Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > New wheels and resetting tpms



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Wheel offset calculator courtesy of BimmerPost.com. You may use this calculator to calculate what tire sizes you might need if you upgrade your tires, or what wheel sizes/offsets are compatible with your car.
    Current Wheel Width  inches             Current Wheel Offset  mm.
         New Wheel Width  inches                  New Wheel Offset  mm.
 
TIRE WIDTH
/
ASPECT RATIO
- WHEEL DIAMETER
ORIGINAL TIRES
/
NEW TIRES
/
Based on your stock wheel setup, your new wheel will have:
Original Tires Diameter (in.)
      New Tires Diameter (in.)
  Difference in diameter (in.)
           Percent Difference %
                     
Speedo @60mph will read: mph
Collapse/Expand the BimmerPost Wheel and Tire calculator
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-18-2013, 10:32 PM   #1
LangleyBimmer
New Member
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Langley, BC, Canada

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

New wheels and resetting tpms

Gonna be getting a set of 19" avante gardes next week on my 08 328. From what i understand i dont need pressure sensors as there not in the wheels, but the guy im getting the wheels from said it needs to be reset with the new wheels which he can do? Wondering if this is right, and since this will be the summer set and the stockers will be winter i have to do this each time i change?
LangleyBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2013, 12:03 AM   #2
Game
Brigadier General
 
Game's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lockport/Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,754
iTrader: (15)

You'll need to swap them out each time. You're probably better off buying a new set (buy used).
__________________
Game is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2013, 06:55 PM   #3
Pete Schweaty
Lieutenant
 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 581
iTrader: (0)

Yes. You will need them. Like the above poster said, it's best to buy another set, or you will have to pay for dismounting transferring and remounting twice a year. They run about $50 a corner for new sensors.
Pete Schweaty is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2013, 08:21 PM   #4
LangleyBimmer
New Member
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Langley, BC, Canada

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

So is what ive been told wrong? I was under the impression i didnt need sensors because they are not actually mounted on the wheel. Iam in canada if that makes a difference and i think it does from what ive read else where, just wanted to confirm? thanks
LangleyBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2013, 08:50 PM   #5
Wrecker335d
Wondering what to do..
 
Wrecker335d's Avatar
 
Drives: like a cock
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quantico or Long Island

Posts: 492
iTrader: (2)

Does your valve stem have a hexagon looking thing on it and is silver? Or does it look like some regular old stem from any other average car. If it has a hexagon, then you need to swap the TPMS sensors from the old rim onto the new, or buy a set and have them installed.

The TPMS resets via iDrive though.
__________________
Mods: JBD, 35% tint, Wagner Intercooler, Bilstien B12 Kit, M3 Control Arms

OEF Veteran
Wrecker335d is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2013, 11:53 PM   #6
LangleyBimmer
New Member
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Langley, BC, Canada

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

No there just regular looking valve stems, so thats why im thinking i dont have the sensors in the wheels, which is why i asked my original question.
LangleyBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2013, 01:15 PM   #7
Pete Schweaty
Lieutenant
 
Pete Schweaty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 581
iTrader: (0)

Sorry. Didn't see you were in Canada. Put your car in jack stands, take a tire off and take it 30 or 40 feet away. Start the car, if you have TPMS sensors in the tire it should throw an error.
__________________

JB4 / BMS DCI / Alpina Flash / MTEC V3 / Blacklines
M3 Front Bumper / HID Fogs / M3 Style Spoiler
Pete Schweaty is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST