E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Bricked DME Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2015, 05:44 PM   #1
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

Bricked DME Help

]After a few unsuccessful attempts to flash back to stock via the BB software it is unable to Detect the control module. Also when identifying the modules via INPA the DME was not found. Help please!
Attached Images
  

Last edited by just_dirty; 06-02-2015 at 05:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 05:56 PM   #2
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
55
Rep
3,459
Posts

Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yonkers NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW  [3.50]
JB4 off? try different USB port?
__________________

12.3 @ 116 JB4-DCI-E85
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 05:56 PM   #3
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
380
Rep
20,918
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (33)

It probably goes without saying you should look into a different source for your flash tuning needs.

That being said, you should probably contact Wedge. He's pretty good at this stuff.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 05:58 PM   #4
hassmaschine
Captain
88
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i 6sp w/ sport package
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

I would try to flash it back to stock with WinKFP. I don't think the BB tool can overwrite the boot sector so it should be recoverable.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 06:02 PM   #5
1chanc3
Major
64
Rep
1,101
Posts

Drives: 2010 e92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

And this is exactly why I am scared to tune/code/flash my own car without an experienced person by my side.

Bump.
__________________
2010 335i Coupe- Monaco Blue Metallic
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 06:16 PM   #6
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
1,261
Posts

Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (4)

HA! i just did this last night. I had the same issue flashing back to stock. All i did was use the MHD to flash the tune i wanted and it worked. I'm sure you can do the same with BB. Just pick a tune you know works and load it. The MHD flash back to stock didnt work for me either but i dont blame the MHD it was the BB doing
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: VM Top mount 6466, Aquamist HSF4 w/custom direct port. VRSF IC + Exhaust
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 ST RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 06:27 PM   #7
hassmaschine
Captain
88
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i 6sp w/ sport package
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1chanc3 View Post
And this is exactly why I am scared to tune/code/flash my own car without an experienced person by my side.

Bump.
Or at least without backup transportation so you can learn as you go.

Protip: don't ever update to an experimental firmware while on your lunch break at work. it's not fun having to call your wife because you bricked your car in the parking lot and need to bring the computer home to recover it. Don't ask how I know this.

There's nothing wrong with flashing your own DME, and it's actually really hard to brick it completely. Of course the forum vendors want you to be scared of doing it yourself!
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 08:28 PM   #8
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrift4wd View Post
JB4 off? try different USB port?
JB4 is out of the vehicle. I've switched USB ports and laptops.

BB software cannot detect the ECU and also INPA(Used my KDCAN cable) cannot detect the ECU.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 08:31 PM   #9
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
I would try to flash it back to stock with WinKFP. I don't think the BB tool can overwrite the boot sector so it should be recoverable.
This is the problem I get when trying to use WINKFP. I'm not familiar with the software so maybe one of you more experienced guys can tell me if i did something wrong.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 08:33 PM   #10
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
HA! i just did this last night. I had the same issue flashing back to stock. All i did was use the MHD to flash the tune i wanted and it worked. I'm sure you can do the same with BB. Just pick a tune you know works and load it. The MHD flash back to stock didnt work for me either but i dont blame the MHD it was the BB doing
Your ECU was also unreadable in INPA? I've been sifting through info for a couple of days regarding this issue and i haven't found much.

I can't even attempt a force write because the BB software won't even ID the Ecu.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 10:18 PM   #11
N3m3sis
Lieutenant
7
Rep
479
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: In a car

iTrader: (0)

Contact ken (wedge)



/thread
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2015, 10:37 PM   #12
hassmaschine
Captain
88
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i 6sp w/ sport package
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by just_dirty View Post
This is the problem I get when trying to use WINKFP. I'm not familiar with the software so maybe one of you more experienced guys can tell me if i did something wrong.
You will have to use expert mode since it can't ID the DME.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2015, 10:51 AM   #13
dbond
Private First Class
10
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester

iTrader: (2)

With DCAN interface connected. tool32.exe -> load 11MSD80.prg -> execute "Ident" and aif_lessen jobs. You can also try loading D_MOTOR.grp and execute the same jobs. Let us know what you got.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2015, 10:57 AM   #14
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

Currently working with Wedge to fix this damn thing. Ill keep everyone updated on my findings.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2015, 02:51 PM   #15
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
698
Rep
16,658
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N54tuning.com

iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
Or at least without backup transportation so you can learn as you go.

Protip: don't ever update to an experimental firmware while on your lunch break at work. it's not fun having to call your wife because you bricked your car in the parking lot and need to bring the computer home to recover it. Don't ask how I know this.

There's nothing wrong with flashing your own DME, and it's actually really hard to brick it completely. Of course the forum vendors want you to be scared of doing it yourself!
Good advice

and a +1 for contacting Ken / Wedge

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2015, 08:42 PM   #16
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

Just had Wedge remote in to my car and we could not communicate with the DME. Looks like the only solution is buy a virgin DME or DME,CAS,Key Module, key bundle
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2015, 11:32 PM   #17
Gugs
Banned
United_States
16
Rep
459
Posts

Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

iTrader: (1)

I hope he didnt charge you
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 12:08 AM   #18
WedgePerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
WedgePerformance's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
977
Posts


Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
Or at least without backup transportation so you can learn as you go.

Protip: don't ever update to an experimental firmware while on your lunch break at work. it's not fun having to call your wife because you bricked your car in the parking lot and need to bring the computer home to recover it. Don't ask how I know this.

There's nothing wrong with flashing your own DME, and it's actually really hard to brick it completely. Of course the forum vendors want you to be scared of doing it yourself!
That's where you're wrong. It's actually really easy and takes only a few seconds with software like BB flash and Vishnu's XDFs with map templates. If you don't believe me, I can tell you how and you can test it.
__________________
MHD & COBB Advanced Tuning - BQ Tuning by Wedge/// Performance
Ex-Stock Turbo World Record - 484.15 RWHP 578.54 RWTQ
335xi World Record Quarter Mile - 11.363 @ 122.66
Recommended Mods: Port Injection from MOTIV Motorsport & Stage 3 Hulk from Fuel-IT
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 12:10 AM   #19
WedgePerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
WedgePerformance's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
977
Posts


Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gugs View Post
I hope he didnt charge you
Just_Dirty told me to send you the bill.
__________________
MHD & COBB Advanced Tuning - BQ Tuning by Wedge/// Performance
Ex-Stock Turbo World Record - 484.15 RWHP 578.54 RWTQ
335xi World Record Quarter Mile - 11.363 @ 122.66
Recommended Mods: Port Injection from MOTIV Motorsport & Stage 3 Hulk from Fuel-IT
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 12:24 AM   #20
1chanc3
Major
64
Rep
1,101
Posts

Drives: 2010 e92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by just_dirty View Post
Just had Wedge remote in to my car and we could not communicate with the DME. Looks like the only solution is buy a virgin DME or DME,CAS,Key Module, key bundle
Wow, so those are the only options? he couldn't do anything?

Now I'm even more scared to do anything software related to my car


Good luck OP. Hope it's not too expensive.
__________________
2010 335i Coupe- Monaco Blue Metallic
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 05:34 PM   #21
just_dirty
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
285
Posts

Drives: E92 335i Frozen Black
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Reno

iTrader: (0)

I just bought a used MSD80, Cas Module, and Keys for $400 today so a lot better than $1800 for a virgin ECU from BMW. Now does anyone know how to match the vins on these modules?
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 06:04 PM   #22
hassmaschine
Captain
88
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i 6sp w/ sport package
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

did you try WinKFP expert mode?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST