
I have the base stereo so am running hi level inputs into the P-DSP using an additional harness sold by Audiotec Fischer.

Well it depends how OCD you are lol. For me i would like to set the HU at the max unclipped output (45 clicks or something) and then use the external vol as a master. Its not really needed but if there's a way i can get both on one knob then i'll do it. But im definately fitting a sub control. Thats a must for me.

Do you mean switching between saved tuned setups? The only way at the moment you can switch between saved tuning set ups is to buy micro sd cards and save a set up on each. Then you can switch them by pushing it in the dsp.

There is meant to be an android app but its been delayed!
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2012, 09:42 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,420
iTrader: (46)

Mob17
If you get sometime, it would be good to write a comparison / difference b/w MS-8 and Helix P-DSP. It will certainly help many others to choose DSP.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2012, 10:14 AM   #6
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Mob17
If you get sometime, it would be good to write a comparison / difference b/w MS-8 and Helix P-DSP. It will certainly help many others to choose DSP.
Yeah sure will do. Will probably need a few weeks so i can really use the DSP. At the moment i haven't done any EQing, TA, crossover adjustments or phase invertions. I just want my ears to be used to completely factory EQ. Then hopefully i'll get a mic and RTA software and things should get interesting!
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
JohanW
New Member
 
Drives: E91 2006
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
http://www.helixhifi.com/contact/

Go to the above link and send them an email with as much info as you can. They will get back to you.

Also let me know if you want to add an external master volume and/or sub volume. Audiotec Fischer have been delaying their official external control for a while now, but with the schematics, pots and the right plug you can make one yourself.

Nice choice. I love the user interface on this unit. Its also very small
Yes a dual stacked pot would be nice to add. Do you have the schematic?
Adding an external volume control would probably solve the problem with the 5v output from the HU vs 3v input sensitivity of the DSP.

Do you know a good place to mount the knob?
JohanW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2012, 10:43 PM   #8
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohanW View Post
Yes a dual stacked pot would be nice to add. Do you have the schematic?
Adding an external volume control would probably solve the problem with the 5v output from the HU vs 3v input sensitivity of the DSP.

Do you know a good place to mount the knob?
I have sent you a pm with a link for the schematic.

Yeah it should solve your problem hopefully, but i'd wait to hear from Helix about the balanced outputs. About mounting haven't thought about it. I'm thinking maybe the cubby hole under the headlight switches. Or maybe just on the vent near the drivers mirror or in the ashtray somehow.
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 06:38 AM   #9
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohanW View Post
Yes a dual stacked pot would be nice to add.
I'm not too in the know about pots but do you know if this dual one would work?

http://uk.farnell.com/te-connectivit...52?Ntt=1898452
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 07:40 AM   #10
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,420
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
I'm thinking maybe the cubby hole under the headlight switches.
That is where mine is hidden. Nice clean OEM integration without any signs of after market stuff in your car.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 07:50 AM   #11
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
That is where mine is hidden. Nice clean OEM integration without any signs of after market stuff in your car.
That would be the best cosmetically. Im just thinking i'd have to open the little door each time i need to adjust the sub level?
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 09:58 AM   #12
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,420
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
That would be the best cosmetically. Im just thinking i'd have to open the little door each time i need to adjust the sub level?
That is true mob but would you be adjusting it on every song?

I was changing it on every other track, but lately I have left it on the optimal level and stopped using it.

Do you have bass boost on your amp or sub gain?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 10:27 AM   #13
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,476
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
That is true mob but would you be adjusting it on every song?

I was changing it on every other track, but lately I have left it on the optimal level and stopped using it.

Do you have bass boost on your amp or sub gain?
Yeah i think i would be adjusting it on most songs, as there is a difference of bass level at the moment on most songs.

Nope, no bass boost, but if i wanted to i could boost frequencies via the DSP. I just haven't had the time to EQ anything yet.
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 07:47 AM   #14
JohanW
New Member
 
Drives: E91 2006
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
I'm not too in the know about pots but do you know if this dual one would work?

http://uk.farnell.com/te-connectivit...52?Ntt=1898452
I think you need a dual concentric pot where you can adjust both separatly (two knobs). I think the one you linked to only have one shaft.
I have tried to find a suitable one but it was very hard to find.

This might work: http://se.mouser.com/Search/ProductD...JHI9noY7CFPA==

I don't know where to find good looking knobs.
JohanW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST