E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 6AT Max RPM question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-01-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
Nonecure
Second Lieutenant
Nonecure's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
265
Posts

Drives: 2009 335xi E90 LCI
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio

iTrader: (1)

6AT Max RPM question

I am assuming that the maximum RPM in the ECU does not dictate the maximum RPM that the automatic transmission shifts at. I have the Cobb AP with the aggressive tune and I remember reading that they increase redline. But Iím thinking that only affects MT cars.

My problem is that my car does not shift until ~7k , which is way too high for my level of mods. Is there any way to change the controller to shift sooner? I am used to shifting, but now that I have an automatic it feels unnatural to shift part of the time.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
themyst
Major General
themyst's Avatar
South Korea
87
Rep
6,602
Posts

Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
It is perfectly safe to redline the car. Boost taper exists for a reason. And you can manually shift the car if you find it necessary e.g. 3-4 shift.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2013, 06:04 PM   #3
Nonecure
Second Lieutenant
Nonecure's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
265
Posts

Drives: 2009 335xi E90 LCI
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio

iTrader: (1)

It feels to me like a huge boost taper after 5,500 rpm. From what I read; it sounds normal for having extra boost from the Cobb, but no extra mods like FMIC. I do have a BMS intake, but nothing else to help the engine handle the extra boost.

I have manually shifted and it feels faster, but it just seems odd. What I mean is if you're not tracking your car, why paddle shift going to work? If I shift before 6k; then I have to shift a few more times, and then move the shift lever left then back to the right for full auto.

I’m just checking if there is a way to set my top shift point.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2013, 07:14 PM   #4
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
97
Rep
7,361
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

No you cant set a point so just live with what bmw set up for the tranny.
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST