E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DME Software Update after CIC Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-17-2013, 04:48 PM   #1
tcw
Captain
32

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA


Posts: 722
iTrader: (2)

DME Software Update after CIC Retrofit

So after I retrofitted my CIC and combox I needed to update the CIC software to a version that would talk to the combox (CIC predated combox.) Dealers could not do it because the car did not come with the CIC and when they plugged in their software didn't like that it was there and the CCC was missing. The software wouldn't let them move forward until it was "fixed" (CCC reinstalled.) I ended up having to mail my CIC off to Bimmer Retrofit to have the software updated in it. Note we are not talking about coding, but the version of the CIC software.

Now I would like to get my DME software updated to the latest version. Does anyone know if the dealer will run into the same problem (I believe so because the hook up to the whole car, not just one module)? Is there another way to have it updated?

Finally is there a way to check my DME version? I specifically want to know if I have the version that can flush the VANOS solenoids with fuel to clean them (N54.)
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 04:59 PM   #2
Modded328FTW
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 328
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada


Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

Yea the dealer will most likely not work for you as for them it's press one button and the software does the rest. Unfortunately that software needs everything to be normal and unchanged for it to proceed.

Now if you can find a shop with an "Autologic" unit, that will allow you to update just the dme or another other module seperately.

Now if you are good with coding, you too can update just the DME via winkfp, but I shall warn you that if you are not confident with coding don't try it (can result in a bricked DME).
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 06:04 PM   #3
tcw
Captain
32

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA


Posts: 722
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Modded328FTW
Yea the dealer will most likely not work for you as for them it's press one button and the software does the rest. Unfortunately that software needs everything to be normal and unchanged for it to proceed.

Now if you can find a shop with an "Autologic" unit, that will allow you to update just the dme or another other module seperately.

Now if you are good with coding, you too can update just the DME via winkfp, but I shall warn you that if you are not confident with coding don't try it (can result in a bricked DME).
Is that the update that takes a couple of hours with a 30A charger attached? Wouldn't it be hard to source the DME software?
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 06:10 PM   #4
cyrano
Banned
Poland
6

 
Drives: E61 530XD chipped
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland


Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

DME upgrade take about 5-15 minutes depends on previous software version and exact dme version , just do it with winkfp you will be fine
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 05:48 PM   #5
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrano
DME upgrade take about 5-15 minutes depends on previous software version and exact dme version , just do it with winkfp you will be fine
Is there a way to revert back / downgrade to old dme firmware?
I just wonder sometime that if somebody is not happy with the most update software, how to go back?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2013, 07:07 AM   #6
cyrano
Banned
Poland
6

 
Drives: E61 530XD chipped
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland


Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Really dont know never tried that tbo but i think winkfp will not allow you to dp that maybe ISTA/P since it matches ilevels but for safetly result i will not recommend it at all
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST