E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > CC-ID 134 Error



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-02-2015, 12:28 AM   #1
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

CC-ID 134 Error

Frustrated and need a little guidance...

I've been living with a CC-ID 134 error on my 07 e92 335i. Looks like a rear lamp malfunction. So, I checked all rear lights and there's not one bulb out. Nonetheless, I started to replace components and still haven't found the culprit. Please help!

Parts I've tried replacing both lamp modules with bulbs
63217174407 & 408

and even
63217207528 Bulb sockets

Still have the error. Any ideas?!
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 03:30 PM   #2
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
19,328
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
CC ID 134 is right rear brake light. There are 2 brake lights per side, so I'm sure you've inspected and or replaced both by now?

If that doesn't work, clean the contacts with WD-40 and a Q tip.

Do you know what the manufacturer is on the bulb, I had the most success with sylvania as cheap non name brand ones tend to fail and/or cause problems.

I noticed you've replaced what seems like everything and at that point if you are sure the lights are working maybe just get the car coded?
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 03:40 PM   #3
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TopGearSolutions View Post
CC ID 134 is right rear brake light. There are 2 brake lights per side, so I'm sure you've inspected and or replaced both by now?

If that doesn't work, clean the contacts with WD-40 and a Q tip.

Do you know what the manufacturer is on the bulb, I had the most success with sylvania as cheap non name brand ones tend to fail and/or cause problems.

I noticed you've replaced what seems like everything and at that point if you are sure the lights are working maybe just get the car coded?
Thanks for responding Jeff! The bulbs came new from BMW with the entire module so I'd imagine their good. I will try your WD40 method. If that doesn't work, are you suggesting having it coded to remove the error?
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 03:57 PM   #4
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
19,328
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbjb View Post
Thanks for responding Jeff! The bulbs came new from BMW with the entire module so I'd imagine their good. I will try your WD40 method. If that doesn't work, are you suggesting having it coded to remove the error?
Yea, I mean your only other option is to have BMW diagnose it. That could cost up to $150.

You've done everything I would have done otherwise, usually it's just a fault contact but if they are new contacts, new modules and bulbs then I'm stumped.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 09:16 PM   #5
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Jeff, you're my boy. Helpful comments and great service when I've made purchases from you. Even when I had a faulty item. You are top notch my friend.

Finally fixed it!

Unsure what finally did the trick as I did it all in one shot.

Removed the module.
Cleaned the two contacts on the module.
Cleaned the probes.
Removed the housing from trunk lid.
Cleaned contacts where socket is inserted. Restarted the car and moments later, error is gone!

Thank Jeff and I hope this helps someone else.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 09:21 PM   #6
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Images...
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 09:21 PM   #7
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Probes
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 09:22 PM   #8
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Cleaned
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 09:23 PM   #9
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Trunk lid area cleaned
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2015, 09:24 PM   #10
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
34
Rep
2,074
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (22)

Ps, Attaching images on iPhone app sucks!
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2015, 09:41 AM   #11
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
19,328
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbjb View Post
Jeff, you're my boy. Helpful comments and great service when I've made purchases from you. Even when I had a faulty item. You are top notch my friend.

Finally fixed it!

Unsure what finally did the trick as I did it all in one shot.

Removed the module.
Cleaned the two contacts on the module.
Cleaned the probes.
Removed the housing from trunk lid.
Cleaned contacts where socket is inserted. Restarted the car and moments later, error is gone!

Thank Jeff and I hope this helps someone else.
Glad you got it to work and thanks for the kind words.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2015, 05:50 PM   #12
e90mbition
Second Lieutenant
5
Rep
280
Posts

Drives: E46, E90
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

I keep getting this error with walmart bulbs, the ones that come in pairs, blows like every 3-5 months
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:34 AM   #13
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
19,328
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by e90mbition View Post
I keep getting this error with walmart bulbs, the ones that come in pairs, blows like every 3-5 months
Do you recall the brand? The cheap bulbs are usually problematic.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST