E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Torque App : Available Sensors



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2013, 05:49 AM   #1
badgerbrock72
Private First Class
 
badgerbrock72's Avatar
 
Drives: 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Torque App : Available Sensors

Hi everyone

I have the Torque (paid version) app running on Android, with a cheap Bluetooth adapter from amazon.

Seems to work just fine however - one sensor i'd really like to see is Exhaust Gas Temp (so i can get a clue when a regen is happening)

yet in my list of sensors the ECU says is available to Torque - EGT isnt listed.

Im sure ive read on other topics of E90 owners using Torque and being able to read EGT?

Im guessing its not the cheap adapter as the app states 'ECU reports these sensors available' so a expensive adapter wouldnt make it magically appear?

Thanks for any help

Garry
badgerbrock72 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 07:32 AM   #2
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

+1
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 10:01 AM   #3
xPETEZx
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 325i SE 6MT (E90 LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London

Posts: 530
iTrader: (0)

I was looking at getting this app and a cheap BT adapter.

How are you finding it?
Does it allow error code reading as well as displaying sensors?

Would you mind linking to the adapter you purchased?

Thanks!
xPETEZx is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 10:11 AM   #4
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Error code reading is severely limited to only errors that come up on the dash , it does not read low level fault codes.

Search amazon for ELM327 Bluetooth , they are around 15 - 20 quid
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 02:34 PM   #5
smoked
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i Touring
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 131
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xPETEZx
I was looking at getting this app and a cheap BT adapter.

How are you finding it?
Does it allow error code reading as well as displaying sensors?

Would you mind linking to the adapter you purchased?

Thanks!
fault codes will be limited to the standardised j1939 can diagnostics list, as will all the data forbthat matter. so you will get anything that is bmw proprietary like infotainment stuff.

still pretty cool for so little cash
smoked is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 02:17 AM   #6
badgerbrock72
Private First Class
 
badgerbrock72's Avatar
 
Drives: 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Thanks so far for all the advice,
Bit I don't understand, Torque app states that the ECU doesn't list egt as being available to read, therefore how would the (quite expensive and ugly) scan tool be able to read them on an e90?

Garry.
badgerbrock72 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 03:02 AM   #7
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerbrock72 View Post
Thanks so far for all the advice,
Bit I don't understand, Torque app states that the ECU doesn't list egt as being available to read, therefore how would the (quite expensive and ugly) scan tool be able to read them on an e90?

Garry.
there is a use at your own risk section where you can manually add pid addresses and configure / scale the response.

Last edited by 335DEE; 01-11-2013 at 03:58 AM.
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2013, 04:23 PM   #8
Meats
Silky Johnson
 
Meats's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Jet Black 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East Coast

Posts: 104
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 328xi  [0.00]
I'm also curious if someone has directions on custom PIDS to add for BMW 3 series. Is there a resource somewhere that lists the PIDs for our ECU.

I'm able to see where you add the PID info in the app, I just have no idea what to put in there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
2008 Jet Black 328xi | 189 Wheels | Nav | Steptronic | Sport Package | Logic 7 | Xenon | BMW Assist | Comfort Access | Fold Down Seats | iPod/USB | HD Radio | 35% CS Tints | Happy Robot | V1 Hardwire | Homelink Retrofit | Depo Blacklines |
Meats is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2013, 04:24 PM   #9
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

+1
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2013, 07:54 PM   #10
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,562
iTrader: (0)

Try "Catalyst Temperature", that is listed & gives a readout so I'm guessing it's the DPF.

I went mad & got the ScanTool mx, bought it from the States much cheaper than over here but still expensive & still doesn't read the ECU using "Torque". Try BMWhat ( Android or iPhone) that certainly reads the ECU. It's about 30 for the full version but there's a lite version available to test compatibility, which I did today & it looks promising. It says it lists faults but I had all mine cleared at the weekend so I can't tell but I do know that Torque Pro didn't see any of them.
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-09-2013, 10:03 AM   #11
Terryk
Private First Class
 
Terryk's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

Posts: 157
iTrader: (0)

as "o0timbo0o" correctly said, torque pro can only read engine failures and not peripheral and minor faults.
also, in order to see more parameters than the common ones, you must customize and insert manually the PID of any parameter you want to watch (you can manually add pid addresses in a specific section in torque pro but better you dont do it.. a friend of mine tried to do so in a Jazz hybrid and had problems after that)

I have tried to find pid codes for bmw in web with no luck (there are many for prius hybrid, as their owners might be more electronic guru than a bimmer one)

BMWhat seems to be a good tool for us but I have no experience from it till now. the last update of BMWhat lite doesn't seem to work for me (N46 engine) but it used to work for the last two months I had installed it.
I would love to find a mate from our forum who bought the BMWhat in order to check its abilities in my car and if its worth its money (its much more expensive comparing to the torque pro but it might worth its money).

if there is a mate near my area and wants to test/see how the torque pro runs in his car then we could meet to check it.
__________________
E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Terryk is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2013, 03:20 PM   #12
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Has anyone managed to get EGT to work on Torque app ?
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 03:28 AM   #13
badgerbrock72
Private First Class
 
badgerbrock72's Avatar
 
Drives: 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

+1
badgerbrock72 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 05:38 AM   #14
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

I asked one of the guys on the states who has it runnig on his , he said that it was available from the get go.

I checked out my DDE software version and since it had not been programmed since it was built figured that there might be some update which enables it. I have just tried this and sadly there is no update for my DDE since it was built and i am using Daten 48.1 which i beleive is the latest at this time of writing. The only thing I can think of is that the guys in the states didn't get the 35d or indeed other diesel models till long after Europe and being my car is a pre march 2007 build car with old defunked protocol probably doesnt have the capability.

so can only assume that cars built with a later version of DDE and or canbus protocol handles more information ?
Even INPA doesn't carry EGT values on my car , loads more available stuff for the N54 / 55
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 06:43 AM   #15
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,562
iTrader: (0)

I'm using Torque Pro on a 320d get DPF temp from Catalyst Temp (Bank 1, Sensor 1) - it usually runs around the 200 - 300 degrees but periodically goes up to 600 plus which I guess is a regen - I have an alarm set to go off at 450 degrees which gives me a warning
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 06:44 AM   #16
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

What year is your car?
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 06:51 AM   #17
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,562
iTrader: (0)

09/2010
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 06:54 AM   #18
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Ok, kinda goes along with my way of thinking as why it's not available for my car
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 10:31 AM   #19
F104
Captain
 
Drives: E92 320D M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: belgium

Posts: 722
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
I'm using Torque Pro on a 320d get DPF temp from Catalyst Temp (Bank 1, Sensor 1) - it usually runs around the 200 - 300 degrees but periodically goes up to 600 plus which I guess is a regen - I have an alarm set to go off at 450 degrees which gives me a warning
Indeed. I'm using an OBD reader with alarms since a few years. A complete, uninterupted regen takes 500 or 540 seconds (I still don't know). However it does not take much releasing off the throttle to see the temp dropping to below 450.

Quote:
Originally Posted by o0timbo0o View Post
Ok, kinda goes along with my way of thinking as why it's not available for my car
I don't understand what BMW does here. I had for example intake temp (after intercooler), but then lost it after dealer did s/w update. Not knowing when a regen takes place would not please me.
An alternative (but less reliable) method is seeing if you have access to "Requested EGR %". With ambients above 0 C, and on a 320d, EGR is being requested up to 140 kph / 2400 rpm steady speed. I fear that might be higher on a 335d as it should be load/displacement related. That requested EGR % becomes zero during a regen, so no (unburned) fuel goes thru the EGR system back to the intake. But it is also zero during accelerations..
F104 is offline   Belgium
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2013, 01:10 AM   #20
BimMic
New Member
 
Drives: Touring
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NewYork

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
Try "Catalyst Temperature", that is listed & gives a readout so I'm guessing it's the DPF.

I went mad & got the ScanTool mx, bought it from the States much cheaper than over here but still expensive & still doesn't read the ECU using "Torque". Try BMWhat ( Android or iPhone) that certainly reads the ECU. It's about 30 for the full version but there's a lite version available to test compatibility, which I did today & it looks promising. It says it lists faults but I had all mine cleared at the weekend so I can't tell but I do know that Torque Pro didn't see any of them.
Hi, I am new here and found your post - thank you very much for that post!
Does this BMWhat app really find all the faults - also from the airbag? What exactly do I need to get this?
Many thanks
BimMic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2013, 10:51 AM   #21
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,562
iTrader: (0)

BMWhat does found some faults but not all, airbag is more than likely one of the restricted ones that it doesn't find, but you'll only really find out if you give it a try

You'll need an android smartphone & the app which you'll find in the Google Play Store
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2013, 05:38 AM   #22
Terryk
Private First Class
 
Terryk's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

Posts: 157
iTrader: (0)

it seems that torque pro is able to read major engine failures but BMWhat can read minor incidents too. I once had the free BMWhat and I was ready to buy it but after an update it stopped responding. I contacted with the developer with no success since i never got a response. after several weeks they released an update again and answered my initial question with a question "do u have the last update? " .the update they were reffering had been released same day with their message. I tried again with the new update with no success so I decided to leave it since if you don't have support you can't get anything. Imagine that I was just about to buy it (same day they released the "catastrophic" update for me making the app no responding) but thankfully i didn't proceed and now I am not convinced in paying 30pounds for no reason.
i might give it a forth try in some months time
__________________
E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Terryk is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST