E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Newbie- How do I begin using diagnostics



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-19-2013, 06:11 PM   #1
Kodak
The Law
Kodak's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
327
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325xi, 4dr, Alpine
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bronx, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Question Newbie- How do I begin using diagnostics

Hopefully, I can get an assist here, I'm looking to get into the whole diagnostics area and would like to know what do I need to buy/download to begin this adventure ? I have a 2006 325xi,completely stock ,not looking into coding just yet, only the diagnostics part for now.
Thanks in advance.
__________________
2006 Alpine ,325xi sedan,Terra, steptronic,Xenon,heated seats,Premium package
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2013, 08:28 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,335
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

ebay

You only need a k-can cable with an 06 which is cheaper.
I got one off ebay along with a software package that included
the three base programs inpa, ebidas and ncs expert with the addition
of DIS57 SSS and TIS. The whole thing cost 50 bucks shipped.
You need to know your way around PC's to install this and you need
a computer with a 32 bit operating system to make ncsexpert to work
an or a xp emulator program. The base programs were not that uptodate
and I had to update them . Its getting hard to download this stuff or maybe it always was. You should read the big sticky at the top of the page to see
if this is something you can deal with.
I was able to get DIS57 to work but not SSS which is probably just as well.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=451145

Last edited by ctuna; 02-20-2013 at 11:28 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2013, 11:14 PM   #3
Kodak
The Law
Kodak's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
327
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325xi, 4dr, Alpine
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bronx, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the quick reply, I currently use a Vista Ultimate 32 bit , would this work ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
You only need a k-can cable with an 06 which is cheaper.
I got one off ebay along with a software package that included
the three base programs inpa, ebidas and ncs expert with the addition
of DIS57 SSS and TIS. The whole thing cost 50 bucks shipped.
You need to know your way around PC's to install this and you need
a computer with a 32 bit operating system to make ncsexpert work
an or a xp emulator program. The base programs were not that uptodate
and I had to update them . Its getting hard to download this stuff or maybe it always was. You should read the big sticky at the top of the page to see
if this is something you can deal with.
I was able to get DIS57 to work but not SSS which is probably just as well.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=451145
__________________
2006 Alpine ,325xi sedan,Terra, steptronic,Xenon,heated seats,Premium package
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2013, 11:33 PM   #4
Kodak
The Law
Kodak's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
327
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325xi, 4dr, Alpine
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bronx, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Question

I found this link on Ebay, is this good enough ?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...5174b9&vxp=mtr
__________________
2006 Alpine ,325xi sedan,Terra, steptronic,Xenon,heated seats,Premium package
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 02:09 AM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,335
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Yep

Yep

There is also more info at bmwcoders.com
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 08:12 AM   #6
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodak View Post
I found this link on Ebay, is this good enough ?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...5174b9&vxp=mtr
You shouldn't skimp on your cable. The de facto standard around here has become the one-stop electronics cable:

http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=16

You'll pay a bit more, but people here have had 100% success with this cable.

That said, $29 is probably worth it to get the software pre-installed. They claim to have INPA, SSSProgman, DISV57 and Carsoft already installed and configured. If that's true, that alone is worth $29.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 11:27 AM   #7
Kodak
The Law
Kodak's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
327
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325xi, 4dr, Alpine
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bronx, NYC

iTrader: (0)

I found this one on Ebay and it has all the programs and the Seller has a 99.5% positive customer feedback, it even states this "NOTE: This cable has built in surge protection which other similar cables do not have."
So is it safe to say that this is good to get ?


http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-Diagnost...item2ec62a14b0

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
You shouldn't skimp on your cable. The de facto standard around here has become the one-stop electronics cable:

http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=16

You'll pay a bit more, but people here have had 100% success with this cable.

That said, $29 is probably worth it to get the software pre-installed. They claim to have INPA, SSSProgman, DISV57 and Carsoft already installed and configured. If that's true, that alone is worth $29.
__________________
2006 Alpine ,325xi sedan,Terra, steptronic,Xenon,heated seats,Premium package
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 03:04 PM   #8
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,335
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

I would ask if its a K can plus d can cable

I would ask if its a K can plus d can cable
I didn't see any indication of that as I recall I got
mine from the UK . The other offer gave you more software
I think . Also ask about the installation the other guys
specified the rev level of the basic programs I think that's
more of an issue.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 04:45 PM   #9
Sensible_
Captain
16
Rep
614
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

For in depth diagnostics, full module updates and some occasional coding I'd use ISID and ISSS with an ICOM emulator (70USD) and K+DCAN cable.

I have INPA, NCSEXPERT, DIS AND TIS and recently I've had no use for it. The new generation software is faster, more user friendly and simply better. In my humble opinion.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 06:49 PM   #10
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,335
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Where do you get it?

Sensible
Where do you get it?


What are these two packages of which you speak.

ista is the new thing bmw is using I don't think it allows you to code.
The torrent and other files are a hassle to download.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 06:32 AM   #11
Sensible_
Captain
16
Rep
614
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna
Sensible
Where do you get it?


What are these two packages of which you speak.

ista is the new thing bmw is using I don't think it allows you to code.
The torrent and other files are a hassle to download.
You seem a little negative about it so I'm not going to go into depth. You can code VO with it, aswell as program. ISTA/D is ISID (diagnostic) and ISTA/P is ISSS (coding/programming).

You have to set it up using a VM. But after that its great.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 10:34 AM   #12
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,335
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

I wouldn't be if you could get it cheaply

I wouldn't be if you could get it cheaply
or if you could get it at all.
It wasn't that easy just getting the common stuff
setting it up and getting it to work.
And now I have it working to the extent I need it.
Basicly I had to learn to use VMware and its
kind of klugey program.
I'm guessing you have better access to it in Europe
as its home to BMW.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST