E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Folding mirrors when doors lock



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-21-2012, 10:02 AM   #1
mikeouk
Lieutenant
mikeouk's Avatar
United Kingdom
21
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 2010 E92 325D m sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Folding mirrors when doors lock

I've just seen reference to this on the classifieds. Is it an option in the computer settings? Didn't know I could do this, tell me how please.
__________________
2010 E92 325D M SPORT

BLUE WATER, CORAL RED LEATHER
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2012, 10:06 AM   #2
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
136
Rep
6,696
Posts

Drives: 2016 M6 Gran Coupe LCI
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK - Midlands

iTrader: (2)

On my previous 2006 E90 330i, with powered mirrors, they folded if you held the lock button on the fob.

Then they opened when you unlocked the car - very cool.

But my 2009 E91 didn't, there's some stuff on here, but it seems that function went AWOL around 2007 ish.

Something about safety grounds? trapping kiddies fingers or something daft?
__________________
E90 330i 6MT gone. E91 335i 6MT gone. AMG E63 Estate gone. M6GC current...
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2012, 10:09 AM   #3
idnan
Lieutenant Colonel
idnan's Avatar
England
41
Rep
1,516
Posts

Drives: Alpine White 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Birmingham

iTrader: (9)

I'm pretty sure it can be coded to fold with the fob by a specialist or someone with the correct cable and ability to code.

I was thinking maybe it was stopped to prolong the life of the motors in the mirrors.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2012, 10:14 AM   #4
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
136
Rep
6,696
Posts

Drives: 2016 M6 Gran Coupe LCI
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK - Midlands

iTrader: (2)

Maybe, but I just do it manually now every time i leave the car I press the fold button on the armrest.
__________________
E90 330i 6MT gone. E91 335i 6MT gone. AMG E63 Estate gone. M6GC current...
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2012, 07:20 PM   #5
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
32
Rep
901
Posts

Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

It's a coding "option" and then long press lock button to enable. Either someone here who can do coding, or wait till you have a complaint with BMW and get them to do it as goodwill..otherwise LLC they will charge you 50 quid
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2012, 07:24 PM   #6
mikeouk
Lieutenant
mikeouk's Avatar
United Kingdom
21
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 2010 E92 325D m sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticc View Post
It's a coding "option" and then long press lock button to enable. Either someone here who can do coding, or wait till you have a complaint with BMW and get them to do it as goodwill..otherwise LLC they will charge you 50 quid
never take my car to bmw, is this something an indy can do with the right software?
__________________
2010 E92 325D M SPORT

BLUE WATER, CORAL RED LEATHER
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 08:54 AM   #7
BanziBarn
Lieutenant Colonel
BanziBarn's Avatar
67
Rep
1,800
Posts

Drives: BMW 330D E90 LCI Msport
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

I heard the feature was removed to reduce warranty claims for broken motors.

Wish I had folding mirrors though
__________________
Black 330d E90 LCI M Sport Saloon Auto. Privacy Glass, Cream Leather, 6FL, I-Drive/Nav/Bluetooth, Alpine hifi upgrade.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=2148&pictureid=44259
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 09:43 AM   #8
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
136
Rep
6,696
Posts

Drives: 2016 M6 Gran Coupe LCI
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK - Midlands

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticc View Post
It's a coding "option" and then long press lock button to enable. Either someone here who can do coding, or wait till you have a complaint with BMW and get them to do it as goodwill..otherwise LLC they will charge you 50 quid
Its not a 'user' option that BMW can do on their dealer machines, it just not there anymore.

It can be hacked by other means apparently, but not by BMW or an indy Autologic type machine.
__________________
E90 330i 6MT gone. E91 335i 6MT gone. AMG E63 Estate gone. M6GC current...
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 01:37 PM   #9
mc_blue
Private First Class
United Kingdom
11
Rep
164
Posts

Drives: Porsche Cayman S & BMW 330d xD
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

That's a shame, I'd love my mirrors to do that!
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 02:45 PM   #10
Hotcoupe
Major General
Hotcoupe's Avatar
United Kingdom
90
Rep
6,109
Posts

Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
A good independent with Autologic can do the coding for autofold from fob.
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 05:53 PM   #11
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
136
Rep
6,696
Posts

Drives: 2016 M6 Gran Coupe LCI
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK - Midlands

iTrader: (2)

Ooops, my bad Ian.

I had asked my indy a while back and he'd said it wasn't possible, but if it is I need to try elsewhere!
__________________
E90 330i 6MT gone. E91 335i 6MT gone. AMG E63 Estate gone. M6GC current...
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2012, 06:13 AM   #12
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
32
Rep
901
Posts

Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Sorry but I disagree. Had mine Done at same time add having rear bumper replace after someone rear ended me. Exhaust took so long (four attempts) they enabled as good Erroll.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2012, 06:14 AM   #13
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
32
Rep
901
Posts

Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Good will I meant
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2017, 07:10 AM   #14
drmjm1
Private
drmjm1's Avatar
United_States
22
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: BMW 2009 335i N54 AT
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: La Mirada CA

iTrader: (0)

It's easy to change using NCSExpert. It's off by default. Located in the NFRM module.

Fold Mirror FRM (NFRM) ASP_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP Folds side mirrors with FOB and CA
Fold Mirror FRM (NFRM) SPIEGEL_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP Folds side mirrors with FOB (CA also works 2009/01 E92)

The delay is set at 1.5 seconds of holding the lock button, by default.
I set mine to "instant" or 0.0 seconds. Open the NETTODAT.TRC file and find the following line:
B 00300200,0010,2C,00,10,7F,00,00,05,3C,05,23,33,19,0F,05,1E,14

Change the value to 05 for 0.5 seconds, or 00 for 0.0 seconds.

Then save the file as NETTODAT.MAN and write it back to the ECU.

If you use NCSExpert or NCS Dummy to change basic values after coding this, it will revert to it's original off state and will need to be recoded.

To keep the value once it's coded and you need to code additional features, you can only work directly with the NETTODAT file from now on. Or do the basic coding and recode this feature in NETTODAT.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by drmjm1; 03-11-2017 at 06:30 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2017, 06:56 PM   #15
tobeski
Private
5
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: BMW E93 330D M-Sport
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I used Carly to code mine, real simple to do
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2017, 07:52 PM   #16
IllSic_Design
Second Lieutenant
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i AW/CR
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vacaville, Nor-Cal

iTrader: (0)

I too had mine coded in, can't remember if I used Carly or when I had Alex at Alpine code my car. Either way mine is a 2009 with comfort access and use the folding feature every day, especially at work. Long hold of lock button to fold them shut and auto open when I unlock the car.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2017, 11:37 AM   #17
Robbie200
Private
United Kingdom
-1
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobeski View Post
I used Carly to code mine, real simple to do
Me too.

Cheaper to buy Carly and a bluetooth adapter (assuming android) than to pay somebody to code it for you. Carly for Apple is a bit more expensive for the adapter I guess., but still worth it.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST