E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > after install Procede problem on my 335is



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2012, 10:44 PM   #1
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

after install Procede problem on my 335is


Hey guys,
My buddy and i just installed my procede 2.5 se in my 2011 335iS with DCT transmission. He has installed and removed procedes at least 7 times so everything was easy. everything turned on and no codes were thrown right after installation.

once everything was back in the car i tried to run it on Map 1 and as soon as i got to around 3K to 4K RPM my car bogged down and threw a code for the transmission (the car told me to drive in reduced speeds and go to the dealer for service) . so i turned off my car and did the clear and started again. In this next go round I put my car on manual mode with sport button on and it did the same thing (ie. it started hesitating around 3-4K RPM and the car went on neutral) At this time it threw a couple of codes for the DTC and transmission. I tried to do this with full auto and all the other combinations i can think of with the DCT.

I then tried it on Map 0= stock. everything was fine (thank God). I tried it with the valet mode and that was fine as well. I think it is just the maps with the aggressive settings that is messing up.

I would love to find a solution for this before i try and return it.

Your help would be appreciated.

T
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 10:45 PM   #2
Focus
Captain
 
Drives: N/A
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jersey

Posts: 933
iTrader: (2)

reload the correct map for your car maybe?
__________________
Focus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 10:57 PM   #3
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

@ Focus this will be my second to the last resort but when i ordered i told them what car and in the packaging it specifically said it was for a 335is DCT. I hope Shiv or Robert chimes in
PR3 im not going to have that arguement here but thanks.
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 11:08 PM   #4
PeteW84
COBB'ed
 
PeteW84's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 Mini Cooper S
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tinley Park, IL

Posts: 2,231
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335i  [3.78]
I'm no DCT expert here, but I'm pretty sure the DCT computer senses excessive torque figures, therefore I throws the transmission into limp mode trying to protect itself.
__________________


13 Mini Cooper S
08 E92 335i (SOLD)
PeteW84 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tagon View Post

Hey guys,
My buddy and i just installed my procede 2.5 se in my 2011 335iS with DCT transmission. He has installed and removed procedes at least 7 times so everything was easy. everything turned on and no codes were thrown right after installation.

once everything was back in the car i tried to run it on Map 1 and as soon as i got to around 3K to 4K RPM my car bogged down and threw a code for the transmission (the car told me to drive in reduced speeds and go to the dealer for service) . so i turned off my car and did the clear and started again. In this next go round I put my car on manual mode with sport button on and it did the same thing (ie. it started hesitating around 3-4K RPM and the car went on neutral) At this time it threw a couple of codes for the DTC and transmission. I tried to do this with full auto and all the other combinations i can think of with the DCT.

I then tried it on Map 0= stock. everything was fine (thank God). I tried it with the valet mode and that was fine as well. I think it is just the maps with the aggressive settings that is messing up.

I would love to find a solution for this before i try and return it.

Your help would be appreciated.

T
I'll be happy to help. First thing to do is to switch to Map0 (stock) and make sure it drives 100% normally. It should. If it doesn't, something non-mapping related is going on. If everything checks out okay in Map0, the next step would be to reload the appropriate map and firmware. It is possible that the Procede is not loaded with the correct map for you 335is.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 11:25 PM   #6
Bakeme521
Some say...
 
Bakeme521's Avatar
 
Drives: Fresh
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baton Rouge n NOLA

Posts: 4,269
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [4.04]
Def seems like its the wrong map, just reload it and try it again.
__________________

I have exhaust and an intake...
Bakeme521 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 11:33 PM   #7
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteW84 View Post
I'm no DCT expert here, but I'm pretty sure the DCT computer senses excessive torque figures, therefore I throws the transmission into limp mode trying to protect itself.
i think so too but if it is then what fix can be done?
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 11:34 PM   #8
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tagon View Post
i think so too but if it is then what fix can be done?
I don't think this is the case. Please confirm map0 works properly first and we can go from there. Worst case scenario is that a different map needs to be uploaded.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2012, 11:58 PM   #9
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,710
iTrader: (11)

If you need help reloading the map and firmware, im in san pedro and can help you reload both.
__________________
2011 E92 M3 : Slek Wide Body, BPM Tuned, Activeauto Coilovers, Savini Wheels, 345/285 of Nitto rubber, Litespeed Racing Titanium Exhaust
www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek and www.tmrmzine.com/328
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 12:00 AM   #10
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

Shiv, thanks for chiming in. As i said on my original post. i did try it on Map 0 and everything seemed to be ok. Everything seemed to work 100% normal but when i switched it to Map 1 or 2 it hesitates and a code would show and the car would go to Neutral.

How do i load the correct maps and firmware for the 335is DCT.

Also, as i was installing it i didn't see a serial port instead i saw something that looked like a 5 to 7 pin plastic connector. is that what is supposed to be there?
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 12:08 AM   #11
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

TMR i just may take you up on this if i don't figure it out.

How do i download the firmware and maps?
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 12:10 AM   #12
BuraQ
Colonel
 
BuraQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 11" E92 335is
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 2,864
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [2.88]
Seems like the OP needs RENNtech for that 335iS
__________________
AP-V3 & Cobb Protuned by PTF: (New Times Coming Soon)
RENNtech Tuning: 11.78 ET @ 116 Mph in 1/4 mile YouTube
Dinan Stage 3: 12.5 ET (Best) 111 Mph (Best) in 1/4 mile
400+ launches, 3 Driveshafts, No DCT Slippage, Flash Only
BuraQ is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 12:22 AM   #13
SIKH335
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

Posts: 969
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.50]
I had the same issue with my Brothers 335i procede rev2.5 SE. The fix was to press the male power spade and female connectors together tighter. It was a power issue because the connector was not pressed together completely because we were worried that we would break it. Threw a transmission, DTC limp mode. Hope that helps.
SIKH335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 12:32 AM   #14
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIKH335 View Post
I had the same issue with my Brothers 335i procede rev2.5 SE. The fix was to press the male power spade and female connectors together tighter. It was a power issue because the connector was not pressed together completely because we were worried that we would break it. Threw a transmission, DTC limp mode. Hope that helps.
I can definetely try this. I just hope that is it. I would just hate to open it up again and find out that its not it.
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 12:47 AM   #15
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,710
iTrader: (11)

I'll be in west covina area most of the day tomorrow. If you need help, i can check the wiring and can reload the software for you. I also have an extra PNP harness kit in case something is wrong with your harness.
__________________
2011 E92 M3 : Slek Wide Body, BPM Tuned, Activeauto Coilovers, Savini Wheels, 345/285 of Nitto rubber, Litespeed Racing Titanium Exhaust
www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek and www.tmrmzine.com/328
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2012, 09:31 PM   #16
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
I'll be happy to help. First thing to do is to switch to Map0 (stock) and make sure it drives 100% normally. It should. If it doesn't, something non-mapping related is going on. If everything checks out okay in Map0, the next step would be to reload the appropriate map and firmware. It is possible that the Procede is not loaded with the correct map for you 335is.
Shiv- I don't know how i would be able to upload anything as i think you guys sent me the wrong harness. mine does not seem to have a serial cable. and there are 2 red wires with female pins on it. Please confirm that this is the right one. this is getting pretty fraustrating. Instead of the serial cable it came with a plastic attachment that what looks like 5-7 female pins. Also, is the tune supposed to come with a map module?
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2012, 06:49 PM   #17
JamesM3M5
Some dude
 
Drives: E28 M5, E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern VA

Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)

That IS a serial port, not a USB. You need a USB to serial adapter, available from Radio Shack or other electronics store.

Did you perform the adaptation resets in Command Center mode 3?
__________________
RRT Racing
E92 335i/6MT Dinan Stage 3: intercooler, oil cooler, intake, flash, exhaust, LW dual-mass flywheel.
Vishnu PWM methanol custom trunk mount, Diffsonline 3-clutch Salisbury custom diff, Ohlins Road and Track coilovers, Vorshlag camber plates, much more...
E28 M5 w/ buncha stuff, R171 SLK350
JamesM3M5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-18-2012, 01:10 AM   #18
tagon
2011 335is
 
tagon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glendale (So Cal)

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

I had some help with TMR and he uploaded the right firmware and maps. But Shiv just agreed to help me out with something. I just hope it works out better than my current situation.

Props to TMR though for helping me out and getting my procede to work. I just got to say that i learned a lot from him.
__________________
New:2011 335is convertible premium, convenience, nav
Old 2008 328i premium and sport pack.
tagon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:11 PM   #19
M3coupe
Private
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: GA

Posts: 62
iTrader: (2)

Hey Tagon, when you updated your maps even though the ones that were indicated as Installed were correct, did it fix your problems? I'm having the exact same issues your stated and already tried making sure the power spade was pushed as tight as it will go.
M3coupe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST