E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Just dynoed whats wrong?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-25-2007, 04:58 PM   #1
DrewBert
First Lieutenant
DrewBert's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
378
Posts

Drives: 2012 f10 M5 AW/Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina,Sk, Canada

iTrader: (1)

Just dynoed whats wrong?

Have a Procede v1.45 car dynoed at 289hp and 343 tq, car wouldn't go past 6000 rpms and got a whole lot of errors, any ideas on what do to?

Do i have to pull fused or something?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:00 PM   #2
Mr. 5
Modder Raider
Mr. 5's Avatar
Scotland
289
Rep
8,630
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Surf City, HB

iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewBert View Post
Have a Procede v1.45 car dynoed at 289hp and 343 tq, car wouldn't go past 6000 rpms and got a whole lot of errors, any ideas on what do to?

Do i have to pull fused or something?
Do you have a manual or step?
I have a feeling that it's a step.
__________________
e36 M3 Coupe, e36 325i Sedan
e90 335i--SOLD

Best 60-130-------------9.15 Seconds------------------WWW.MR5RACING.COM
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:04 PM   #3
DrewBert
First Lieutenant
DrewBert's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
378
Posts

Drives: 2012 f10 M5 AW/Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina,Sk, Canada

iTrader: (1)

nope 6 speed

07 10,000 kms
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:06 PM   #4
533ogetnom
Banned
24
Rep
1,760
Posts

Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

"got a whole lot of errors" like what did you just install the procede? is their no airflow over the engine from fans or what?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:07 PM   #5
DrewBert
First Lieutenant
DrewBert's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
378
Posts

Drives: 2012 f10 M5 AW/Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina,Sk, Canada

iTrader: (1)

flat tire monitor, passenger safety malfunction, dynamic braking, then a over heating error when I was done the run although the temp was well under 120c

Huge fan infront of the car blowing air on it

Procede has been on the car for 5,000 kms or more.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:10 PM   #6
533ogetnom
Banned
24
Rep
1,760
Posts

Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

is it an xi?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:12 PM   #7
DrewBert
First Lieutenant
DrewBert's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
378
Posts

Drives: 2012 f10 M5 AW/Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina,Sk, Canada

iTrader: (1)

nope 335i
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:24 PM   #8
Walked U
Brigadier General
72
Rep
3,117
Posts

Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

What kind of dyno what octane?

Were the errors on the dyno itself? If it was then thats normal.

Did all the errors go away after you drove your car a bit off the dyno?
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:26 PM   #9
WOPALX
Lieutenant Colonel
WOPALX's Avatar
Australia
37
Rep
1,993
Posts

Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewBert View Post
flat tire monitor, passenger safety malfunction, dynamic braking, then a over heating error when I was done the run although the temp was well under 120c

Huge fan infront of the car blowing air on it

Procede has been on the car for 5,000 kms or more.
I got these errors as well when I dyno'd. The dyno I used involved taking the rear wheels off & it bolted onto the car.

During the dyno it threw a couple of codes (operator did not tell me which ones) which were cleared by on/off.

Post dyno it threw flat tire, braking errors etc. These cleared after 10mins of driving around.

I did ask if this was normal when I posted my results but got no feedback
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:27 PM   #10
Acap14
Droppin Bombs N Makin Moms
Acap14's Avatar
2
Rep
265
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jerzee/NC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Acap14
whenever you put a car on a dyno the dash lights up like a Christmas tree because the front wheels are stationary and the rear wheels are spinning. the car has no idea whats going on, so it lights everything up. perfectly normal and the lights should be out by now.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:28 PM   #11
533ogetnom
Banned
24
Rep
1,760
Posts

Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

he claims he cant go past 6k though
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:31 PM   #12
Walked U
Brigadier General
72
Rep
3,117
Posts

Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOPALX View Post
I got these errors as well when I dyno'd. The dyno I used involved taking the rear wheels off & it bolted onto the car.

During the dyno it threw a couple of codes (operator did not tell me which ones) which were cleared by on/off.

Post dyno it threw flat tire, braking errors etc. These cleared after 10mins of driving around.

I did ask if this was normal when I posted my results but got no feedback
Thats normal. SOunds like you dynoed on a dynapack.

Dynapacks typically dyno 15 rwhp more than dyno jets.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:34 PM   #13
DrewBert
First Lieutenant
DrewBert's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
378
Posts

Drives: 2012 f10 M5 AW/Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina,Sk, Canada

iTrader: (1)

Yeah its a mustang dyno which should show lower number. it's a dyno day and they have a bunch of civics so they say they have the dyno set to read between dynojet and mustang numbers to make people feel good.

no scanner here, but i'm looking at the graph here and and it shut down around 5800 rpms, just sat there.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:35 PM   #14
Walked U
Brigadier General
72
Rep
3,117
Posts

Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
he claims he cant go past 6k though
Thats normal for some bmws and some dynos.

On the m3's on some dynos they cant go past 6k.

Theres a way to fix it tho. I just cant remeber since ive never had that problem. It sounds really stupid but it has to do with hitting the dtc button 9 times or soemthing.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:37 PM   #15
533ogetnom
Banned
24
Rep
1,760
Posts

Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewBert View Post
it's a dyno day and they have a bunch of civics so they say they have the dyno set to read between dynojet and mustang numbers to make people feel good.

Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:38 PM   #16
Mr. 5
Modder Raider
Mr. 5's Avatar
Scotland
289
Rep
8,630
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Surf City, HB

iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOPALX View Post
I got these errors as well when I dyno'd. The dyno I used involved taking the rear wheels off & it bolted onto the car.

During the dyno it threw a couple of codes (operator did not tell me which ones) which were cleared by on/off.

Post dyno it threw flat tire, braking errors etc. These cleared after 10mins of driving around.

I did ask if this was normal when I posted my results but got no feedback
Yep, these errors are normal because the front wheels aren't spinning.
Once you drive away the erors all disappear.
__________________
e36 M3 Coupe, e36 325i Sedan
e90 335i--SOLD

Best 60-130-------------9.15 Seconds------------------WWW.MR5RACING.COM
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:42 PM   #17
hotrod2448
grand poobah
hotrod2448's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
2,017
Posts

Drives: E70 X5 SG, F10 535i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Do you have the sport package? I vaguely remember reading something from Shiv about the non sport pack cars hitting the speed limiter on the dyno and not running out to redline.

The flat tire lights are from the rear turning and the fronts being stationary. It determines flats by a difference in wheel speed on the sedan.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:43 PM   #18
DrewBert
First Lieutenant
DrewBert's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
378
Posts

Drives: 2012 f10 M5 AW/Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina,Sk, Canada

iTrader: (1)

nope its the sport package coupe
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:45 PM   #19
hotrod2448
grand poobah
hotrod2448's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
2,017
Posts

Drives: E70 X5 SG, F10 535i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewBert View Post
nope its the sport package coupe
If I would've read your info I would've known that.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:46 PM   #20
533ogetnom
Banned
24
Rep
1,760
Posts

Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod2448 View Post
Do you have the sport package? I vaguely remember reading something from Shiv about the non sport pack cars hitting the speed limiter.

The flat tire lights are from the rear turning and the fronts being stationary. It determines flats by a difference in wheel speed on the sedan.
mm dont know about that, if he was in 5th it would have shut down much sooner than 6k (5300) and if he was in 4th he would have been good way past 6k
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:48 PM   #21
Walked U
Brigadier General
72
Rep
3,117
Posts

Drives: RR sport s/c, E82, E89 3.5is
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod2448 View Post
Do you have the sport package? I vaguely remember reading something from Shiv about the non sport pack cars hitting the speed limiter on the dyno.

The flat tire lights are from the rear turning and the fronts being stationary. It determines flats by a difference in wheel speed on the sedan.
That might be right also about non sport package.

Since a 4th gear pull in a manual under real world load is about 135 mph @ the top of 4th.

Those mustang dynos are weird. You can mess with the load and correction factors so you can read really high or really low.
__________________
Previous - E90 335i, E82
Current - E89 / Range Rover sport Super charged.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2007, 05:56 PM   #22
hotrod2448
grand poobah
hotrod2448's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
2,017
Posts

Drives: E70 X5 SG, F10 535i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walked U View Post
That might be right also about non sport package.

Since a 4th gear pull in a manual under real world load is about 135 mph @ the top of 4th.

Those mustang dynos are weird. You can mess with the load and correction factors so you can read really high or really low.
I'm sure the load would effect power numbers but, load will not effect speed vs RPM in a given gear though. Unless I'm missing what you are getting at.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST