E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > LCI headlights in pre lci coding question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-10-2013, 01:45 PM   #1
BoondogUK
Captain
England
9
Rep
846
Posts

 
Drives: Monaco Blue e90 320d
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire

iTrader: (0)

LCI headlights in pre lci coding question

I have just ordered a set of lci halogens to upgrade my front end.

I know they are plug and play to get working, but do they work as DRL straight away? Eg from the idrive, or do they have to be coded?

Are there any other options?

Can't wait to put them on, but not looking forward to taking the bumper off again :/
__________________
Pre LCI Monaco Blue e90, iDrive, 18" 220M reps, M3 Front Bumper, LCI headlights, Darklines, Eibach Pro Kit [Build Thread]
ICE: DLS R4s, Gladen HG-201BMW-3, Alpine PDX 4.100
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 04:07 PM   #2
ukbeemerboy
Beemer Heaven
ukbeemerboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
13
Rep
1,297
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The lci halogens never used the rings as DRL's, only the cars with Xenons. If you set the DRL's on from the i-Drive then your headlights will come on along with the rings which are used as side lights or parking lights.

They maybe able to be coded as DRL but they aren't very bright.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 04:10 PM   #3
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

production date of your car?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 04:18 PM   #4
BoondogUK
Captain
England
9
Rep
846
Posts

 
Drives: Monaco Blue e90 320d
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
production date of your car?
Not sure of the month but its a 2005.

I have seen in idrive menu settings about DRL and just wondered if I can use the halos. I have ordered a set of led markers from ish to power them
__________________
Pre LCI Monaco Blue e90, iDrive, 18" 220M reps, M3 Front Bumper, LCI headlights, Darklines, Eibach Pro Kit [Build Thread]
ICE: DLS R4s, Gladen HG-201BMW-3, Alpine PDX 4.100
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 05:05 PM   #5
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoondogUK View Post
Not sure of the month but its a 2005.

I have seen in idrive menu settings about DRL and just wondered if I can use the halos. I have ordered a set of led markers from ish to power them
You have FRM1. Its not possible. If you had FRM2, then with coding, halo ring will work as DRL on 12' O clock position of your headlight switch.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2013, 02:01 AM   #6
BoondogUK
Captain
England
9
Rep
846
Posts

 
Drives: Monaco Blue e90 320d
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire

iTrader: (0)

Shame...

Thanks for the reply Makkan
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2013, 04:48 AM   #7
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoondogUK View Post
Shame...

Thanks for the reply Makkan
Sorry mate, you will have to use manual 1'o clock position on your headlights to benefit from those halo rings.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2013, 01:25 PM   #8
mrbeats
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
35
Posts

 
Drives: 325i m sport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: kent

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You have FRM1. Its not possible. If you had FRM2, then with coding, halo ring will work as DRL on 12' O clock position of your headlight switch.
Makkan could my 2007 be coded for this ??
thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2013, 03:44 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbeats View Post
Makkan could my 2007 be coded for this ??
thanks
If its 03/07 onward and has frm2, then yes it can be coded.
Only Halo rings will be on when headlight switch is at 12'o clock position.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2013, 01:33 AM   #10
Danny.B.
Lieutenant Colonel
Danny.B.'s Avatar
26
Rep
1,569
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England - Lincolnshire

iTrader: (1)

Hi Sam

What about when the switch is set to Auto? Will my DRLs be on then and then the xenons come on when its darker?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2013, 12:35 PM   #11
mrbeats
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
35
Posts

 
Drives: 325i m sport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: kent

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
If its 03/07 onward and has frm2, then yes it can be coded.
Only Halo rings will be on when headlight switch is at 12'o clock position.
How do I find this out?It was first registered in 03 07..
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2013, 01:04 PM   #12
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbeats View Post
How do I find this out?It was first registered in 03 07..
Last 7 digits of VIN.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2013, 01:05 PM   #13
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny.B. View Post
Hi Sam

What about when the switch is set to Auto? Will my DRLs be on then and then the xenons come on when its darker?
If you have DRL icon / option in your odometer, then you can.
Otherwise, xenon + halo will turn on when headlight switch is on 11' o clock position.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2013, 01:38 PM   #14
mrbeats
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
35
Posts

 
Drives: 325i m sport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: kent

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Last 7 digits of VIN.
KU98503
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 06:04 PM   #15
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

beats
yes, you have FRM2, so it can be coded. I guess you need to delete the last 7 digits if your VIN as you do not want to see your car cloned.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST