E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Jb4 Confusion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-05-2013, 02:38 PM   #1
Karman
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i e92 07 space gray
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

Posts: 123
iTrader: (1)

Jb4 Confusion

So i went to do the install today after class and saw that i already have had something installed ....the black removable piece [IMG]file:///Users/Karman/Desktop/JB3-Double-Plug.jpg[/IMG] says 2.0 on it in black sharpie the board i just purchased says jb4 on it...i switched the two boards... is this safe? also this isnt working for me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=HDjD4OcDIGU



i still have the car opened up so if anyone can let me know what to do (if that is the correct way to install)..thanks!!
Karman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 02:42 PM   #2
Karman
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i e92 07 space gray
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

Posts: 123
iTrader: (1)

also i want to know which forum member had my car before me! lol this is the second mod that i was planning on doing but has already had been done.
Karman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 02:47 PM   #3
Manuts
New Member
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

If you currently have an JB3, you need to modify the harness in order to install the JB4. You also need to install a power wire. See link below

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=489350
Manuts is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 04:51 PM   #4
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yonkers NY

Posts: 3,366
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manuts View Post
If you currently have an JB3, you need to modify the harness in order to install the JB4. You also need to install a power wire. See link below

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=489350
This.

i would take out the existing harness as it will not work with the new JB4 unit. use the Jb4 harness that you should have gotten with your jb4. jb4 are will not work if you dont have the right harness.
idrift4wd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 04:54 PM   #5
ErvGotti
Major
 
Drives: 2008 135i 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bury St Edmunds UK

Posts: 1,168
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 135i  [3.00]
You need just need to completely remove the old JB unit and install the new unit accordingly. Problem solved close thread.
ErvGotti is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 07:58 PM   #6
Karman
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i e92 07 space gray
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

Posts: 123
iTrader: (1)

Yes correct. To anyone doing this install disconnect the battery! And make sure you connect the pins correctly
Karman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 09:11 PM   #7
Laguna Seca Blue
Captain
 
Laguna Seca Blue's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California

Posts: 817
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karman
Yes correct. To anyone doing this install disconnect the battery! And make sure you connect the pins correctly
Why did you you need to disconnect your battery? Do you have comfort access? When I installed my Procede, I just locked my car. That should turn power to the DME 100% off.
__________________
E92 335i 6MT | Balloon White | Black Dakota Leather
PROcede Rev3 V5 | AE Quad Exhaust | BMW Performance Short Shift Kit | Gunmetal 19" M3 GTS Wheels | BF Goodrich g-Force T/A KDW 2 | AST 4100 Coilovers | Swift Springs F:280 R:560 | ER Charge Pipe | Tial Blue BOV | VRSF 3" Downpipes | VRSF 7" Intercooler

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=782212
Laguna Seca Blue is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 09:22 PM   #8
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

If you have CA open the hood, close all the doors, lock the car, put key fob inside. Wait 10 mins for the DME to go to sleep and feel free to remove old harness and install new one.

Other members are right. Take that one out, I would not try to run the car with the old harness and new JB4 board plugged in.

It's an easy way install. Keep us updated man, you'll love the JB4!
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 09:45 PM   #9
Karman
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i e92 07 space gray
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

Posts: 123
iTrader: (1)

Just installed guys. Your right you don't Neccesarily have to disconnect the battery. It's just I didn't and I connected the pins incorrect. This gave a ses light. But after driving around and resetting codes. The light is gone...it's snowing now so have t really got a chance to test it out yet.
Karman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST