E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Activate RTTI on 2006 CCC iDrive



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-06-2013, 03:05 PM   #1
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
47
Rep
4,628
Posts

 
Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

Activate RTTI on 2006 CCC iDrive

Credit goes to locomotiveBart on 5series.net, but posting this here since I havent seen anything about it.

This is only for 2006 cars so it won't apply to most people on here. It might depend on your software version, but this worked for my 2006 330i. Not sure what software version my iDrive is.

All you have to do is code all of the following to aktiv in the CAPPL module:

TMC
CA_TMC
TMC_REGIONAL_C

Voila!

I'll add pictures later.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear

Last edited by VTECaddict; 02-06-2013 at 10:36 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2013, 04:09 PM   #2
j0ckinjz
Private
j0ckinjz's Avatar
0
Rep
57
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

I'll probably try this later on my 330xi. Nice find.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2013, 10:16 AM   #3
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Don't you need an HD radio for this to work? I understand that traffic info is transmitted on a sub-channel only provided on HD, but I could be wrong.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2013, 08:15 PM   #4
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
47
Rep
4,628
Posts

 
Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

RTTI data is transmitted by FM signals. At least for the CCC. I don't have HD radio and it's working.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2013, 03:14 AM   #5
e90drvr
Private
United_States
0
Rep
62
Posts

 
Drives: Graphite/Terra 330i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post

All you have to do is code all of the following to aktiv in the CAPPL module:

TMC
CA_TMC
TMC_REGIONAL_C
Damn. I tried this before and all I got was "No reception currently available" so I thought it had to with a receiver not being installed or actually no available signals but turns out I didn't have CA_TMC activated. Hopefully that'll do the trick. I always loved the TMC feature on European cars.

Thanks for posting.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2013, 07:13 PM   #6
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

OK, I finally got a chance to try this out. It does work with normal FM sub carriers apparently. No need for HD radio. I'm still trying to figure it all out, but for now, here's some pictures:






Appreciate 0
      02-09-2013, 09:53 PM   #7
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
47
Rep
4,628
Posts

 
Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

Nice
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2013, 11:29 PM   #8
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

I wonder if it works in Canada. Mine always said no reception. Will have to try this once get the car on the road.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2013, 11:46 PM   #9
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
47
Rep
4,628
Posts

 
Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

If you have a 2008 it should already be activated, at least in the US. Not sure about Canadian cars.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2013, 03:35 PM   #10
cyrano
Banned
Poland
2
Rep
145
Posts

 
Drives: E61 530XD chipped
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

hmm thats interesting, this function is default on in EU cars
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2013, 10:02 PM   #11
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

I bought my car from US so maybe its activated but i'll check my coding when i get my car on the road. but everytime i go into traffic info it says no reception. Maybe no love for Canadians.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
If you have a 2008 it should already be activated, at least in the US. Not sure about Canadian cars.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST