E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > Connecting Surround Sound to tv via sky



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2013, 08:07 AM   #1
dobsy
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1
Rep
133
Posts

 
Drives: E92 320d
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wirral

iTrader: (0)

Connecting Surround Sound to tv via sky

Ok tech-bods.

I'm no audiophile but I want to hook up my DVD surround sound player thing to the tv (which I've done with a HDMI cable) but I want to be able to watch the sky so that comes through the surround aswell. At the min it's just the DVD's.
Which cable(s) do I need!?
This is the back of the surround (probably out of date nowadays!) and the tele is quite new with loads of interesting sockets and holes!! Oh and its a sky+ hd box.

Any advice much appreciated!

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 08:19 AM   #2
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
98
Rep
8,173
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Is the surround 5.1. Doesn't the surround amp have an optical out socket?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 08:48 AM   #3
djgandy
Major
13
Rep
1,114
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Another HDMI from the sky to the tv.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:09 AM   #4
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,658
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creepy coupe
Is the surround 5.1. Doesn't the surround amp have an optical out socket?
Optical out from tv to 5.1 sound system.
You get dolby digital sound only on few channels and on movies most of the time.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:09 AM   #5
fulcrum
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
5
Rep
437
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330 M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

No - you will need to connect the sky box via an optical lead to the amp
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:18 AM   #6
P 5UML
Lieutenant Colonel
P 5UML's Avatar
United Kingdom
24
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E92 325D M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

+ 1 for optical cable! thats what i have done and it works fine

from surround sound straight into the sky box
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:27 AM   #7
xPETEZx
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
8
Rep
560
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 325i SE 6MT (E90 LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulcrum View Post
No - you will need to connect the sky box via an optical lead to the amp
No an optical lead from the TV to the DVD/Surround Sound box will suffice.
Then a HDMI lead from the Sky box to the TV.
The TV will pass dolby audio over the Optical back to the DVD/Surround.

This also has the benifit that any other device you connect to the TV via HDMI will also be passed to the Surround sound.

A freind of mine has this setup, and it works fine.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:29 AM   #8
RagingKileak
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: Modified Alpine White E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (2)

All those who are suggesting an optical cable from the Sky box to amp are correct. Sky boxes do not output 5.1 via HDMI, so going via the TV and THEN into the amp/DVD wouldn't work, or if it did it would simulated from a 2 channel signal, which is OK, but not as good as 5.1.

Unfortunately however, looking at the back of the amp, I would suggest you don't have an optical in. If you do, it's not pictured, so have a look elsewhere on the back for a small (about 3/4 of a centimetre) square which will have a little plastic flap, which needs to be folded in to insert something.

To be honest if you don't have an optical in then with Sky, you are shit out of luck. Your cheapest and probably best long term option would be to consider replacing the DVD/Amp with a dedicated amp and a BD/DVD player or PS3 and make sure that the amp you buy is compatible with the speakers.

I would have thought any budget amp will be capable of powering speakers from a setup like this, but if they have weird and wonderful connectors then you might need to chop them off and use bare cable or banana plugs.

Home AV is quite a slippery slope once you get started. I've been through maybe 5 iterations of surround sound now and it's taken years to get to the point I am now, which is just about competent/confident enough to understand the physical and logical architecture of cables, ins/outs and what devices do what etc.

Hope that helps.

Matt
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:30 AM   #9
RagingKileak
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: Modified Alpine White E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xPETEZx View Post
No an optical lead from the TV to the DVD/Surround Sound box will suffice.
Then a HDMI lead from the Sky box to the TV.
The TV will pass dolby audio over the Optical back to the DVD/Surround.

This also has the benifit that any other device you connect to the TV via HDMI will also be passed to the Surround sound.

A freind of mine has this setup, and it works fine.
In addition to my last post, this MIGHT also work, although it would depend on the TV. A proper bargain basement telly (and some random expensive ones) won't handle passthrough audio like that.

Also, as per my last post, I don't think the OP has an optical in on his DVD/Amp.

Matt
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:33 AM   #10
xPETEZx
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
8
Rep
560
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 325i SE 6MT (E90 LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xPETEZx View Post
No an optical lead from the TV to the DVD/Surround Sound box will suffice.
Then a HDMI lead from the Sky box to the TV.
The TV will pass dolby audio over the Optical back to the DVD/Surround.

This also has the benifit that any other device you connect to the TV via HDMI will also be passed to the Surround sound.

A freind of mine has this setup, and it works fine.
I take that back... appears Sky box cant do DD over HDMI..... what a POS....
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:41 AM   #11
Boxtyp3
Major
Boxtyp3's Avatar
Philippines
13
Rep
1,044
Posts

 
Drives: E82AW N54/ e92 BSM N55
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 E82 135i  [0.00]
2013 E92 335i  [0.00]
Your DVD/Amp should have an input channel for it to work on your sky. It's like saying that nothings gonna come out if there's nothing coming in.

Last edited by Boxtyp3; 03-21-2013 at 09:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 09:52 AM   #12
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
98
Rep
8,173
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
You could go HDMi out from the SKY box then in to a HDMi splitter/switch box and then HDMi into the surround.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 10:02 AM   #13
dobsy
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1
Rep
133
Posts

 
Drives: E92 320d
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wirral

iTrader: (0)

Blimey. No it's a crappy surround sysytem I'm fearing (although to my ears sounds ok when cranked up) and there is no optical.
So i guess it's a no go then other than the HDMI splitter?
That bottom middle phono socket says Coaxial Digital in, any use?

Last edited by dobsy; 03-21-2013 at 10:06 AM. Reason: edit
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 10:05 AM   #14
Squintstream
Lieutenant
Squintstream's Avatar
United Kingdom
7
Rep
485
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport avec DCT (E92)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Derby

iTrader: (12)

Not sure if this helps, but SKY are releasing an update over the next few weeks that will allow Dolby over HDMI (assuming you have the relevant SKY box that is being updated):

Further details here: http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1808804

That's said, I can only see a HDMI out (an not in) and in which case, as others have said, optical is probably the best option.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 10:09 AM   #15
dobsy
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1
Rep
133
Posts

 
Drives: E92 320d
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wirral

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagingKileak View Post
All those who are suggesting an optical cable from the Sky box to amp are correct. Sky boxes do not output 5.1 via HDMI, so going via the TV and THEN into the amp/DVD wouldn't work, or if it did it would simulated from a 2 channel signal, which is OK, but not as good as 5.1.

Unfortunately however, looking at the back of the amp, I would suggest you don't have an optical in. If you do, it's not pictured, so have a look elsewhere on the back for a small (about 3/4 of a centimetre) square which will have a little plastic flap, which needs to be folded in to insert something.

To be honest if you don't have an optical in then with Sky, you are shit out of luck. Your cheapest and probably best long term option would be to consider replacing the DVD/Amp with a dedicated amp and a BD/DVD player or PS3 and make sure that the amp you buy is compatible with the speakers.

I would have thought any budget amp will be capable of powering speakers from a setup like this, but if they have weird and wonderful connectors then you might need to chop them off and use bare cable or banana plugs.

Home AV is quite a slippery slope once you get started. I've been through maybe 5 iterations of surround sound now and it's taken years to get to the point I am now, which is just about competent/confident enough to understand the physical and logical architecture of cables, ins/outs and what devices do what etc.

Hope that helps.

Matt
And thanks Matt yes I think you've hit the nail on the head. New amp time I reckon!
Yes the speakers have all colour coded special plugs but as you say I'll just snip these, saying that I'll probably end up buying a new system with optical.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 10:42 AM   #16
doc_ab
Major
12
Rep
1,181
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: buckinghamshire

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [0.00]
2009 BMW 330D  [0.00]
I think the sky+ box has a digial co axial so you could use that to the back of your amp/DVD
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 12:08 PM   #17
djgandy
Major
13
Rep
1,114
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc_ab View Post
I think the sky+ box has a digial co axial so you could use that to the back of your amp/DVD
It does, but what are the chances he has anything on the other end to plug it into?

OP: Post pics of all your gear else people could speculate here forever :P
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 01:05 PM   #18
RagingKileak
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: Modified Alpine White E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (2)

There is a pic in the first post! The op does appear to have a coax in....

Matt
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 03:18 PM   #19
dobsy
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1
Rep
133
Posts

 
Drives: E92 320d
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wirral

iTrader: (0)

Ok you helpful lot.............

TV




Sky Box




Surround again


So you reckon if I get a cable between the Digital coax connections on the sky box and the surround I'll be in business?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 04:08 PM   #20
doc_ab
Major
12
Rep
1,181
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: buckinghamshire

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [0.00]
2009 BMW 330D  [0.00]
The original pictures showed a coax input on the back of amp/DVD.

I would suggest digital coax from sky box to amp/DVD. You can then watch TV without having the amp on with sound from TV via hdmi and TV or with the sound from amp with amp on.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 04:08 PM   #21
xs2man
Captain
xs2man's Avatar
9
Rep
604
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F11 530d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (2)

Should be. That should work. If you can find an optical out to digital in cable.

That should stave off the upgrade-itis for a while. Personally I would go for a new amp, but then I am like that. Forever upgrading stuff like this.
__________________
530d M-Sport Touring.

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2013, 04:28 PM   #22
RagingKileak
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: Modified Alpine White E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (2)

Simple, just a coax cable will do it.

There is no such thing as coax to optical cable. One is light sent down glass cable whilst the other is copper wire. You can get a box to sit between them but there's no point.

Walk into richer sounds or macro etc. Buy a coax cable. Done.

Matt
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST