E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Register Battery



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-28-2016, 04:57 AM   #1
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Register Battery

Hi all, I am using Ediabas , but no "job list under the menu".... any idea?? tkx in advance.

Register Battery:

1. Open Tool32
2. Datei > SGBD, Gruppendatei Laded > Select MSD80.PRG > Click Open
3. Highlight steuern_batterietausch_registri
4. Job > Job Einmal Ausfuhren (run job once)
5. The job runs pretty quickly and the results say Job_status = okay.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by nelnel762; 02-28-2016 at 05:07 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2016, 09:45 AM   #2
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
1,540
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Run Tool32 as admin.
Appreciate 0
      02-29-2016, 07:15 AM   #3
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

tkx for the reply. However, it doesn't list the job even I run tool32 as admin!
Appreciate 0
      02-29-2016, 01:47 PM   #4
deepsrd
First Lieutenant
deepsrd's Avatar
7
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin, IE

iTrader: (0)

Open the prg file using File -> Open
__________________
Retrofits: CIC , 6FL , 6NR, 6NF , Combox ,L7 retrofit
Customisations:
GP thunder AL, Vinyl wrapped M-Sport Steering trim, Pliastidipped kidney grills
In Progress:
Eject box
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2016, 05:00 AM   #5
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepsrd View Post
Open the prg file using File -> Open
still not working!!
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2016, 09:10 AM   #6
js335ftw
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: 2009 Bmw e92
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Norwalk Ca

iTrader: (0)

connect to car first. then once connected it, open tool 32.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2016, 12:37 AM   #7
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Did connect to car, but still nothing shown on the list!!!
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 06:40 AM   #8
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

after connect to my car...
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 08:40 AM   #9
js335ftw
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: 2009 Bmw e92
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Norwalk Ca

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelnel762 View Post
after connect to my car...
looks like that msd80 file migght b missing. you want to update your daten files
.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2016, 06:31 PM   #10
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

after many researches and works, battery finally registered. Now the question is whether need to change the "VO" of the car. If VO is changed, should I still need to "code" the whole car is get the new VO works? some folks say no need, but some say yes...

please share your experience if you encounter the same, tkx in advance
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 10:23 PM   #11
bacardi198
Private First Class
13
Rep
136
Posts

Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Killeen, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelnel762 View Post
after many researches and works, battery finally registered. Now the question is whether need to change the "VO" of the car. If VO is changed, should I still need to "code" the whole car is get the new VO works? some folks say no need, but some say yes...

please share your experience if you encounter the same, tkx in advance
Did you use a battery other than OEM?

For battery registration, you only need to write the new VO to CAS. Any other questions feel free to post'em, I just did this myself.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 11:46 PM   #12
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
329
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacardi198 View Post
Did you use a battery other than OEM?

For battery registration, you only need to write the new VO to CAS. Any other questions feel free to post'em, I just did this myself.
Partially true... If the battery specs changed (which I'm assuming they did, because you modified your VO), then you also have to change the value listed in CAS. Especially if you went from a non-AGM to AGM and vice-versa. Simply changing the VO isn't enough (which actually does nothing alone).
__________________
Joseph Jones | Remote Coding | coding@topgearsolutions.com

<<E & F Series Coding - Worldwide>>PPK, Alpina, DVD in Motion & More | http://www.topgearsolutions.com
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2016, 01:58 AM   #13
bacardi198
Private First Class
13
Rep
136
Posts

Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Killeen, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe@TopGearSolutions View Post
Partially true... If the battery specs changed (which I'm assuming they did, because you modified your VO), then you also have to change the value listed in CAS. Especially if you went from a non-AGM to AGM and vice-versa. Simply changing the VO isn't enough (which actually does nothing alone).
Of course, that's the reason why I asked if he used something other than OEM. At the same time, I was just answering his question on whether CAS was the only module that needed the new VO, OP said he was unsure if he had to write the new VO to the entire car or just the CAS.

But! While we're both on the subject, and for everyone's future reference: the tool32 job everyone mention only covers a new battery that is AGM and OEM-spec, and it seems people get confused that they only need to run the tool32 job. If you switch to a different battery group, or non-AGM, or anything other than exact OE-spec, you have to write a new VO and change the CAS settings. To find your aH, divide your battery's reserve capacity by two, then add 16, it's a close enough formula. For new CAS setting options, here they are:

Code:
KLASSE_BATTERIE
46ah
55ah
70ah
80ah
90ah
110ah
40ah_agm
60ah_agm
70ah_agm
80ah_agm
90ah_agm
and for the VO:

Code:
E B046                  BATT_46AH                         //46 Ah-Batterie
E B055                  BATT_55AH                         //55 Ah-Batterie
E B070                  BATT_70AH                         //70 Ah-Batterie
E B080                  BATT_80AH                         //80 Ah-Batterie
E B090                  BATT_90AH                         //90 Ah-Batterie
E A070                  BATT_AGM_70AH                 //70 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A080                  BATT_AGM_80AH                 //80 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A090                  BATT_AGM_90AH                 //90 Ah-AGM Batterie
I double-tap and write the new VO to CAS and FRM, but Joe if you could give input on if just CAS if fine or not, I believe that's the main thing OP is unsure of. Probably went overboard explaining it, but hopefully it helps others in the future.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2016, 03:51 AM   #14
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Maybe I can share more color. I first change CAS for new non OEM battery (agm80), and Registered new battery via tool32. I used INPA to verify both ah and km shown under MSD80 are corrected. However, I didn't change VO though....

Question is do I still need to do VO change? and why?

If VO change is needed, do I need to code all modules of the car? Some folks here mentioned need to do so after coding VO. Mine is e90 in this case.

Tkx again for your feedback
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2016, 03:54 AM   #15
Levanime
Levanime's Avatar
United_States
60
Rep
416
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.00]
if you dont change VO
when you will recode CAS in future with blank .MAN (if you will) it will revert back to old battery type
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2016, 04:29 AM   #16
nelnel762
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Ic. Thanks for answering the first part of my question. Now do I need to code entire car for new VO to get activate? Pls share how to do it, tkx
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2016, 01:21 PM   #17
bacardi198
Private First Class
13
Rep
136
Posts

Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Killeen, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelnel762 View Post
Ic. Thanks for answering the first part of my question. Now do I need to code entire car for new VO to get activate? Pls share how to do it, tkx
Just do FA_WRITE to CAS and FRM, with the -A080 instead of what is listed in your VO right now.

PDF attached for how to do VO/FA write.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf NCS_Changing_the_Vehicle_Order_CAS.pdf (1.56 MB, 30 views)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST