E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 6AT Max RPM question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-01-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
Nonecure
Private First Class
 
Nonecure's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335xi E90 LCI
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio

Posts: 199
iTrader: (1)

6AT Max RPM question

I am assuming that the maximum RPM in the ECU does not dictate the maximum RPM that the automatic transmission shifts at. I have the Cobb AP with the aggressive tune and I remember reading that they increase redline. But Iím thinking that only affects MT cars.

My problem is that my car does not shift until ~7k , which is way too high for my level of mods. Is there any way to change the controller to shift sooner? I am used to shifting, but now that I have an automatic it feels unnatural to shift part of the time.
Nonecure is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 04:07 PM   #2
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,599
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
It is perfectly safe to redline the car. Boost taper exists for a reason. And you can manually shift the car if you find it necessary e.g. 3-4 shift.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 05:04 PM   #3
Nonecure
Private First Class
 
Nonecure's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335xi E90 LCI
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio

Posts: 199
iTrader: (1)

It feels to me like a huge boost taper after 5,500 rpm. From what I read; it sounds normal for having extra boost from the Cobb, but no extra mods like FMIC. I do have a BMS intake, but nothing else to help the engine handle the extra boost.

I have manually shifted and it feels faster, but it just seems odd. What I mean is if you're not tracking your car, why paddle shift going to work? If I shift before 6k; then I have to shift a few more times, and then move the shift lever left then back to the right for full auto.

I’m just checking if there is a way to set my top shift point.
Nonecure is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 06:14 PM   #4
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,318
iTrader: (0)

No you cant set a point so just live with what bmw set up for the tranny.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST