E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Do we really need to use BMS RS232/USB cable?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2013, 04:02 PM   #23
hemi to e90
Lieutenant Colonel
 
hemi to e90's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 335i, 08 s550
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: staten island

Posts: 1,545
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TopGearSolutions View Post
Yikes!
dude Toronto is fancy, you got no idea.
__________________
hemi to e90 is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 05:55 PM   #24
Gugs
Cynical
 
Gugs's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

Posts: 422
iTrader: (1)

I hate to say it but these cables break fairly often. I know of 4 members that have had to replace them cause they just stopped working. Either its getting wet in the engine bay or the connections are breaking.

Either way it sucks to have to custom order these oh well.
Gugs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 06:28 PM   #25
boostaholic786
Lieutenant
 
boostaholic786's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JB4 G5 ISO RB's FBO+40%E85
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: irving tx

Posts: 554
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR-AvHistory View Post

Hey man I really appreciate the advice and did try it out but no luck I tried COMM2 and it changed the settings on the JB4 interface to match the COMM2 but it said failedCOMM2. So I tried COMM14 because COMM3-COMM12 are "in use" and changed settings on JB4 to COMM14 and tried to connect and again, NO BUENO... I dont know what to do now
__________________
A/W E92 335i M-sport with JB4 G5 ISO/ E40 WEDGE PERFORMANCE BACKEND FLASH, Alpina TCU flash for AT/Switch-tronic +AR Downpipes, Stett gen 1 intake, Wagner-Tuning FMIC+RB Turbo setup/ RB PCV Valve+ Akro exhaust+60% E85/93 mix,+ HRE P40S wheels, KW coilovers, M3 sways,+BMW performance CF Mirrors, BMW Performance CF deck lid spoiler,+ CF interior trim, p3 vent boost gauge,+ LUX angel eyes (11.73@119mph on street tires) NO METH!
boostaholic786 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 06:50 PM   #26
boostaholic786
Lieutenant
 
boostaholic786's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JB4 G5 ISO RB's FBO+40%E85
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: irving tx

Posts: 554
iTrader: (0)

I hate having to take off the cowl then open the ECU and sit there and play a game with the cable connection to the JB4 just for it to connect...I searched on the forum and most all the threads say replacing the cable fixed the issue. I just bought this cable less than 2 weeks ago lol so I know its not the cable... This sucks! Anybody have any ideas please let me know.
__________________
A/W E92 335i M-sport with JB4 G5 ISO/ E40 WEDGE PERFORMANCE BACKEND FLASH, Alpina TCU flash for AT/Switch-tronic +AR Downpipes, Stett gen 1 intake, Wagner-Tuning FMIC+RB Turbo setup/ RB PCV Valve+ Akro exhaust+60% E85/93 mix,+ HRE P40S wheels, KW coilovers, M3 sways,+BMW performance CF Mirrors, BMW Performance CF deck lid spoiler,+ CF interior trim, p3 vent boost gauge,+ LUX angel eyes (11.73@119mph on street tires) NO METH!
boostaholic786 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 11:22 PM   #27
BEAR-AvHistory
335is 7DCT/JB4-G5/ISO
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is/JB4-G5/ISO Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 1,990
iTrader: (0)

You need to open the cowl & check the connection if its ok email Terry & see about getting the cable swapped. If you pinched the cable in the hood or door you will have to eat the cost.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport - 2013 135is Cab JB4/ISO 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-10-2014, 10:48 AM   #28
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 427
iTrader: (0)

So can i use any extension cable? Or do i need to use bms?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-10-2014, 12:19 PM   #29
Randomaccess335
Captain
 
Randomaccess335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' 335I
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: boynton beach, Fl

Posts: 671
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908
So can i use any extension cable? Or do i need to use bms?
I have cheap ebay extension and the bms one also, both work. I did get a new cable to fix the lose connection at laptop a while back, but after a month or so it was lose again, I leave the bms extension plugged in all the time and rarely have problems now.
R
__________________

JB4 G5 ISO , BMS DCI's, Stock Guted DP's, DO Meth kit Trunk Mount, ETS 5" Intercooler, M6 Rims, ER Charge Pipe, Fordged DV's
Cybe 3.8" chrome Tips, Lux Angel Eyes
**********12.07 @ 116***1.99 60'**********
Randomaccess335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST