E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Removing JB4! Car doesn't start!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-09-2013, 12:53 PM   #1
PTek Will
Second Lieutenant
 
PTek Will's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: san jose

Posts: 260
iTrader: (0)

Removing JB4! Car doesn't start!

Hey Guys,

I removed my JB4 last night because I was going to the dealership today. However, after removing jb4 and plugging everything back in, my car make a weird whining sound when I put the key in the ignition. It lasted for about 10 seconds. And then when I go to crank the engine, it does not turn over. So I'm thinking great.. how am I supposed to go anywhere tomorrow? I red the codes, I had about 9 of them Most of them had to do with crankshaft actuator malfunction and a bunch of electrical issues. I put the JB4 back in and everything is fine, but I did not go to the dealership today as I am trying to swoop in on a free wastegate fix, and the last thing I want them to tell me is that my chip is the reason why my wastegates are rattling. Has anyone ever had this issue removing JB4? Is there a certain way to remove it?
PTek Will is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
TexE90
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 135
iTrader: (1)

A. I seriously doubt the dealer is going to go fishing in your ECU, but I suppose better safe than sorry.

B. It's not working b/c something is not plugged in right. Either your connectors are in the wrong slot or the power connector is not seated all the way in (it has to go a fair amount of the way in). Look at the install PDF again and triple check the connections.

Edit: When I took off my JB4, I ran into all kinds of problems b/c I kept trying to go off memory. Car would crank, then it wouldn't, and it never started. Looked at the install PDF again and realized my memory is pretty awful.
TexE90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2013, 01:35 PM   #3
PTek Will
Second Lieutenant
 
PTek Will's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: san jose

Posts: 260
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexE90 View Post
Edit: When I took off my JB4, I ran into all kinds of problems b/c I kept trying to go off memory...realized my memory is pretty awful.
Hahahaha! I'm guilty as charged! I will try again. Thanks for the reply!
PTek Will is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2013, 02:31 PM   #4
psmitty95
Brigadier General
 
psmitty95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenwich, CT

Posts: 3,579
iTrader: (8)

try again and post a pic after if you can't fix it. I have it memorized and do the install all the time but it is a lot to memorize
__________________
< Click picture for photoshoot
E90 335i xDrive 6spd, Nav, Prem, Cold Weather, & Sports package - Msport Conversion
Mods: FBO + Meth JB4 ISO, BB flash, VRSF DP/FMIC, ER CP, Stett, SteveAZ LPFP & more
More Pictures: Build Thread /// Shop I use: Aci Dynamix 408AWHP/ 483AWTQ Uncorrected Mustang Dyno
psmitty95 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2013, 02:39 PM   #5
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 16,448
iTrader: (31)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
You likely have a plug in backwards and/or bent pin while reverting back to stock.
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2013, 08:28 PM   #6
n54door
Captain
 
n54door's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 618
iTrader: (5)

Check where the small green harness where the red power wire plugs in. Remember where you jumped the red power wire from the JB4 in that small green harness?

If you didn't put the factory power wire back into the factory green small harness correctly, it will not start. You might have missed the hole, it happens...
n54door is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2013, 08:38 PM   #7
BD_e92
#teambimmer
 
Drives: 335i xDrive e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,040
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n54door View Post
You might have missed the hole, it happens...
I guess ill be that guy
BD_e92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2013, 02:19 AM   #8
PTek Will
Second Lieutenant
 
PTek Will's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: san jose

Posts: 260
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n54door View Post
Check where the small green harness where the red power wire plugs in. Remember where you jumped the red power wire from the JB4 in that small green harness?

If you didn't put the factory power wire back into the factory green small harness correctly, it will not start. You might have missed the hole, it happens...
Hahaha missing happens I definitely remembered that one though. I have rescheduled the appointment so I'll give it another go! I must have missed something.
PTek Will is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2013, 04:17 AM   #9
Dustz
Chieftain
 
Dustz's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal

Posts: 116
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Did you ever get down to the bottom of this? Was it the misplaced factory green small harness?
Dustz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2013, 07:31 AM   #10
Davyhay
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montgomery, AL.

Posts: 301
iTrader: (1)

There are two plugs that can be swapped. Trust me, I did this.
Davyhay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2013, 10:33 AM   #11
PTek Will
Second Lieutenant
 
PTek Will's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: san jose

Posts: 260
iTrader: (0)

I did get to the bottom of this! lol. But i'm not entirely sure what I might have messed up. I tried it a week later and everything went fine. Only thing I can think of messing up is the orange power cable (the red wire on the jb4). There are 2 orange cables, I may have swapped the 2.
PTek Will is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2013, 10:36 AM   #12
Miller335
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 E92
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 770
iTrader: (0)

It has to be the power cables.

Take a look at the installation PDF and you should be able to rewind things.
Miller335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST