E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Instrument cluster swap - possible?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-29-2013, 08:58 PM   #1
flipper325es
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '08 328xiT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 44
iTrader: (4)

Instrument cluster swap - possible?

I want to replace the instrument cluster in my '08 328xiT with one from an '09 335xi, and would like to know if it's possible, and what's involved.

The reason -- I hate the instantaneous MPG gauge at the bottom of the tach, while the 335 has an oil temp. gauge (I know it's not super accurate, but still much more useful).

The 335 cluster comes from a lower mileage car, so whatever odometer mileage is stored in it (if at all), should revert to my actual higher mileage -- as I understand, this data is stored in several locations, to prevent easy tampering.

I suspect there is no fit issue, but am not sure if any coding is required, or erasure of the 335i cluster EPROMs, etc. to bring it to the new/virgin condition. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Alex
flipper325es is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2013, 06:47 AM   #2
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

There are companies in Europe who can do all of this but on a premium rate. 500-700 euros.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2013, 04:16 PM   #3
BMW..
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

Posts: 585
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper325es View Post
I want to replace the instrument cluster in my '08 328xiT with one from an '09 335xi, and would like to know if it's possible, and what's involved.

The reason -- I hate the instantaneous MPG gauge at the bottom of the tach, while the 335 has an oil temp. gauge (I know it's not super accurate, but still much more useful).

The 335 cluster comes from a lower mileage car, so whatever odometer mileage is stored in it (if at all), should revert to my actual higher mileage -- as I understand, this data is stored in several locations, to prevent easy tampering.

I suspect there is no fit issue, but am not sure if any coding is required, or erasure of the 335i cluster EPROMs, etc. to bring it to the new/virgin condition. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Alex
You have to reprogram a computer chip and replace it on the board
BMW.. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 03:10 AM   #4
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Replace EEPROM in CAS and new INSTRUMENT CLUSTER.
These both must match.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 06:48 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
Replace EEPROM in CAS and new INSTRUMENT CLUSTER.
These both must match.
******
I have been told that using a blank eprom and programming it on the used Odomter with your car's vin and current mileage should do the job.
Never heard of changing anything on CAS.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 09:14 AM   #6
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
******
I have been told that using a blank eprom and programming it on the used Odomter with your car's vin and current mileage should do the job.
Never heard of changing anything on CAS.
Ok, right, I'm sorry, I was thinking about different situation .
In e90 only in IHK and CAS mileage is saved.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 10:16 AM   #7
flipper325es
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '08 328xiT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 44
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
Ok, right, I'm sorry, I was thinking about different situation .
In e90 only in IHK and CAS mileage is saved.
Got it. Assuming I install a new EEPROM in the instrument cluster, it will still need to be programmed, right? I.e., not a DIY job? A friend of mine is a wiz at soldering, but programming is a different matter.

Just curious, if a BMW dealership needs to replace a cluster to repair the car, they must have a way to program at least a brand new cluster, right? Will soldering a blank chip make the used cluster appear 'brand new'? Or is the EEPROM pre-programmed before it's installed in the cluster?

Alex
flipper325es is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 11:09 AM   #8
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper325es View Post
Got it. Assuming I install a new EEPROM in the instrument cluster, it will still need to be programmed, right? I.e., not a DIY job? A friend of mine is a wiz at soldering, but programming is a different matter.

Just curious, if a BMW dealership needs to replace a cluster to repair the car, they must have a way to program at least a brand new cluster, right? Will soldering a blank chip make the used cluster appear 'brand new'? Or is the EEPROM pre-programmed before it's installed in the cluster?

Alex
Yes, new EEPROM has to be programmed, not in car, it has to be done using programmer.

I think the EEPROM is pre-programmed, they just write in VIN there and code.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 11:48 AM   #9
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

You can do what ****** said or
You can solder a blank chip onto odometer and replace it in ista p.
Remember to check what part numbers it ask you to buy before soldering the chip onto any odometer. As it allows only certain part numbers.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 11:49 AM   #10
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
******
I have been told that using a blank eprom and programming it on the used Odomter with your car's vin and current mileage should do the job.
Never heard of changing anything on CAS.
Ok, right, I'm sorry, I was thinking about different situation .
In e90 only in IHK and CAS mileage is saved.
Its kombi and cas as far as I know.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 11:52 AM   #11
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Its kombi and cas as far as I know.
Exactly, kombi (Instrument cluster).
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 12:46 PM   #12
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
Exactly, kombi (Instrument cluster).
You made me confused by writing IHK above. Its a different module and I was like WTF....
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2013, 12:51 PM   #13
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You made me confused by writing IHK above. Its a different module and I was like WTF....
Yes, IHK is the air conditioning
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST